Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montgomery High School

Public | 9-12 | 2200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

Definitely needs improvement. I had one child graduate and the second is finishing up. Common sense seems to be lacking- example- exemption policy for taking finals. It appears when they changed to an 8 block schedule, they overlooked the policy in place from the A/B schedule. Thus, a student was able to miss 6 physical school days and still be able to exempt a final with the A/B schedule. The 3 day policy with an 8 block day means 3 days! I heard there was some poor kid who got hit by a vehicle crossing the street and because of his excess absences, that student could not exempt a final! What kind of message are they sending these students? Where they afraid the previous semester parents would complain? So who are they giving priority too? What about the students today? Should the past parents complain, the school should thank them for having brought this mistake to their attention and fixing it vs doing nothing and lying in fear. They need to implement a waiver policy as Tomball has for those poor students who has surgeries, hospitalization, etc. If they couldn't figure out something so easy as this, how are they going to handle a serious situation. Too much bureaucracy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

Montgomery ISD is a great and does a great job in teaching the academically gifted students. However there is a few drawbacks here, the school does a poor job at addressing english and science in the on level classes. And the new eight period day schedule is very demanding on both teacher and student, which leaves many students to being left behind because of the fast pace schedule. The school doesn't really have any major social groups, nor bullies which is a gift. But school attention is focused on football for the boys and volleyball for the girls if your child is wanting to engage in any other extracurricular activity they may feel a bit left out. Also the school administration seems to a bit disorganized and disconnected from the student body which can lead to irritating decisions being made. But all in all its a good school, has a great environment, and perfect for a student who needs a academic challenge. But it is very fast paced
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2014

Montgomery High could be a great school if all of our funds did not go into Football. It's well known that Football and Volleyball take up most of our funds, and that they will shortchange other programs (the art, and journalism especially) for Football. But for their extracurricular shortcomings, their academics are quite good. The AP programs have great teachers. Our Dual Credit program is also well done. So far as academics go, only the on level science department is lacking. As teachers, they are either great or they are awful, there is no inbetween.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2013

I have had one child graduate and currently our second child is at MHS. Our experience has been that if your child is not advanced academically, they will have problems in this district. Both my kids have struggled to keep up with this very demanding district. This is a mostly wealthy lake area district and the student body has the typical "cliques". Your normal middle class student may find themselves part of the minority here. On the other hand, if you are fortunate enough to be financially comfortable and have an advanced child, or can afford outside tutoring to keep up, you will love it. Sorry, we do not. As soon as our home sells, we will be glad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

We moved here from southwest Houston area. We thought that we were giving our kids the best school we could, but unfortunately this school, the majority of the teachers, the principals, etc are all self centered and think that they are God. They do not care about parent input. I have had to have attorneys close at hand for advance as they are so judgemental there. They hate to listen to any parents who.disagree with them. I regret sending my children here. Whatever you do, don't send your kids here. Pay a lot of money for.taxes and your voice of opinion is ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

I'm not just a parent...I'm also a teacher here. Both of my children attend MHS and have different needs. One child has a learning disability and the other takes accelerated classes. The teachers here have been able to meet both of their needs and the supportive administration is an added bonus. The school board also does a fabulous job of supporting each school throughout the district and attending to their specific needs. We moved here for the schools seven years ago and have experienced MES on up and have found all schools to be exceptional!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2010

Great School!!! Was inrolled there for the last six years including Junior High..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

I've gone to Montgomery since 1st grade, i've had to deal with dyslexia all my life, Montgomery teachers helped me alot. I received modifications till 10th grade now I am without them and the extra help I make all A's. for the parents say the teachers don't help and are not willing to help. maby your child is just to dang lazy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

I must say after reading all of these reviews that if you are a parent interested in sending your children to any of these schools to go and spend the day there with them, and see for yourself. After moving here from Philadelphia 2 1/2 years ago, I researched and reviewed so many schools and something kept leaning me toward Montgomery even when I'd read the ratings and reviews of many other schools. I am so glad that I made the decision to send my children here. They were lacking self esteem being in this new part of the world and they have done nothing but thrive since attending Montgomery Schools. I believe that all of the staff has a stake in helping all children to be all they can be. As far as testing goes, the blame lies with your former president not Montgomery Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My stepson is struggling with a language difficulty and the staff at the high school is terrific. They have gone way out of their way to help my son with his placement and special classes and homework. I have met several times with his counselor and teachers. I am very impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I personally went from Kindergarten to graduation from Montgomery ISD. When my husband and I decided to have children, we decided to move back to Montgomery. It was the same then as it is now. Perfect on all expectations.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2007

Quality is good if your student is a 'middle of the road' kind of kid. If your child requires any special attention, either higher academic or special needs, this is not the place for you. Anything out of the norm is not paid attention to and is a pain that the faculty would rather get rid of in anyway they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

We just moved up to Montgomery from Cy Fair. Both my children go to the High School. We are VERY impressed with the quality and the leadership. Our children were both welcomed with open arms, and have blossomed since attending. Can't say enough good things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Good Schools from first through twelve! We have two children who have seen all grade levels and are very impressed. The quality of public schools is excellent and proven by the lack of private schools. Highly recommended school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

More concerned on students athletic ability. Apperance and behavior both on and off campus than actual knowledge teach to test and managment is poor if any
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2005

Poorly managed. Priorities out of place. More emphasis on TAAS testing (standardized testing) than in challenging children to think. Adminstration leaves much to be desired. Think twice before enrolling your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

More concerned with parental income and appearances than the students well being. Some of the staff come off like evangelical preachers. Very concerned with their TAAS scores (standardized testing) Higher scores supposedly mean that the teachers are doing their jobs. Anyone can teach someone to provide a conditioned response. The staff should be much more concerned with challenging the kids to think rather than stuffing their heads with objective data to spit out like a robot. Lots of problems here and they certainly do not like being watched and scrutinized by parents. Too bad, without tax paying parents, they certainly would not have a job. Think twice before sending your kids here especially if you care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

There seems to be too much emphasis on standardized testing and too little teaching kids to think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

I have been a student here at Montgomery High for 2 years now, after transferring over from Conroe ISD, I feel that this is a better environment, the teachers are great, the High School itself is not as big as Conroe, so classes are not as crowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2004

Montgomery ISD is only concerned about Real Estate value. The leadership has been hired for a slick Public Relations Job, but really doesn't care about the kids. Money is spent on the administration, and teachers can even get supplies for their classroom. Parents have lost interest, because head games are played with them...'Ms. X, no one else seems to have that problem' or , 'You don't understand our program'. Students, whose Moms can spend days volunteering at the schools, get recognized. Bright students who question and are different are put down as 'troublemakers'. Two hour block scheduling classes are a joke. Teachers still cover the same material, then give kids busy work. If bright kids finish early, woe to them. They just need to sit quietly doing nothing for the rest of the time. Only one person in the district has any power, the rest are just to enforce his rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

504 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

499 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

476 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

473 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

474 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

473 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
73%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

568 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

589 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

5 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

483 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education81%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education88%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
Black or African American61%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education52%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
Black or African American55%
Asian88%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education37%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education50%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students67%
Female72%
Male62%
Black or African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education16%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education71%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students88%
Female83%
Male92%
Black or African American63%
Asian90%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education72%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students77%
Female72%
Male81%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education47%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 29%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 0%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • PHIL EATON
Fax number
  • (936) 597-6415

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P O Box 1475
Montgomery, TX 77356
Website: Click here
Phone: (936) 597-6401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Alpha
Magnolia, TX



Project Restore
Magnolia, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT