Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
100 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Yorktown, we want your child to have a fulfilling and inspiring life. So we take a dramatically different approach to their education. And it’s working. Because our students are excelling at levels that traditional schools simply can’t deliver. Our education model is student-centered, which means each individual student progresses according to their own accomplishments - academically, socially, personally. From the development of custom curriculum, to the integration of personal interests and a flexible cohort-based campus environment, every detail is designed to teach students to discover and do what they love. The result? Higher achievement. And ultimately, happy, engaged, fulfilled children and young adults. And - when we fulfill our vision - a peaceful, more prosperous world for the next generation.
May 05, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yorktown Education
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Ajmera is just the best! She is tough, but fair. She uses common sense and has a great ideas for instilling responsibility and respect from the students.

Yorktown Education
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
There isn't "homework" per se. In public school, we saw a lot of "busy work" being sent home as homework. Here, I see homework when my child hasn't completed his actual assignments he was to do in class. They are given time to complete work, but if your child doesn't complete it, they have to finish at home. It isn't often, but it does happen.


Yorktown Education
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Yes - they are expected to respect the teachers, however, this school also focuses on critical thinking. For that reason, many students question authority as well. Not necessarily in a rude manner, but they are not taught to be little robots.

Yorktown Education
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Because the classes are so small, the students learn to get along with one another regardless of their differences. They also have programs throughout the year to highlight different charitable organizations and educate them on other cultures.

Yorktown Education
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
This school isn't about doing better than someone else, but doing your personal best. Because it isn't a competition, there just isn't the need to cheat. They also spend time on what they call "life skills", where they actually explore these topics.


Yorktown Education 5

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
We just started our third year. It was such a good decision for us to move to Yorktown. My kids are doing great and are happy. The class sizes are small and my kids get individual attention they need. If they struggle in one subject, they devote time to getting them to where they need to be. If they excel at another subject, they let them fly and give them the tools to advance as fast as they need to advance.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Yorktown Education recognizes that each child is unique, with special talents and gifts in certain areas, and also identifies those learning areas that need additional support. The school, its administration, and its incredibly talented teaching staff all work together toward these aims. This incredible vision for teaching our children in the best way for each of them is followed by every representative of the school. Best of all, the students see the value in this process and help one another rather than trying to defeat their competition. Yorktown provides a customized, supportive, and excellent learning environment.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted August 10, 2016
- a parent
My son goes to Yorktown . He loves his teachers and has been able to learn and advance at a more rapid pace .


Yorktown Education 5

Posted August 09, 2016
- a parent
My son just graduated with college credit. He love school so much he did not want to leave. A lot of his classmates had full ride college scholarships and that are all going to the first choice college.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
At Yorktown, we want your child to have a fulfilling and inspiring life. So we take a dramatically different approach to their education. And it’s working. Because our students are excelling at levels that traditional schools simply can’t deliver. Our education model is student-centered, which means each individual student progresses according to their own accomplishments - academically, socially, personally. From the development of custom curriculum, to the integration of personal interests and a flexible cohort-based campus environment, every detail is designed to teach students to discover and do what they love. The result? Higher achievement. And ultimately, happy, engaged, fulfilled children and young adults. And - when we fulfill our vision - a peaceful, more prosperous world for the next generation.
Posted May 05, 2016

Nearby schools

Yorktown Education
5170 Village Creek Drive, Plano, TX  75093
(972) 733-0800
Last modified Yorktown Education is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top