Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


R C Barton Middle School 3

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
Been a very tricky 2 years for us in regard to bullying. I guess that is par for this age group, but its a bit excessive. Next year, there will be a new middle school and so many children will be going there instead, hopefully, lessening the congestion at the school. My son has witnessed several drug deals in the hallways at any given time of the day as well.

R C Barton Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
My daughter feels safe at Barton and when you enter the school there is an air of friendliness that hits you when you enter the front office. They have set up a culture that is anti-bully and nurturing, but also emphasizes responsible behavior. Students have opportunities to help around the school and parents are encouraged to be involved.


R C Barton Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is shy and has severe ADHD and I used to have to handle everything for her communicating with teachers and such, but she feels confident enough with her 8th grade teachers at Barton (and she also loves Teri the principal) that now she handles little homework hiccups on her own...that means a lot! Since transferring here mid-fall 2015 from Austin, her grades went from C' and B's to straight-A's!

R C Barton Middle School 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
We moved to the community this year and my daughter is thriving at Barton Middle. We are so thankful for the wonderful 8th grade teachers and the awesome principal--Teri Eubank. Buda is a wonderful place and people are really nice.

R C Barton Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Honestly I could say everyone. But you can't have a successful school with out a motivated leader. Teri Eubank is a gift to this community


R C Barton Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I could not ask for better, more engaged, and caring teachers. Several of them have gone noticeably above and beyond to help the kids enter competitions, or to provide them special opportunities

R C Barton Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
We've never been overwhelmed. It seems balanced and I like seeing the occasional project or paper so the kids learn to work on complex assignments

R C Barton Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
I've been to many school assemblies over our 3 years at Barton and admire the way the staff speaks to and about students. The respect the kids give at assemblies speaks volumes.


R C Barton Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
There are a number of opportunities for service projects through NJHS and also through multiple special drives during the year. They raise money for a number of causes and get the kids involved in things like Relay for Life for the American Cancer Society, collecting food for the local food bank.

R C Barton Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughter's phone was stolen last year at school. I was able to locate it using a tracking app. Worked with the school resource officer to help identify the student who had it. He was very helpful with me and had a nice balance of accountability and redirection with the student involved. I was very pleased.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R C Barton Middle School
4950 Jack C Hays Trail, Mountain City, TX  78610
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (512) 268-1472
Last modified R C Barton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top