Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Windermere Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

This school is amazing! The same teachers have been on this campus for so many years and for the past 8 I have watched it grow, change, and become better and better. More community involvement would rate this school even higher (come one parents:)) but hey we all have to work right?? I would without a shadow of a doubt move to this area just for this supportive and loving school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Windermere Primary is an excellent school! My daughter has been attending since Pre-K and she loves it. She has one more year left in this school :( then she will move to Elem. Great teachers and great principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Both of our children attended this school. Superb school and wonderful special education program. Mrs. Beck is the best teacher I've ever encountered and prepared our child with a wonderful foundation to build upon. Kudos to Mrs. Siegel and Mr. Gagne for being so involved with ALL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

The vice principal greets the children every morning and visits the classrooms on a regular basis. The teaching staff are friendly, caring, and professional. The office staff are friendly and informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

I have five children ages 20, 17, 12, 8, and 6. All of my kids have been through halls of Windermere Primary and loved being there. My six year old is in the first grade and is the last to attend. Mr. Gagne is the best. He has always been very kind to my children. My children have wonderful memories of Windermere as do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

Love this school , my daughter has never been happier , she is learning sooooo many things, the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

This is the best school I have ever encountered in my 11 year teaching career. The staff is friendly and courteous and always ready to lend a helping hand. They are all very professional and have the student's best interest in mind always. Never have I met more dedicated teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2006

Lots of teacher input, communication with parents, good monitoring if child needs extra help with reading, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I would have to say that I am pleased with the overall experience we have had. We chose this school because the PISD in this particular area was 4 out of 5 stars. Mrs. Scott was a blessing (not to mention teacher of the year) for Kindergarten. First grade was fun also. Now we are in the second grade and things to be off to a great start. One thing I don't like is the lunches. Other than that, the school, and its programs are allot of fun. I enjoy volunteering..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I am very pleased with my prek experience at this school. High quality of programs, teacher (Mrs. Hoban) was superb. We enjoyed Breakfast with Santa, xmas program, field day, field trip to firestation. High parent involvement in the carnival and field day. So organized. School website very helpful and asst. principal is a wonderful greeter in the am. Not familiar with music, art, sports etc, but the school was clean and teachers and kids always looked happy and the overall feeling of the school was warm and inviting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

There is a glass wall that is put up to keep parents from participating. Staff tries to keep parents away and not involved. Students are not treated as well as in other schools. Children with special needs don't have their needs met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

The only problem I ever had at the school was my son telling me if the kids didn't bring there lunch money, and when does this not happen, the children are talked down to and given a p.b.and j. lunch verses a hot lunch.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted January 25, 2005

My daughter went to AISD last year for first grade & now attends Windermere Primary for second grade. I feel that my daughter learned more last year in AISD. I believe that the work load given is too easy, my daughter completes her homework for the week on Monday. Het teacher says that she doesnt need to be tested to be put in advance classes. I really believe that this school is high on the charts because they teaches them the bare minium. Next school year I will either have my child in the advance learning classes or will go back to McBee Elementary. Good luck to those children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 52%
White 27% 29%
Black 22% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 12%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • CHRISTI SIEGEL
Fax number
  • (512) 594-5605

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

429 Grand Avenue Parkway
Pflugerville, TX 78660
Phone: (512) 594-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT