Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nolan Ryan J High School 1

Posted June 26, 2016
- a student
As a student of NRJH, I know the true colors of the school. The kids act Horrible and the 6th grade math map and science teachers don't care at all about education and act mean to you on purpose just because of your race. I would never recommend this school to anyone

Nolan Ryan J High School 2

Posted March 12, 2016
- a community member
Poor communication as a whole. Parents are not well informed of what is happening at the school. Attendance is only taken in 2nd period, so how do I know my kid even made it to school that morning? Especially when my child rides his bike to school since they do not have bus service if you live within a 2 mile radius of the school. He has also had his arm broken in PE last year which tells me there is not much supervision and rather chaotic. Been going here for 2 years but having doubts about having my child attend next year..


Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
Nolan Ryan Junior High is a great school and strives for excellence in all areas. The academic, fine arts and athletic programs continue to receive district and state recognition. My child loves the school and has had a positive experience thus far.

Nolan Ryan J High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers work hard to meet the needs of students. They offer tutorials before and after school to support students.

Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
Despite the overcrowding issues this is a great school! I have had three students to attend Nolan Ryan JH (2 former, 1 current). The administrative staff is very friendly, answers my emails timely, and are there for the students. My kiddos love NRJH and the teachers. With large number of students that attend the school the staff does a good job of providing a safe environment.


Nolan Ryan J High School 3

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Poor communication-Administration and staff ignore emails and calls. Students are encouraged to buy the school t-shirt and PE uniforms but the school runs out of uniforms and then require a gray t-shirt but it can't be the gray school t-shirt! Lockers are available but not assigned to students. Afterschool the halls are filled with rowdy kids With little or no supervision. Lots of rules and regulations but very little leadership, organization or consistency. Classes aren't challenging. This school is a huge disappointment and the administration either ignore or dismiss complaints so nothing changes-

Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
We got an apartment close by just so my son could go to school there. He loves school now which was not the case in elementary. The principal and the 2 assistent principals are always smiling and around where the kids see them so that they do whats right. He loves his teachers. His sweet science teacher calls with good phone calls and notes a lot and his math teacher sends a news email informing us of what is upcoming. The school has a good feel to it. My son is real involved and interested in learning and he doesn't come home with loads of worksheets like before. His teachers are always available for extra help and helped me get through the 1st kid going to junior high transition smoothly. He loves it there and is very happy which makes us happy. It's a happy feeling school and the teachers and office staff all care for there students. He wants to be a rapping science teacher now and I know that is because he thinks school is fun and it should be fun. LOL! We made the right choice in sending him to Nolan Ryan and are looking forward to the same success in our other 2 children going there. I like the way they run things and the order they seem to have.

Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
Nolan Ryan Junior High is a great school. with awesome teachers, and caring administrators. Nolan Ryan is exemplary in both academics and athletics. My kids love going to school here and enjoy learning.


Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a community member
Nolan Ryan junior high is a great place to learn. The classes are challenging and the teachers really try to engage students in the learning process. The fine arts department is fantastic and the academic teachers are highly qualified. There are also lots of successes in sports. High expectations for class work as well as behavior is present. I recommend sending your child there.

Nolan Ryan J High School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
Nolan Ryan is awesome! The students excel in academics, athletics, and fine arts. Teachers put in long hours. Bullying is no greater and much less than most jr. High schools. Each time a bullying incident has been presented to the staff, it has always been addressed. The school can't address what they don't know. I advise parents to check out the school for yourself and come to your own conclusion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nolan Ryan J High School
11500 Shadow Creek Parkway, Pearland, TX  77584
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (281) 245-3210
Last modified Nolan Ryan J High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top