Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laura Ingalls Wilder

Public | PK-5 | 771 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

This school is horrible! The principal is horrible. The teachers are lazy. This school has very poor communication. I would not recommend this school. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

This school has horrible communication. Emailed the principal repeatedly about my child being bullied and only got one email in return on the subject. A "we'll investigate" response that I am now beginning to think was just to shut me up. Even when I would see the principal in person, she never mentioned what actions she has taken, or planned on taking. But had no problem reminding me it's fundraiser night at Longhorn Steakhouse. Bullying is a major issue in schools and whether my child be the bully, or the one being bullied, I expect adequate action to stop it. There was none taken. Fundraisers. If you plan on enrolling your child into Wilder, also plan on signing over your paychecks. Money matters most here. And nothing else. Oh wait, test scores do. But that's so they can get more money. I have lost such faith in this school, we have already checked our children out and began homeschooling. I am now starting from scratch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

We pay a lot in taxes and we expected to have quality teachers, staff and principal. Instead the principal is very unprofessional and teachers are very inexperience. There are over 950 kids at Wilder, over crowded class rooms. And from the recent PTO meeting with one of the Alvin ISD member the situation will remain this way for the next few years. My children do not get the quality education that we expected from Alvin ISD and Wilder. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

I also had high hopes for the school because of the amount of taxes we pay to live here. This is our second year. The first year was good, but 1st grade has been anything but good. Teachers do not seem to care about the students here. The work ethic of the teachers if horrible. My kid always has at least one teacher absent once a week. The classwork seems to not even be challenging for my kid and parent involvement is very low if you are not in the class where all the PTO kids are. The new principal is nice, but she has a big job to do here in order to turn this school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I find it interesting to read some of the negative reviews Wilder has received. Many of them seem to be based on the traffic situation or 1 experience with a teacher. I get the feeling that those parents simply got mad and used this website to vent. I am a parent of a student at Wilder and I am THRILLED that the CITY finally changed the traffic situation to make it safer for the students. The request came from parents and was supported by the city, so why is the school getting the blame? How would you expect a school to safely release over 800 kids at dismissal when most of them are picked up in a car. It is going to take time, especially when many parents don't play by the rules or follow the procedures set. Student safety is obviously their main concern, so I encourage other parents to take those complaints with a grain of salt. They are not seeing the big picture. Student safety should NEVER be sacrificed to save a parent a few minutes. In addition, I think that the teachers at Wilder care about their students and put their education first. The curriculum and teaching is challenging, engaging, and effective- just as it should be! They have the test scores to prove it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

High hopes turn to disappointment. Most of my daily frustrations are a direct result of this school. In order to avoid the long lines at drop-off and keep them from being tardy we have to leave the house by 7:30 (we live 1.5 miles away). You can easily spend 30 minutes after school in the pick up line. Traffic near start/stop of school is horrible and dangerous. But worst of all I find their tone with parents to be inappropriate. I recently received a letter from the school threatening me with legal action and fines and a summons to meet with the vice principal. My children had missed 6 days in 5 months. At least 30 other parents were summoned to the meeting, and what I took away from it was 1) the office/teaches/staff don't know what they are doing or who does what 2) they are more concerned with making sure they get their funding than the are with teaching, and 3) they think they know what is better for my child than I do as their parent. They would rather children miss school to attend a funeral or be in the hospital (excused) than making memories with living people (unexcused) they may never see again. I find their policy unsupportive of families. We won't be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

Horrible parking situation! It's a extremely small school with only one parking lot. But it's only for teachers and staff! And even though the lot is only half full at all times the parents have to park 3 football fields away from the school just to pick up or drop off the students. Also I visited my daughter for lunch today and was mortified at the food they served the kids! My daughter opened her sandwich and it was literally frozen with ice on the meat! I took her sandwich into the kitchen and asked for it to be heated up so it was edible and the staff had a horrible attitude and when I brought the heated sandwich back I noticed the entire class had not eaten their frozen sandwiches and they all threw them away! I think parents need to know what type of food this school thinks is okay to serve our kids. Laziness is the only reason I can think of that they wouldn't warm up the kids sandwiches. My daughter was still hungry after lunch! Horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

I really love this school. The principals and staff are great. The students are so happy to be there and you can tell that the teachers enjoy their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

I see parents stating this is a great school if 39% of the teachers have less then a year of experience. My daughter is on 3rd grade goes to this school and every day she is sad and doesn't want to go to school anymore. I send message to the teacher she never follows up. I received a a list of sight words and started working with my daughter. Couple of days later I received her report showing that grade including the wight words. I wrote a note to the teacher for her to be kind and send me the list in advance so my daughter could practice. As a result, I never received a response. I've tried conference with the principal andnobody returned to my call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

