Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bolin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are scared of retaliation from the current principal and will not challenge her philosophies even if they disagree.

Bolin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
The current principal does not support homework as a reinforcement of learning - even in upper grades. As a proud parent of a high schooler in AISD, this significantly puts Bolin students at a disadvantage primarily because they are not prepared for the expectations going forward...


Bolin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
If the teachers didn't promote empathy, I don't believe it would be acknowledged by the principal. All activities that promote character are limited to Blazer Rallies at 8:00 in the morning when most parents are at work and cannot see their child recognized for good character. Former leadership recognized Trailblazers from each class k-6 at the monthly PTA meetings in the evening so more parents could be included.,,

Bolin Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
I believe the counselor and teachers honestly try to Instill these character traits in our children and for the most part, they do so...but the current principal tends to minimize teacher/parent concerns. Often times issues are not handled effectively and continue to get worse.

Bolin Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
From the time Bolin opened in 2000, it remained an ELITE school that promoted student success and high standards primarily due to the leadership and guidance of the former principals. These exceptional leaders set the standard by supporting teachers, parents, and students. The overall school climate changed dramatically under the current principal who was hired in 2014. Since that time, 13 staff members have left Bolin to pursue positive career opportunities elsewhere...a HUGE loss for our children and the neighborhood community.


Bolin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Smith (Suess Maniacs). Can't remeber the theme, but this should be close. My daughters 1st grade teacher was AWESOME!!

Bolin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
6th graders need more homework to better prepare them for what is expected in the 7th grade. Seems the principal changed the amount of homework. Bad decision!

Bolin Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
My daughter graduated from Bolin last year. And for the most part her experience was quite positive. However, her last year was questionable. Seems the new principal of 2 years in my opinion lacks making a connection with the students. I understand change is good. But what she needs to remember is that some traditions are worth continuing. Just build on them and make them bigger and better. Don't turn your back on some things that worked. Be open for suggestions and make the children's experience memorable. Just my thoughts. Its important to point out, my daughters favorite teacher of all was Mrs. Smith - her first grade teacher. Thank you Bolin Elementary


Bolin Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
My son is in third grade now at Bolin. The Kindergarten teachers have all been there for 5+ years and it shows. They work as a team and their devotion (especially Mrs. Coe) is amazing! First grade we had a brand new teacher who was great. Second grade was Mrs. white....I still have her cell# and cried my eyes out with her the last day of school! This year we have Mrs. Hale but 3RD grade is tough so my son is in Miss Pernisi's room most of the day. He has ADHD but is an A-B student because of these dedicated teachers. The Principle is so nice and I've gotten to know her better through being a board member on the PTA.

Bolin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. White for taking a personal interest in our son. She has the biggest heart in the world and gets very emotional about her students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bolin Elementary School
5705 Cheyenne Drive, Parker, TX  75002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (214) 495-6750
Last modified Bolin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top