Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Pantego, TX
Students enrolled: 105
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Flint Academy 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
There is no other school in the DFW area like Flint Academy. It is an all-inclusion, classical, Christian academy. What this means for our family is that our two children with dyslexia get the extra help for dyslexia remediation without feeling different or losing self esteem. While my older son is challenged with a college prep curriculum in a smaller environment that meets his need for less chaos and smaller class size. All of this is accomplished in an environment where my children are valued as individuals created by God in a world created by God. It is a loving and family environment where my children have developed a love of learning.

The Flint Academy 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Flint Academy has given our home new life. We have one traditional student and two with learning differences enrolled, all of whom have blossomed and found new love for education through this school. With small class sizes, personalized attention, individual learning plans, Christian values and interactive teaching styles, Flint Academy has grown to be more than a school for my children. It is their second family.


The Flint Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Flint Academy love their students and treat them like valued treasures who will someday change the world. They believe in the students more than the kids believe in themselves and demonstrate that daily in the way they prepare and deliver material at each child's level. My children have learned more from these dedicated individuals than in several years combined at public school.

The Flint Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
When my children were in public school, they were given 2-3 hours of homework each night, often including new concepts and subject that was so briefly covered, they couldn't remember how to complete it. At Flint, there is minimal homework, yet what there is involves clear instructions, defined timelines, creative methods and teachers make themselves available to help clarify any questions or needs.

The Flint Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
With individualized learning plans, each student is challenged to reach for their God-given potential and work hard toward those goals. Teachers partner with kids to aim for the stars and make a plan to get there.


The Flint Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The student body at Flint Academy is a blend of geographic, socioeconomic, learning abilities and ethnicities across all ages. The school further has an extensive animal center where students are encouraged to learn about nature daily. Respect for life, humanity and nature are core concepts stressed to every child.

The Flint Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
This school is like a family. Children are given opportunities they would not normally receive in larger schools. Most teens are involved in both sports and drama, plus the majority volunteer their own time to be part of a community service program. Students are taught to love God and love others, plus to be the hands and feet of Jesus in daily life.

The Flint Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Flint Academy is based on Christian principles which develop ideal student character. They teach how honesty and integrity impact a child's entire life and how being a good person is not based on intelligence or popularity. Being a full-inclusion school, they also teach tolerance, diversity and fairness daily.


The Flint Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
One example of the way the school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students is the basketball program. This is a school with no gym and a state champion basketball team. These kids practiced outside on the parking lot in all kinds of weather because they were determined to be successful...and they were.

The Flint Academy 4

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
We have two student in Flint Academy. Both are dyslexic and one is AD/HD which makes it very difficult to thrive in the public school system. The teachers and curriculum at Flint provide a safe environment in which our students are learning and growing. As with any good school, parent involvement is vitally important. There are regularly scheduled progress reports but, more importantly, teachers and administration is readily available to discuss student progress or any parental concerns at any time. I would recommend Flint Academy to any family seeking a quality education, learning not only the basics but being taught ethical and moral behaviors through practice and example.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Flint Academy
2111 Roosevelt Drive, Pantego, TX  76013
(817) 277-0620
Last modified The Flint Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Flint Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top