Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
83 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Janie Rodriguez is such a great kindergarten teacher! She loves the kids and communicates so well with the parents. thank you!

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
We have a child with special needs and he has been treated very well at Highland Park. He's in the Dual-Language Program in Kindergarten and his teacher is excellent. The school really seems to care about him and the current nurse is dedicated to keeping him safe and healthy. While every school is going to have its bad teachers, most of the folks we've interacted with seem engaged and caring. I am very happy my son has access to Dual Language and learning Spanish 80% of the day! Please visit this school before you judge it by the 7/10 rating.


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
My children attended Highland Park 1st grade through 5th and loved everyday! My sisters 3 children now attend Highland Park and love the staff and teachers. They go above and beyond for the students to show them that they care. I would say I do miss Mr. Medina and and Mr. Diaz-Cruz, Nurse Torres was amazing! My children's first language is English and never felt out of place in the school.

Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
GREAT SCHOOL!!! Dedicated teachers!! Supportive administration!!! The fact that this school is overcrowded isn't their fault. The fact that my child is getting a wonderful education is something that I love! When a child is excited about going to school, that really speaks volumes! Learning is fun and challenging at highland park! (Thanks to the dedicated teachers) I definitely recommend this school!

Highland Park Elementary School 2

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is not good. The past two years, the teachers have not been a good example for the children. Their communication (when lacking or excessive) is unprofessional. At the meet the teacher night even, the teacher was wearing flip-flops and inattentive when I was trying to speak with her. At our parent teacher conference, she appeared she had just rolled out of bed - in jeans, t-shirt, and half open eyes. It seems fairly clear the teachers my child has gotten are either under qualified, or under prepared to actually foster the children (WHO ARE CHILDREN by the way). When I was a child in school, the teachers were well put together, role models. They dressed well and spoke professionally. My child is 7 years old, on honor roll, and is consistently getting ridden at school about "talking" and homework, homework, homework and tests - she's also been mocked by her teacher to myself... in front of her. The principal is not helpful in these situations either. We want out of this school very much... and are working on it.


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
The school is safe, caring, and continually is improving. The are very well organized and have teachers that care.

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is overcrowded. The teachers never smile and say hello. You feel overwhelmed by confusion by just entering the school. If you don't speak Spanish you are even more out of the loop. If you can put your child into another school, do it.

Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 07, 2013
- a community member
This scool has gotten over 15 new staff members over the summer. The new principal is great, but I cant tell my little bro who the good teachers are anymore. The school I went to k-5 virtually doesnt exist anymore, and Im only in the seventh grade!


Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Its sad to see what the school has become this new school year, it used to be a great school 3 yrs ago. its now way way over crowded and there are way too many students in each class, the building is busting at the seams . its a travesty! it seems as if the administration caters to students and especially parents that there first language isn't english. its horrible! makes other parents feel uncomfortable!

Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Without a great administration it s difficult for any school to be successful. This new administration lacks in attentiveness, social skills and direction. There is a lack of community feel which I feel is primarily due a PTO that isn t quick to make anyone feel welcome and prides itself on itself. Fundraisers and the funds collected come from the entire HPES Family yet the PTO tends to take the glory for it all while the Administration seems to lack the personal skills needed to create a communal atmosphere. The lack of personality and inclusive attitude seems to plague the campus.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Elementary School
528 Kingston Lacy Boulevard, Pflugerville, TX  78660
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (512) 594-6800
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top