Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-12|Private
100 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The posts of February 18, 2013 and February 28, 2013 look like they are from the same person. Yorktown's ACT and SAT test scores are in the top 1% of schools in the United States, Yorktown does this while accepting students enrolling with average test scores. To accomplish these exemplary increases, Yorktown runs a calm, comforting, encouraging environment that requires well behaved children AND parents. We also require work with a moderate flexible schedule. Unfortunately, not all students work, and students or parents may misbehave, and refuse to learn to behave. It would not be fair to the vast majority of well behaved students to allow this to continue. Students or parents who continue to misbehave must continue their schooling elsewhere. We also respect the privacy of our parents and students and require them to respect others. As a policy the school does not comment on parents or students who have been expelled.
August 27, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yorktown Education 2

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughters transcript was a joke. Her classes at Yorktown were taught by teachers she could never find. Her language class with Rosetta Stone didn't teach her anything. Thank goodness I knew math to teach her.

Yorktown Education
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
We always have at least one teacher per room who can reset or try to help out a kid.


Yorktown Education
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
If you do your work on time during the day you shouldn't have homework but if you dont finish on time then you might have a few assignments to finish. Usually a day's work is 3-4 quizzes a day if not less, depending upon the class and schedule.

Yorktown Education
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
The schools motto is "Do What You Love" which encourages kids to achieve their goals. We are partners with Collin College which allows the kids to go beyond their grade level and experience college life.

Yorktown Education
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
We respect one another and the teachers respect the kids, the discipline is just depending upon the offense.


Yorktown Education
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
The older students look out for the younger ones and mentor them when they move up a level.

Yorktown Education
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a student
In my experience my friends were there to help me out if I needed it, this school is like a second family to me and if you are willing to be part of that family they will accept you with open arms.

Yorktown Education 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a student
I attended Yorktown Education and found that if you need a grade check or help, the teachers are there to help. It is a great school for people who are willing to do the work required. The staff are nice and willing to help. It's at your own pace, which worked for me (don't be fooled though you still have to do the work on time). I would highly recommend this school, it was like a second family for me, supportive the whole way through.


Yorktown Education 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a community member
The value of this degree is nonexistent. Most of the students in my son's graduating class transferred out and the only attending college dropped out. They receive no attention and the teachers do not seem to care. In addition cheating off of google is incredibly prevalent. Please do not waste your money.

Yorktown Education 3

Posted February 08, 2015
- a community member
Yorktown edu is a great place for smaller children. They have great teachers and fun activities, but severely neglect the upper school (mainly the high school). With limited space, new teacher popping up every year, and a dishonest promise of being able to 'move ahead' from your starting level. The math teacher is always on a smoke break, and the english teacher likes to take weeks off and get our finals off of spark notes. This school is great for elementary aged children, but not very supportive of anyone higher than that. I've been told by the staff that they're doing "all we can do to get the younger ones in. That's what we really want." So, in my opinion, get your kids out once they hit 12. - A student

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yorktown Education
5170 Village Creek Drive, Plano, TX  75093
(972) 733-0800
Last modified Yorktown Education is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Yorktown Education Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top