Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walker Creek Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very dedicated to the success of the scholars. There is after school and lunchtime help available for those who need it. Communication with parents is PHENOMENAL! Whether about grades or medications or behavior or homework or upcoming activities, you are going to be in the loop about what is going on with your children. The PTA is hands on and provide great activities. There is a lot of family participation at this school both inside and out of the PTA. The students are well behaved and happy about their school. It's a tight knit and welcoming community. The scholars are so good at scooping new students into their friendships. There is a new principal this year and she is still getting her bearings and settling into her groove. I feel like she has some habits from working at a less wonderful school that could bear breaking but I think she'll be just fine. I give only four stars because there is an absurd amount of emphasis and time spent prepping for the STAAR test. A few teachers are good at minimizing stress for students and making it fun, but there are others who are not as adept. Overall, there is a heavily charged testing atmosphere for the second semester of the grade levels that apply to the STAAR. I think this happens at every Texas school so I would still highly recommend Walker Creek.

Walker Creek Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Wayne is so much fun and brightens up the kids days. What a great example of being the best you can be in every circumstance.


Walker Creek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
I have three children at this school so I have experience with MANY of the teachers first hand (from Kindergarten all the way through 5th). They have all been supportive of the students in all aspects of their endeavors, not just educational. The kids feel like their teachers are their cheerleaders and coaches, teaching them and encouraging them to do their best.

Walker Creek Elementary School 2

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Used to be such a great little school but it has been rapidly declining the last 2 years. They desperately need a good principal to get it back to where it was. Most of the teachers are great, yet uninspired. They appear to just do the minimum to get the kids to pass STAAR- this is true especially of 4th and 5th grade. The PTA seems to have disappeared- no more carnivals, plays, dances, popcorn and snowcone days, parties, armies of volunteers decorating the halls, letters home, etc... It's all just gone. The running club and chess club are gone too. The school itself is beautiful and cheerful and lunchtime is a relaxing and social event.

Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
WCE is a wonderful school! As another poster commented, the kids are polite. The atmosphere in the school is welcoming, friendly, yet disciplined. It is a testament to the entire school staff that the children enjoy school - there are few schools where you see the kids literally running inside when the bell rings in the morning. You can witness that any morning at WCE. The school also maintains a strong relationship with the High School. There are activities where High School students are at WCE and vice versa. Strong sense of educational family.


Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a community member
Love this school. Love the new principal, she is very hands on and very friendly I did not realize she was principal at first I thought she was another teacher! All the staff here is friendly, kind and wonderful. From Mr. Wayne on up!!! The office staff rocks!!! Mrs. Cindy is awesome~! They all seem to LOVE the kids and be all about them! They also put on an AMAZING fun run. Unlike the others at BISD schools! It is a very diversified school. the children are very polite here as well. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone!

Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a community member
For the past 52 years and 3 generations, we have had a student in K-12 continuously. They have attended schools in New York and Texas. We feel that the faculty at Walker Creek is one of the finest we have dealt with. Their positive attitude, dedication, teaching ability and sincere interest in their students is among the best. Our great-grandaughter is being taught that honesty, integrity and hard work will be rewarded. We are looking forward to watching her grow in this great school. Well done. Proud Great-grandparents

Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't be more pleased with this school. Faculty and staff are very friendly and attentive to the children while providing a structured and challenging academic environment.


Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
Very strong school. This is my kid's 3rd year and every teacher has been wonderful. My advice to parents who have a problem with school leadership is to take a more active role in the school. The PTA is very good, but could use much more help with parent volunteers. I find that those of us who are heavily involved with WCE have nothing but praises for the school's staff.

Walker Creek Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2011
- a community member
Have been very happy with this school that my granddaughter has gone to for the past 2 yrs. She has learned a lot from the excellent teachers and staff. The Principal has been outstanding. This school is a credit to the community! I would certainly recommend Walker Creek to parents looking for a school that really cares and above all really teaches. The reading pal principal is wonderful and helped my granddaughter exceed in her reading level. Thank You Walker Creek Elementary. Mrs. J.A. Wright

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walker Creek Elementary School
8780 Bridge Street, North Richland Hills, TX  76180
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (817) 547-3500
Last modified Walker Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top