Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,253 students|Vanguard Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vanguard Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers are great at teaching their curriculum and understanding how to work with these young adults. Many form connections between these students which makes them better understand how to work with the child.

Vanguard Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
While students should be given work to better their skills, a few of the core classes have problems with handing out too much work. The teachers mean well, but I have seen way too many tired faces of children, and it makes me question this "quality education" when I hear that students normally sleep in the early hours of night due to the amount of work they recieve.


Vanguard Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Most students here are pretty determined, every child has different aspirations and the teachers are great with supporting each child and fueling their ambition.

Vanguard Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
In Vanguard, you can assure your children are taught to fear and distrust authority. This is very hard to fix, especially when they get older. Other parents were not so lucky with catching this on time, and I fear for their relationship with their children.

Vanguard Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
This school is similar to the Lord of the Flies novel. Children are pit against eachother and this will often result in serious confrontations. Rarely do they turn violent, but it sure can get awkward when you can feel the tension between the students involved especially if you're being called to the school for a conference.


Vanguard Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
The staff have been known to lie to students about having to take certain classes, and often force certain students to take unneeded classes. This can and will cause children to distrust and lie to anyone in a position of power.

Vanguard Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
No Because they never call me to tell me my hold was being bullied by a girl that was a daughter to a teacher.

Vanguard Academy 5

Posted March 28, 2015
- a student
i am a student here at vanguard academy and i have been here for 8 years and it's an outstanding school and never been bullied, if your being bullied the will take care of it right away. The teachers will do anything to help you in any type of situation. The staff and administrators are really kind to both parents and students. Also, they have several academic organizations like student council, Bible club, Robotics, NJHS, NHS, decoration committee, and the volt team. If your having second thoughts of your children joining this school then stop having those thoughts and apply him/her to Vanguard Academy


Vanguard Academy 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
Not what I expected. First year was ok. Second year was horrible!! Two of my children's Teachers were mean with them and very disrespectful with us the parents. Talked about it to the principal and she said It was TRUE!!! That this issue was out of her control!!!! The teachers' behavior was nothing new for her. OMG!!!

Vanguard Academy 4

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
So my child started prek this year at vanguard and is half way through i love how his teacher is very sweet and lets parents know everyday how their child did in class.Yes my son had a lil problem in the beginning with one student but i immediatley told the teacher and it was corrected theres going to be bullying everywhere but at least this school is more one to one with kids not as a regular public school. I dont regret my decision because everyday my son looks forward to going to school he loves it that's because he was never away from me never in a daycare or headstart. I also love that they have a little prayer before they eat it gives them a chance to be thankful for what they have and yes field trips parents either pay full or join in the fundraiser but i also dont mind that at all because i believe my son will have a better advantage at his education. As by far i have no complaints seeing my son happy makes me happy and as parents thats all we want!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vanguard Academy
1200 East Kelly Avenue, Pharr, TX  78577
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (956) 283-1700
Last modified Vanguard Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top