Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The posts of February 18, 2013 and February 28, 2013 look like they are from the same person. Yorktown's ACT and SAT test scores are in the top 1% of schools in the United States, Yorktown does this while accepting students enrolling with average test scores. To accomplish these exemplary increases, Yorktown runs a calm, comforting, encouraging environment that requires well behaved children AND parents. We also require work with a moderate flexible schedule. Unfortunately, not all students work, and students or parents may misbehave, and refuse to learn to behave. It would not be fair to the vast majority of well behaved students to allow this to continue. Students or parents who continue to misbehave must continue their schooling elsewhere. We also respect the privacy of our parents and students and require them to respect others. As a policy the school does not comment on parents or students who have been expelled.
August 27, 2013

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yorktown Education 4

Posted November 14, 2013
- a teacher
Yorktown, from a teacher's perspective, allows educators to truly guide the students through the material while they learn autonomy. Students come with a base knowledge that requires some examples, needs reinforcement for good behavior, and shows they desire more education from various sources. Educators at Yorktown have a variety of materials to show personal connections that create a connection from the knowledge to the student. We have the time that is needed to guide the students through the material.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Before attending Yorktown, a prestigious public high school program for talented and gifted students accepted my kid. It did not take too long for him to find out the stereotype program was not a fit. In his own words: it was more of a game of survival rather than a gateway to success. We were so fortunate to find Yorktown Education. The classes are structured to enable students and teachers to create an individualized learning plan so my kid could work on his own pace. He is able to take college classes while earning HS credits. The school staffs are very supportive of any type of help students may need. During the college application process, the school provided all the documents and personalized recommendations at timely manner, which enabled my kid to take early actions to apply some prestigious colleges. More impressively, the school provides many other opportunities outside of the classroom, such as travelling to D.C., state capital, local museums and festivals at low and no cost to the students. These educational trips really broadened the students view and knowledge of the world. This is a great school for students who are self-discipline with passion to succeed.


Yorktown Education 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a teacher
Yorktown Education allows each student to excel in their unique talents and abilities, and thoroughly educates students to problem solve and achieve goals with subjects they have difficulty in.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Nice polite kids, open and accepting. School ranks in the top 1% nationally on SAT and ACT score with an open academic admissions policy. Never heard of another school doing that! Our kids can complete 60 credits (two years) of college work done while in high school. They have over 400 college courses to chose from and have a 3.8 grade point average while still in high school. This school really caters to students who want to get ahead and succeed regardless of natural ability. When students focus on a special area they get preferred admissions and scholarships. Last year Yorktown graduates averaged over $150,000 in college credit and scholarships. I don't think we will keep that up but this is still the best school in Texas. The big flaw is they focus on our kids future and do not have a football team.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
Yorktown Education provides an atmosphere in which students are encouraged to develop to their fullest potential. The customized, self-paced curriculum combined with teacher instruction and guidance enables each student to succeed. There are trips to area museums, golf outings, and community service projects throughout the year that help foster a sense of school wide community.


Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
Yorktown Education is a school that is like none other. The number one focus is learning. Whether students are learning core subject concepts from the online component of the curriculum, how osmosis works in the science lab, how to build a sculpture out of clay, or how to model and 3D print an object, they are encouraged at every step. Not only do the students learn a wide variety of information and skills, but as a teacher I am also encouraged to expand my knowledge of the subjects I teach and incorporate new technology. Students are generally well-behaved and take learning seriously while still having a good time. This is the third school I have taught at and it has been the most enjoyable, enriching, and supportive environment by far.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a teacher
I am a first year teacher at Yorktown Education. My experience thus far has been very gratifying. The students are motivated and eager to learn. They are respectful and polite and a joy to teach. Yorktown Education truly is a prestigious school!

Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
An amazing place to soar and reach your true potential. Students are encouraged to move ahead in their studies and are not held back by traditional grade levels. We have students as young as 14 taking college courses.


Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This school has truly been the best thing we ever did for my two children. They are able to move at their own pace, they love their teachers, and are happy to get up and go to Yorktown every day. They tell me these are the best teachers they have ever had. They enjoy learning and having other children that like learning around them. This would not be the place for kids who cannot work at their own pace and will not behave. Bullying and rude behavior is unacceptable here and that also makes me happy.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Yorktown Education is a wonderful environment that goes out of its way to support the students that attend. It provides a fantastic rigorous education within a kinder gentler environment with a lot of one on one and personal attention. The school has excellent teachers and staff who work hard to support students in their endeavors. The school encourages students to follow their dreams by helping create electives that give them real world experience such as internships. I highly recommend Yorktown.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yorktown Education
5170 Village Creek Drive, Plano, TX  75093
(972) 733-0800
Last modified Yorktown Education is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Yorktown Education Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top