Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K, 3-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Creek Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
A positive educational environment where students can pursue academic excellence while pursuing personal excellence in their dreams for their future.

Spring Creek Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
We are in our second year at SCA, and I am rating the amount of homework as "just right". If I had been asked during the first 6 months we were there I would have said the homework was "too much". The homework was one of the more difficult adjustments for my daughter when we transitioned from public school. As a quick learner, she always completed "homework" in class and never had to study (even in her honors classes) and so having hours of homework and needing to study for tests was new to her. During her first year at SCA, weekly writing assignments were the biggest challenge, but her writing ability and grammar mastery grew tremendously. This year, she has really been challenged by Science and perhaps for the first time had to really learn how to study. We are pleased that she is being challenged, and she has adjusted to meet the challenges, while learning organizational, time management, and study skills in the process.


Spring Creek Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
There is no way for a student to manage the challenging, accelerated curriculum at SCA and a full extra-curricular schedule without developing persistence and determination.

Spring Creek Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
SCA has created a caring community, not just a school. Without exception, when I walk into the office I am met with a warm welcome and smiling faces. The staff knows the students by name and encourages and supports their extra-curricular activities. You will often find a post on the FB school's page in support of a group of students at an important event.

Spring Creek Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
One of the things I love about SCA is the systems and rules that apply to both teachers and students. Teachers are required to have their assignments for the upcoming week posted online on Sunday along with grades from the prior week's work. Students have two days to make up work and tests missed due to absences. The systems and rules are clearly spelled out and fairly applied. Cheating is absolutely not tolerated, and any suspected cheating is investigated as a serious matter.


Spring Creek Academy 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is finishing her second year at SCA, and we are very happy with the school. She was previously enrolled in a public middle school in Plano and was not academically challenged, even in her honors classes, and even when she missed school extensively for her extra-curricular activities. The accelerated curriculum at SCA has challenged her, and we are quite pleased with how her writing ability has improved. The writing requirements in both English and History are extensive.

Spring Creek Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a student
It used to but not now. You have to have an atmosphere of compassion, caring and empathy to develop it in your students.

Spring Creek Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a student
TONS of kids cheat. TONS. They try to crack down on stuff, but they pretty much are way behind the students. A few years ago, kids wouldn't ever cheat because they cared about being part of the school, but now that its not being run by the original lady (who really cared about everything) then the kids don't care either. Now the administration tries to make all these rules but the kids are way smarter than they are.


Spring Creek Academy 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is preparing for her second year at SCA, and we couldn't be happier. Zero complaints. We were worried that she would sacrifice the strong academics she was used to at a very tough private school that left her little time for training in her sport. This proved to be no worry and in fact with the small class size is given leeway to move ahead. It is so wonderful to have a peer group also at the highest levels of their chosen sport, or music, dance etc ...each of them understand they are on a personal journey that requires dedication and hard work. SCA makes it possible for these talented kids to have a real school life as well and excel with additional hours of training. I have been perplexed by the negative reviews.....some sour grapes for sure. If the child is not prepared to work hard and keep up, this isn't the right place for your child. These are highly motivated, driven students. So glad to have found this school!

Spring Creek Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I can't thank SCA enough for the help and understanding. They have been able to allow my child to pursue a dream and develop as a young adult while receiving a great education. This school will not buckle to students that think they are entitled because of parent finances. This school continues to develop students that are able to stand on their own and take on life with confidence. This is not a traditional school and it is not designed for students that are looking for traditional surroundings. This school is designed for a special type of student that is focused. I read the previous reviews and wander why those students that have had issue continue to go for multiple years because this is a school that is a choice not mandatory.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spring Creek Academy
6000 Custer Rd Bldg 5, Plano, TX  75023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (972) 517-6730
Last modified Spring Creek Academy is a Private school that serves grades K, 3-12
Top