Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sharyland High School 3

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
This school isn't what it use to be. The focus has shifted from education to sports with large funds spent on a few students and a whole lot of coaches. Discipline and student safety are not at the standards they use to be.

Sharyland High School 1

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Like most schools today this school is ok if your kid fits in the box. If not you better home school or look for other options.


Sharyland High School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a community member
I love sharyland high school it is awesome school and has an awesome staff. It is a better than at the i was at. I love coming to this school and hoping to make more friends as the years go by :)

Sharyland High School 5

Posted March 25, 2012
- a student
Strict school policies, and always felt safe on campus. The counselors are always so helpful, it could be dealing with college or a loss of a loved one. Administrators have improved so much. Teachers are always pushing students to strive to be the best.

Sharyland High School 1

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
Bad administration staff not well trained, they do not know how to be leaders! How can you have a good school when they don't have the traning or education to be leaders them selfs. Some of the teachers and consulers are good, but good luck who you end up with!!


Sharyland High School 1

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
Bad leadership. With very ignorant and untrained administration and staff, that care more about their jobs than the students. Some excellent teachers but other very bad ones. So it is a toss up who your son ends up with. Counselors are generally good, but too afraid of despotic administrators.

Sharyland High School 2

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
The School overall Is good but it has it's good and bad sides. In the good side there is the strict dress code policies that gives students a good contemporary look and gives a good impression of this school another distinguished achievement the school has proved to show is severe enforcement of school policies and norms, helping to keep all the students in line and maintaining the school as a safe environment. Another thing i must address is that it has an outstanding academic achievement and a great sports department as well. But regarding installations the school lacks of a good hygiene in the restrooms and commendable accommodations with toilets and lavatories. Another issue encountered in the school is the lunch, this is something my son and I found completely outrageous. The food lacks of wide variety of nutritious servings and at times the rest of food in the menu is not fully cocked. This issue i hope can be fixed because lunch is a very import part of the child's day and with a bad lunch the child will eventually have a bad day.

Sharyland High School 5

Posted December 18, 2010
- a parent
An excellent school with traditional, conservative values. Excellence is the standard. School wins at everything from academics, arts to sports.


Sharyland High School 4

Posted November 29, 2009
- a student
Sharyland is a great school! I always felt secure and welcome. I grew up in the Rio Grande Valley and was so blessed to be able to attend a high school like Sharyland. The teachers and staff are all great people, willing to help. I was very involved in athletics, organizations, and graduated in the top of my class. Sharyland offers not only a great education but a variety of things to be involved in outside of school. It is a school full of pride. Students are able to learn in a safe environment. The dress code is more strict, but this was always a positive thing to me. I would rather be in a school that has some rules than in one where kids can fight and do whatever they please in the halls. Sharyland is definately the top or one of the top schools in the Rio Grande Valley.

Sharyland High School 1

Posted January 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sharyland High School
1106 North Shary Road, Mission, TX  78572
(956) 580-5300
Last modified Sharyland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sharyland High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top