Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Overton, TX
Students enrolled: 271

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Overton High School 4

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
A lot of problems (obviously) with leadership and the school is now in search of a new superintendent, a new counselor and a new principal. I hope the School Board makes wise decisions in hiring in the future so that our children receive the education they deserve. The school has a lot to offer (a strong academic UIL program, an improving FFA program, improving sports programs and new facilities) but we need leadership from an administration that genuinely cares about the children and the school rather than their own self-interests. The high school currently employs a handful of great teachers and I hope the administrative problems do not drive them away.

Overton High School 2

Posted October 02, 2007
- a former student
Recent developments speak louder than words. The band, once the best 1A band in the state is no longer on the map. The quality of teachers has declined, and thus overall student quality as well.


Overton High School 0
no rating

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
This school is less than satisfactory for so called 'normal' students. However, for a handicapped child, it is so far beyond satisfactory that they dont even accept them anymore. Education is very important in stimulating and expanding the life of children that are less fortunate than others... yet the school doesnt care to accomodate those children...

Overton High School 1

Posted April 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Overton High School 2

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
OISD has lost what enticed to move into this school district many years ago. A great band, excellent SAT scores, stringent academic standards and a strong sense of community are long gone. Parents speak amongst themselves about the lack of confidence they have in our school system but no one seems willing to step up and fight for change.


Overton High School 3

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
Overton schools have a lot of infrastructure problems with personnel. They have lost a lot of good teachers. They really need to funnel more attention toward increasing academic standards, and less attention towards the 'long hair, or baggy pants' issues. mjr

Overton High School 4

Posted October 18, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Overton High School 3

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Overton High School 5

Posted September 05, 2005
- a parent
Positive reinforcement at all levels from faculty and administration makes this school a great place for children of parents who want to stay involved in their child's education.

Overton High School 5

Posted August 10, 2005
- a parent
I cannot say enough about overton schools. The teachers work very closely with the parents. I love the fact that they keep in close contact with parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Overton High School
P O Box 130, Overton, TX  75684
(903) 834-6143
Last modified Overton High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Overton High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top