Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Otto Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Our child displays good respect for his teachers and his family, so I presume Otto has done well to foster this attitude.

Otto Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Otto promotes a good balance between academics, overall fitness, and affinity for music and the arts.


Otto Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Mr. G, Mr. Ohlig, Ms. Furlong and Ms. Dean are among the ones that have made great impact on our child. Thank you for your hard work.

Otto Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are able to engage the students and are able to motivate them to really absorb the subject on hand, and learn to apply these to real life situations.

Otto Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Homework volume is just right to keep the students engaged on the topic discussed in the classroom.


Otto Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are able to communicate at a level that evokes competitiveness in the student, and a desire to be excellent.

Otto Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak for my child - he is very adamant not to ever lie, to act consistently with his values, and to be fair in all situations.

Otto Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
I would say it is one of the best middle school in the East Plano Area. My daughter attended all 6th, 7th and 8th grades here and she loved it. Teachers are nice and highly experienced. She comes home having learned something new everyday. Recently, their 6th grade Whiz Quiz team won first in the district tournament. The 7th grade basketball team also won the District Basketball Tournament. The school is constantly getting better and I believe many parents would agree with me on this. Overall, we are happy with this school and its environment is friendly.


Otto Middle School 4

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
You must realize that this school is still learning as it is going into its second year. It is great for us as parents to see where there are deficiencies, but we should be on the PTA and other auxiliaries so we can voice our concerns. Speak up at the school or school board meetings about what changes you think should be implemented. Booing on the sidelines is not going to help the school. We as parents must also do our part. If you noticed possible hazards to the children and staff that should have been brought to the schools attention or better yet you should have contacted the city. We all would like the principal to be at all events, but unfortunately I'm sure he cannot. If you noticed a pattern why not talk to him directly about it. We should want to support and encourage not only our children, but the school staff. I'm sure they are trying their best and hopefully the changes you desire will come about soon.

Otto Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a community member
Pretty good, for your average public school. There is chances to be involved in extracurriculars such as cheerleading, football, and tennis, while still giving opportunities to highly gifted kids in advanced classes. Kids there are a mix: socioeconomically, racially, intelligence-wise. Otto is as a whole, a very good school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Otto Middle School
504 North Star Road, Plano, TX  75074
(469) 752-8500
Last modified Otto Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Otto Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top