Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plano Isd Academy High School 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I am more impressed with this school each time I walk in it. It is highly student led, the facilitators are very engaged and supportive and the kids are eager about their educations. The Academy is not your typical public school experience--much more like a private school.

Plano Isd Academy High School 2

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
This school is ok. I would much rather send my kid to a normal high school. This school does not prepare you for college at all. There are no exams whatsoever. I know some people may think that's good. Exams aren't fun but after all they will only help you in the long run. The staff in teachers are very nice and the building is clean. However, this school has a lot of bullying and harassment included in it. Think twice before you send your kid to this school.


Plano Isd Academy High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Facilitators are the best, they all have their own style, they all bring things down to discuss with the students, and they all are major parts of the Academy family and culture. Shoutout to Mr. Barasch.

Plano Isd Academy High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Homework isn't exactly a thing, we have an abundance of assignments and obligations to keep, though most of what we do is a bit more complicated than traditional worksheets and essays. It's a hectic way to work, but the facilitators and ourselves make it clear what we have to get done to get through a project and a year of school. We do have all of our stuff assigned through Canvas, but all the facilitators get as much of their content in as they can, sometimes competing with the others to give us the skills for an blowout presentation day and future job.

Plano Isd Academy High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Projects, projects, projects. If you run into trouble in a project your team and facilitators will all help you out, and you keep working at it until you find your personalities and strengths. You just keep working at it, make the best of yourself, and really work with the people around you. The skills that come about from the rigorous project workload and curriculum are based in real work, effort, and determination on the part of everyone. Just works.


Plano Isd Academy High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
There's nothing that makes you respect the things of the world and the people offering them than going out and doing it yourself. The older kids have internship opportunities, the younger can look up and interact with the upperclassmen, and there's so much back and forth with all the students that you can't help but appreciate some things. Every student has the experience of working in teams with their peers, as well as the hardships and eventual comforting. It's hard to not have a bit of respect for the people all around you who are unique, striving, and trying to make something of themselves. That's the kind of place it is at Academy.

Plano Isd Academy High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
The staff and facilitators all really reach out and try to accommodate them in this new school. There's a staff driven relationship with the students that really make the school a better place to come to and dedicate yourself to. I think I can safely say that a student here takes care of themselves, their peers, and vice versa as well as with the facilitators. The community is really close with everybody yet professional enough to function.

Plano Isd Academy High School 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
Maxed out wall of text ahead. Student here, finished up first year as of 2015 so I thought I'd leave this overviewessay here for all the newbies to this amazing place. There really isn’t that much information out there, the school being new and all, but look up the school website and PISD info for more formal points. There’s a FB page as well for the Academy Titans. I can’t say enough how special this school is though, the learnerfacilitator relationship affects the school life so deeply that a lot of what I’m writing may very well be outdated, as the current form of the school is still forming in every moment. Now to set the table for those new to the school, there’s a huge focus on STEAM, interdisciplinary curriculum, team projects all day every day, and interactions inside and outside the school community. You can’t understand until you experience it, but the school life resembles a mix between an open workplace and a pretty irregular classroom because of how the barriers physical and perceptual work in the school community. Personally this year was a stressful one since, by nature, I'm prone to anxiety and taking things seriously. Even so, I learned to swim not literally but someday, had fun with everybody, and made the most of fellow peers/teammates of dubious maturity. Everybody is in the same boat teachers and office workers too so there’s no shortage of people to both help and work against you when a problem comes up. Oh boy do the problems come up during a project though, you really have to learn and deploy by trial1, error2, review3, and just a bit of the good old blood, sweat, and tears. 1Google-fu skills, neverending decision making, improvising, and interpreting the implications of ‘that’ suspicious sentence. 2Bungee cords flying around you goggles on, safety first, project deliverables that met an unfortunate end from said bungee cord, team complications, and of course forgetting some vital step in an assignment. 3Trying not to laugh at your friends or their work, recognizing flaws in hindsight, and putting your thoughts into words to help initiate well-needed personal development as well as some development as a community. Loved the time spent with my teams, facilitators, peers, and all that time that went into learning how to really make something. Thanks to facilitators and all the office staff for the hard work. DC the now 2nd year


Plano Isd Academy High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a student
There's a very clear distinction that gets drilled into you from day one, you have team mates and facilitators as your resources- and expectations to fulfill for all of them in turn. There's a focus on teamwork at school, and it's very relevant to everyone's interests to work together no matter what, and to work out problems through the means you have. This can lead to a less-than-pure approach from a strictly conservative viewpoint, but it's very useful indeed when you can bring quality deliverables while asking yourself how you could reduce your workload by things like the magic Google machine, on the fly group decisions, and even bugging the older (and younger kids) for input on things that they've most likely worked on. The environment is perfect for making sure that a student values and appreciates qualities like being reliable and honest in a professional capacity while learning and living your high school life.

Plano Isd Academy High School 5

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
My son started as a freshman and will be the first graduating class for all four years. The first year adjusting to the new style of learning is steep, but he has flourished. It does require self discipline and maturity to do well. I love the teaching style; I believe it prepares them well for college and the work place. Basically students are taught a concept, placed in groups and assigned a project to apply it all. They learn to work with others, and that not everyone will pull their weight, and how to work it out (just like life). They help one another and work from strengths. He is getting a fantastic education, loves school and will be amply prepared for college. My daughter will be starting in the Fall and we couldn't be happier. This is the learning style of the future. You must know your kid before sending them here; it is for the enthusiastic "learner", as lazy students will soon be uncovered and shunned for group projects.

Nearby schools

Plano Isd Academy High School
1701 Alma Drive, Plano, TX  75075
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (972) 905-8100
Last modified Plano Isd Academy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top