Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Pflugerville, TX
Students enrolled: 837

3 stars
Based on 80 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


87 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Park Elementary School 2

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is not good. The past two years, the teachers have not been a good example for the children. Their communication (when lacking or excessive) is unprofessional. At the meet the teacher night even, the teacher was wearing flip-flops and inattentive when I was trying to speak with her. At our parent teacher conference, she appeared she had just rolled out of bed - in jeans, t-shirt, and half open eyes. It seems fairly clear the teachers my child has gotten are either under qualified, or under prepared to actually foster the children (WHO ARE CHILDREN by the way). When I was a child in school, the teachers were well put together, role models. They dressed well and spoke professionally. My child is 7 years old, on honor roll, and is consistently getting ridden at school about "talking" and homework, homework, homework and tests - she's also been mocked by her teacher to myself... in front of her. The principal is not helpful in these situations either. We want out of this school very much... and are working on it.
2 people found this helpful

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
The school is safe, caring, and continually is improving. The are very well organized and have teachers that care.
1 person found this helpful


Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is overcrowded. The teachers never smile and say hello. You feel overwhelmed by confusion by just entering the school. If you don't speak Spanish you are even more out of the loop. If you can put your child into another school, do it.

Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 07, 2013
- a community member
This scool has gotten over 15 new staff members over the summer. The new principal is great, but I cant tell my little bro who the good teachers are anymore. The school I went to k-5 virtually doesnt exist anymore, and Im only in the seventh grade!

Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Its sad to see what the school has become this new school year, it used to be a great school 3 yrs ago. its now way way over crowded and there are way too many students in each class, the building is busting at the seams . its a travesty! it seems as if the administration caters to students and especially parents that there first language isn't english. its horrible! makes other parents feel uncomfortable!


Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Without a great administration it s difficult for any school to be successful. This new administration lacks in attentiveness, social skills and direction. There is a lack of community feel which I feel is primarily due a PTO that isn t quick to make anyone feel welcome and prides itself on itself. Fundraisers and the funds collected come from the entire HPES Family yet the PTO tends to take the glory for it all while the Administration seems to lack the personal skills needed to create a communal atmosphere. The lack of personality and inclusive attitude seems to plague the campus.

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
It is unfortunate that Pflugerville ISD has managed to hire the two worst principals in Texas to lead Highland Park Elem. The current principal walks down the hall telling students "don't make me get CRUNK with you!" among other inappropriate words and gestures.

Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
I was surprised to see the negative comments about this school. My daughter is a first grader there and we have been very happy with the staff and the level of education she has received this far. We are relocating out of state after Christmas and are very sad to be leaving this school. I can only hope to find one as good where we are going.


Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2011
- a parent
The school personnel is friendly. Students seem to really like the teachers. Nice school environment. Have seen many improvements this year.

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted November 30, 2010
- a teacher
Prior leadership was greatly lacking and failed to take responsibility for mistakes made. No one is perfect, however the past administration seemed to live under a double standard, was unapproachable and "ruled" with an iron fist but was unwilling to get down in the trenches. Likes to point fingers, but cannot take ownership. Teachers are the best they can be, but was definitely toxic from the top down. Very unhealthy environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Elementary School
528 Kingston Lacy Boulevard, Pflugerville, TX  78660
(512) 594-6800
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Park Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top