This school has amazing staff and are very welcoming. I'm not sure what happened to the parents that submitted negative reviews. They could not be further from the truth. The teachers at Wilder are very friendly and accommodating to student needs. The climate is invigorating! The best part about this school is that they are NOT TAKS driven. Check out their commended percentages! That tells you more about a school than their rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

My daughter went to this school for 2 years & absolutely hated it. My son goes to the elementary school right down the street & you can see an immense difference in how the principals run the school, how the staff conduct themselves, & how the teachers communicate with the parents. The staff is rude @ Wilder, esp @ the front desk (the attendance official). It was a huge disappointment to see my daughter dreading to go to school everyday. She now goes to Corbett Jr. High & loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I must say that I completely disagree with the last review....Wilder is extremely community oriented and so many parents are in the school daily volunteering and taking an active part in their students' education. We now have a second child at Wilder and feel that our children are receiving the best possible education around! The teachers go above and beyond to help their students excel, and Wilder does so much more than minimum requirements. Administration at this school is remarkable and very visible each and every day. In fact, you will probably see the Assistant Principal and/or Principal waving to cars in the morning, greeting students on a daily basis, and in and out of classrooms. A day doesn't go by that I haven't seen the office out and about within the school. Wilder also offers so many after school activities for students to participate in! We love Wilder!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Wilder is a terrible school. It is not a family or community oriented school. There are no opportunites to voluteer unless you want to do it through the PTO. Communication is lacking. We never have any idea what our children are doing in school. We have to schedule regular parent teacher conferences just to get updates on what our children are doing. The teachers are cold and uncaring and the principal seems to always be "hiding". She is not a visible presence in the school. Also, the students have to adhere to a very strict district mandated dress code, but the teachers and administrators do not dress professionally. It pains us to send our kids to a school that only seems to strive to meet the minimum requirements for academics. Every child should be pushed to excel and not just avoid being left behind. You won't get that from Wilder,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter is doing well at Wilder. She loves to learn. However she is disappointed this year due to the replacement of her art teacher. I believe Art should be fun and tap into a child most creative senses. Since the replacement she no longer wakes up happy to have a day that includes art class. She dreads art due to the harsh and unfriendly spirit of the new teacher. We as parents have also noticed that bulling is not addresses on a regular basis. I think the wilder staff needs to educate and enforce a zero tolerance policy for children that bully. Parents should be notified and children with a tendency to bully should be separated until the behavior is redirected. The days of boys will be boys and kids will be kids are 'long gone. Children should be able to feel safe in their leaning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

As a former educator, I have been very impressed with Wilder Elementary School. The teachers and administrators are exceptional, and the school climate is that of happy students who are eager to learn. Wilder does a great job of offering extracurricular opportunities after school in addition to the art, music, and physical education programs that students participate in during the school day. Many parents are involved at Wilder by volunteering in the classrooms, participating in the PTO, etc. But most importantly, my child is happy there, so I am a happy parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The faculty is attentive to the student's needs and addresses parent's concerns in a professional and timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

We transfered from Mary Marek to Wilder last school year. My kids grades have dropped drastically. Their reading level is lower. I have to do more teaching at home. I have enrolled my kids in a reading program this summer, because I was not satisfied with their low grades. My kids had to spend their summer learning what they didn't in the past school year. They went from high grade levels since kindergarten to average since we have been at Wilder. The school ratings are not making me feel any more comfortable about this school either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

This shool is great my 2 kids love this school I love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

This school is awesome , the principal is very good as well as the teachers . My son said , he learned so quick because his teachers are so supportive and very nice and that makes a successful learning environment . Im so glad, I found this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Wow! Wilder had a great first year and we can't wait for year 2! The principals, teachers, and office are all so positive, welcoming, and enthusiastic. Administration is easy to talk to and really gets things done. We love that everything about the school is centered about the students learning and academics and not necessarily the tests, which is a huge plus these days! Thank you Wilder Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

142 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

143 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

143 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American89%
Asian95%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female86%
Male92%
Black or African American85%
Asian98%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black or African American78%
Asian98%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male88%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American91%
Asian96%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asian98%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asian96%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
Black or African American91%
Asian87%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education57%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black or African American58%
Asian94%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education57%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education71%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Black or African American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education38%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female97%
Male79%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education63%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female81%
Male88%
Black or African American75%
Asian97%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male79%
Black or African American72%
Asian94%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education20%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female81%
Male95%
Black or African American77%
Asian97%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education60%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 35% 3%
Black 26% 13%
Hispanic 18% 50%
White 18% 31%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2225 Kingsley
Pearland, TX 77584
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 245-3090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT