Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bolin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Smith (Suess Maniacs). Can't remeber the theme, but this should be close. My daughters 1st grade teacher was AWESOME!!

Bolin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
6th graders need more homework to better prepare them for what is expected in the 7th grade. Seems the principal changed the amount of homework. Bad decision!


Bolin Elementary School 4

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
My daughter graduated from Bolin last year. And for the most part her experience was quite positive. However, her last year was questionable. Seems the new principal of 2 years in my opinion lacks making a connection with the students. I understand change is good. But what she needs to remember is that some traditions are worth continuing. Just build on them and make them bigger and better. Don't turn your back on some things that worked. Be open for suggestions and make the children's experience memorable. Just my thoughts. Its important to point out, my daughters favorite teacher of all was Mrs. Smith - her first grade teacher. Thank you Bolin Elementary

Bolin Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
My son is in third grade now at Bolin. The Kindergarten teachers have all been there for 5+ years and it shows. They work as a team and their devotion (especially Mrs. Coe) is amazing! First grade we had a brand new teacher who was great. Second grade was Mrs. white....I still have her cell# and cried my eyes out with her the last day of school! This year we have Mrs. Hale but 3RD grade is tough so my son is in Miss Pernisi's room most of the day. He has ADHD but is an A-B student because of these dedicated teachers. The Principle is so nice and I've gotten to know her better through being a board member on the PTA.

Bolin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. White for taking a personal interest in our son. She has the biggest heart in the world and gets very emotional about her students.


Bolin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
My son is an A-B student because of the extra help he gets at Bolin. The teacher is constantly communicating with me about his progress.

Bolin Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
I don't blame Bolin for frustrated students. I'm concerned as to why the state of Texas is not on "common core" like 95% of the United States. Who in Austin, TX is making the decisions on math? I cannot believe 4 & 5TH graders learning algebra when I was exposed to it in 7TH grade! My third grader is constantly upset.....Commutative math multiplication, why throw this verbage out to an 8 year old???

Bolin Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
I definitely feel that the students at Bolin learn respect. I should know as my son had lonely lunch for blurting out "the cheerleaders are hot!" He was very upset about it and embarrassed but I'm glad Bolin is strict about what is and what is not appropriate.


Bolin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
The PTA has several assemblies every year ranging from magic shows, authors and acrobats. They talk about self-esteem, creativity, bullying, being drug-free, etc......I wish all schools would follow their lead.

Bolin Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the teachers take the time to reward good choices and address bad ones immediately. they are great at juggling many responsibilities at once. There is very little turnover at Bolin.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bolin Elementary School
5705 Cheyenne Drive, Parker, TX  75002
(214) 495-6750
Last modified Bolin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bolin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top