Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
155 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

My wife and I began Willow Bend Academy in the summer of 1998 in our dining room. We had 6 students for summer school. In the fall of that year, we opened with only 2 students, but grew to 40 by year's end. The school has been accredited for 13 years by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools/AdvancEd.
January 06, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Willow Bend Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 07, 2016
- a community member
Thank you to Mrs. Little and Mrs. Lilly for all you do! We appreciate your kindness and hard work!

Willow Bend Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2016
- a community member
We are so blessed to have Mrs. Little in our lives. She genuinely cares that our daughter succeeds. We so appreciate knowing Faith is in such caring and capable hands.


Willow Bend Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My son has been attending WBA almost a year and we love the school so much. The teachers are very responsible, and they really respect each student's individual needs. I feel my son's writing skill has been improved greatly. We are very satisfied with the school and the teachers. I personally believe WBA is a descent private school.

Willow Bend Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Little is a wonderful teacher. She really understands her students and works with each individually at their level. My son loves her!

Willow Bend Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Lynn Bauer from Willow Bend Academy is my son's 9th grade teacher. She is just about perfect. She is the right mix of patience and understanding, but also accountability. Mark works really hard for her because he has so much respect for her and wants her to be proud of him. Mark has blossomed under her leadership. We want her to be our teacher all through high school! Mrs. Bauer, thank you for all you do. Sincerely, The Von Ahnens


Willow Bend Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The self-paced curriculum approach is wonderful. I feel this school has a program that instills self-sufficiency and college preparedness. The staff is competent and caring.

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
This is not for a single teacher, but for all of them. They are personally involved in the success of each of their students. It is most rewarding when alumni return to say "thank you" for enabling them to have the college and career successes they enjoy.
Posted November 20, 2015

Willow Bend Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a student
I've been this school for 3 years. I like this school too much, teachers are nice and hige knowledge.to be honest, I am enjoy and pround of to be a part of WBA, the subjects could let us make much progress,and the teacher does,too. teachers have patience to teach me.this is my experiences in these years. there's a lot international students in WBA. at the weekend . school will give us a topic to discuss and make more chance for our English progress, it makes our speaking,writing,and listening to be stronger. the school's time makes us to have enough time to study, when we study we don't feeling a lot pressure,


Willow Bend Academy 4

Posted January 29, 2015
- a community member
One positive thing I like about this school is one on one time. I feel that it is a great way to prepare you for test or, if you are stuck you don t have to worry about staying after school or come in early before class starts. I also like how we have breaks in-between subjects. The breaks help me recuperate so I can forces for the next subject. Something else that I like is that we go four hours a day instead of a full day. The shorter days help me say pace through the day. One negative thing I don t like about this school is the monthly testing requirements. I understand why we have them however, I do agree for the reason we have them. I feel like they should lower them because it is stressful. I personally don t do very well under pressure of meeting a requirement. I do love being a part of this school. I can say that I ve made some amazing friends that I enjoy being around. I ve also made good relationships with my teacher and in addition other teachers too. I m glad I ve moved to this school this year, and I look forward to being a part of this school. -Reagan Hughes

Willow Bend Academy 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a student
Willow Bend Academy is one of the best schools that i have ever attended. The main reason that I came to this school is because I really was not making much progress in my old school. I did not think that I would enjoy Willow Bend Academy because it was a school that you basically work four hours straight. It turns out that I was wrong. I ended up loving their method of schooling. This school has helped me manage my time for both school and my personal life. I feel like I am a far more efficient person now. These time management skills will greatly help me for college and the rest of my life. Willow Bend Academy offers a wide range of courses that you can take. The school is is unique because they fit the curriculum to the student, and not the student to the curriculum. I came to this school with a great struggle in Mathematics. Thanks to the amazing teaching that i received, I have been making straight A's in Math for three years. Every single course that I have taken has been fit to my style of learning. You can rest assured that your child will be receiving a quality education if you enroll him or her in Willow Bend Academy. -William Merrill

Nearby schools

Willow Bend Academy
2220 Coit Road, Plano, TX  75075
(972) 599-7882
Last modified Willow Bend Academy is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Top