Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Pasadena, TX
Students enrolled: 2,876
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sam Rayburn High School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
I think the dress code is worthless. Especially when kids are allowed to get away with wearing their clothes way to big. I would rather see the student dress, fitted properly and neat. I also have a problem with no school books. How are the students suppose to be able to learn anything without books.

Sam Rayburn High School 2

Posted February 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sam Rayburn High School 5

Posted August 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sam Rayburn High School 3

Posted July 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sam Rayburn High School 4

Posted August 17, 2007
- a teacher
Faculty level of effort is high, but diminished by weak support from administrators in dealing with classroom disruption. The few students who consider classtime thier socializing time and opportunity to foil teaching processes, are not effectively dealt with by 'support' staff. Little to no effort is given to corrective or preventive strategies to improve classroom behavior. As a result, some few students, not motivated to learn, feel empowered to make class time their play time, often stopping instruction while the teacher deals with off-task behavior. More support to the faculty in consistentlly maintaining a learning environment in the classroom is sorely needed. Responsibiliy for instituting this much-needed change falls squarely on the shoulders of the principal.


Sam Rayburn High School 5

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sam Rayburn High School 4

Posted April 06, 2006
- a teacher
A large comprehensive high school with many academic and extracurricular opportunities for all students. SRHS offers a variety of Advanced Placement courses. The current principal is very attentive and dedicated to the needs of the students and faculty. Parents take part in multiple booster organizations but there could be more parent support in areas other than football and dance.

Sam Rayburn High School 5

Posted March 06, 2006
- a student
I personaly attended this school and do believe there are improvements to be made. Overall though this is one of the most well rounded schools in harris county. I have attended many schools for personal reasons.


Sam Rayburn High School 5

Posted October 01, 2005
- a parent
I have been a TEXAN parent for 6 years now. I have found the staff and faculty very friendly and helpful. There is a new principal, Mr. Troy McCarley, who is very nice and very well intentioned. Troy has made some changes that have been very effective in reducing fights and he is absolutley behind the zero tolerance policies at lot of schools and districts have adopted in the last several years. Some of his methods I disagree with, (ie: dismissing the cafeteria one table at a time) though it has been extremely effective. I just think you have treat the students in a bit more adult manner, this isn't elementary. Mr. McCarely definately believes in consequesnces for actions, good and bad. Most of the issues I have with public education have to do with the state education agencies and the policies of the district. Within those boundaries, Rayburn wins.

Sam Rayburn High School 5

Posted November 01, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sam Rayburn High School
2121 Cherrybrook Lane, Pasadena, TX  77502
(713) 477-3601
Last modified Sam Rayburn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sam Rayburn High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top