Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Needville Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 1040 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

If you believe your five year old needs to go to a military school then this school might be an option for you. I found this school was the absolute worst thing that I could have done to my son. He was a very sweet, playful and quite boy. Then we moved and sent him to kindergarten at needville elementary. He was so scared he would forget something he needed and get yelled at in school. All the faculty is just plan mean. My son cried all the time. This school would have to be the capital for bullying tought by the parents and teachers in this town. It is true if you are not one of them you will not be treated well at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Our family did not grow up here and we have never felt like an outsider in this school. Our son has had two great years so far. We've done our best to stay connected by volunteering and communicating with his teacher when necessary. He has never had a discipline problem. We respect the strictness of the school and that children are expected to show respect to their teachers and peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

First off if you are not from this town and didn't grow up here, I would not recommend placing your child here. My daughter is in first grade and has been here since Kindergarten and I have had nothing but problems with her teachers. I personally am a strict parent, I was raised military and I believe in being stern with your children when needed, but here they treat my daughter as if she is some kind of wild child when if fact she is just being a "child". They are more concerned if she hummed or made a peep than her learning abilities. The teachers are mostly a bunch of "desperate housewives" that are unhappy at home and they constantly gossip...I have seen this first hand on more than one occasion. Now I'm not saying they are all this way, because there are some great teachers that are wonderful people, but the bad take over the good by a loooong shot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Needville Elementary is a really good school. Parents who complain can not accept that students are held accountable for their actions. The teachers are great. The cheap shots taken at them are uncalled for. If you do not like a good education with old school values,then Needville is not the place for you,please go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

The teachers were definitely in their own little *buddy* group. The children of teachers and other teachers and friends were treated far better than the regular students. Individual attention for students was not given fairly. The TAKS was much more important than regular learning. They hand out detentions like candy and give dress code policy like prison wardens. It's a terrible place for a child to have any individuality. Just like the child who was Indian and was forced to cut his hair at this school. It's a poor excuse for a school. It's just a fraternity and sorority for teachers to consort and gossip and not educate.nor do they treat students properly. So sad. I got my daughter out of this school faster than you can imagine! She is ten thousand times happier where we are now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

No matter how good everyone's grades may be, this school is failing in their mission to enlighten and educate, to inspire critical thinkers or well-adjusted adults. They are not educators, but indoctrinators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

I have been very happy with this school. My daughter loves to learn and is mad when she doesn't make A's. I believe it is because of the commendments that they receive. Their good work is not ignored. I have been happier here than when she atteneded West University ES in Houston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This is an excellent school. I am a previous employee and a previous student of the same elementary school. My son went there also. If all schools were like this, there would be a lot less problems in our communities. For those who want to move to the district, check in to it before enrolling your child or children. Do not try to change our rules to fit what you want!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

This ISD contradicts itself on so many levels I would need 3 pages to explain. It stresses the TAKS test and memorization instead of actual learning. They will request you bring your child to 1st period even if they are ill so that they can be counted for attendance. If a child has a Dr excuse from PE or recess for an extended amount of time, it will be ignored and your child will be forced outside. They tell the kids to 'be their own person/ don't follow the crowd', yet put such restrictions on their dress that little girls aren't allowed to have embroidered flowers on their shirts! I've pulled my children from this school and now homeschool them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

Excellent school. Very caring and supportive staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

191 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

196 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

198 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education73%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education76%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education86%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education69%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education44%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female54%
Male65%
Black or African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education47%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education40%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education27%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education30%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 31%
Hispanic 46% 50%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Stacey Stavinoha
Fax number
  • (979) 793-2299

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3600 Margaret St
Needville, TX 77461
Phone: (979) 793-4241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT