Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 2

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
The Senior Director Mrs. Davis is Great at the Mesquite Campus but the rest of the staff I can't say the same. It seem as though the superintendent is all about money due to the enormous class sizes, its to many children in a class room in order to have a credible learning environment. With that being said when its all about the money and no longer about the kids I don't see the schools success lasting to long. To many Chiefs and not enough indians I'm sure pretty soon legacy will be the equivalent of DISD. So if you want your child to get a quality education don't bring them here. You would be better off taking them elsewhere. Now I see why they want to close charter schools down its apparently due to thrown together schools like this.

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Chara Rollins. A great teacher who inspires scholars to be well behaved and do their best in everything.


Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
Their strong emphasis on promoting their STRR (Safety, Trust, Respect and Responsibility) culture through out the year

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 5

Posted June 23, 2015
- a community member
My girls love Legacy and look forward to school. Teachers are awesome !!! Looking forward to next year!!

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
This school sucks they didn't do anything when they had so many problems invloving drugs and bullying


Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 1

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
There were drugs and the principle didn't do anything about it until the end of the year and bullying was active as well I don't know about the other Plano and Dallas campus but mesquite has a legacy too and the principle promised the school so many things but didn't do anything and only 2-4 people passed out of all the campuses in Plano,mesquite and Dallas. Thus shouldn't have any stars at all

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Our kiddos have loved it! Super wonderful teachers, lots of art, music and outdoor time and our fav... A garden!

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
I am the parent of a Junior High scholar who attends LPCA. Although our time there has been short, we have experienced teachers who genuinely care about the scholars in their classrooms. The emphasis on learning is evident everywhere you turn, even outdoors. It is amazing the transformation which is taking place in the garden area behind the school. Eventually when the garden is complete, it will be a place where the scholars can go and study and explore nature and learn about how nature evolves in a garden setting. I am proud to say that my scholar loves going to school and learning at LPCA. For those of you who may be reading this and wondering why I keep saying "scholar" verses student, it is because students at LPCA are not called "students" they are referred to as scholars.


Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Though we have only had our son enrolled at LPCA a few months, I have been quite pleased with the change. Most importantly, we now have a child who actually looks forward to school each day. Sadly, the ISD world we transferred from seemed powerless to eliminate the hostile learning environment our child endured. I don t blame the teachers for what we suffered, as their hands are essentially tied . Thankfully, with LPCA being a charter school, they are not bound by the same rules of engagement as the ISD. Though it is a new and growing school, it has a very different method of teaching and our child is now thriving. At LPCA there is a very strong focus on technology, engineering, and math which has been amazing. The teachers I have interacted with have proven to be nothing short of awesome and dedicated. I feel confident they will play an important part in the educational success our child enjoys now, and in the future. After all, they focus on more than the here and now; they are out to level the playing field on a much larger scale. With focus on science, technology, engineering, and math; students are being equipped to succeed as they move on college.

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy 4

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
This school was awarded Distinction in Science and Distinction in College and Career Readiness by Texas Education Agency

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy
601 Accent Drive, Plano, TX  75075
(469) 206-2250
Last modified Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Legacy Preparatory Charter Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top