Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mh Specht Elementary School 2

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
There are some good and well-meaning teachers at this school but the Principal is a clueless mess. She doesn't know her students, she cannot seem to get organized, and she adopts experimental curricula that have been disastrous. She also seems to place more emphasis on making sure "everyone gets a reward" but ignores the truly good, hardworking kids. I cannot wait to be done with this school. It has been a complete drain on my children's self esteem.

Mh Specht Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Mrs Carle is a wonderful and effective teacher. She really knows how to manage the classroom and teach young kids to read.


Mh Specht Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
My second grader and fourth graders both have two hours of work sometimes! Recent studies from Stanford and Harvard have shown that NO amount of homework is beneficial to elementary aged students. Maybe they need homework because they can't get anything done during the 8 hour day?!

Mh Specht Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
They have a tendency to reward the kids who misbehave and don't do well in class, in an attempt to "bring them up" but they ignore those students who are already behaving and doing well in class! That's wrong. It sends a negative message to those who work hard.

Mh Specht Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school! Mrs. Galvan is fantastic and Principal Sundt makes sure all students and staff are happy!


Mh Specht Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, great community and great persons working for kids educations. Kids age: 14, 11 and 6

Mh Specht Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
My two daughters attended Specht for three years and loved it!!! All the staff, starting with the principal, and teachers were great! We are military family so we move around often. We will truly miss this school!

Mh Specht Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2010
- a parent
We have had a child in this school since 2003, just after the school opened. We have always had a good experience here, but none as wonderful as the last school year. Our administrative staff is the best in the district, and helped to guide our students and teachers through another transitional year with many new teachers. It is my opininon that we now have some of the best teachers in the district as well. Our PTA is the finest in the district with parent volunteers giving their time to help teachers as well as plan programs and experiences for every student. We are truly blessed to shine like stars at Specht Elementary.


Mh Specht Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
We have had nothing but great experiences with this school. This year, overall student population has dropped from 800 to just over 500, with some realignment to other schools. The facilities for 'specials' are great (music, art, computer lab) and the gym for PE has every type of sporting equipment imaginable. Our daughter is in 2nd grade and really likes her class and teacher! Our early meetings with the teacher and school administration have all been positive.

Mh Specht Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are very compasionate and very 'on the ball' about situations. My child's K teacher is the best - she really cares about each individual child and corresponds quickly on any matter. The school really emphasizes parent participation - which is the most important and fundamental part of our children's education. It takes the parent and the teacher to get our kids to where they need to be and the teachers are doing their part!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mh Specht Elementary School
1404 Interstate 35 Frontage Road, New Braunfels, TX  78130
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (830) 885-1500
Last modified Mh Specht Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top