Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carpenter Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
They have several groups in different grades geared towards this, other incentives also. I feel this is a big priority for them.

Carpenter Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers care so much! Everything they do is geared towards helping kids succeed. They know they have a negative image and are constantly working to correct it. I'm proud to support them!


Carpenter Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
I don't think this school cares anything about the students. Not for their safety not for their education. Seems like it's there for a paycheck to the city .

Carpenter Middle School 2

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
This WAS an amazing school. I had two kids attend. When my oldest attended the school was well organized, the staff was amazing, the students were respectful for the most part. Now, it's just one big circus. They had to add security, which is a big red flag. The staff is horrible and has no control over the students, in fact, the staff acts like a bunch of kids. There is no authority whatsoever. The school is overcrowded. It's such a shame to see what the school has become. There are a few good teachers who still care enough to stay but most of the great ones have left.

Carpenter Middle School 1

Posted June 07, 2013
- a community member
Do NOT ever, and I mean EVER, send your child here. The kids are totally rude, the staff doesn't care less and they have all these rules that even they don't follow. The band program is terrible, Mr.Fabian the assistant band directer is completely rude to the kids, he discourages them and already 5 five people quit. The teachers don't do a good job at teaching, they give them a packet and say study and declare the test is next Tuesday. The food is terrible, the cheese tastes like plastic. The V.P is terrible too. If you love your child, don't send them here.


Carpenter Middle School 1

Posted February 23, 2013
- a community member
This school sucks. It has rude students who don't even pass the exams. It is very bad.

Carpenter Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a community member
This school is great, my name's Karen Garcia and im a Senior now, i went to Carpenter Middle School in 7th and 8th grade! Great school, when i went there, i didnt even know how to say hi in english and thanks to my ESL teachers, im speaking english right now!! Thanks a lot to my ESL teacher!

Carpenter Middle School 4

Posted January 30, 2011
- a community member
This is an amazing school. That should be all I have to say, but many would like me to embellish a bit. The PACE program is astounding, no kidding. I've been in it since sixth grade, and never once have I found it boring or even so-so. It's challenging, no lie. The teacher is amazing :) no kiddding, she cares so much about her students, and she's an inspiration to me for her love of history and her students. If you have a kid who's in GT, go here. There's a ton of kids in PACE at Carpenter, and my 8th grade class is pretty much like a family :) love 'em. I'm on the basketball team, and although the coaching could use some work, there's npt much fighting inside the team, and we're all pretty good friends :) no problems there. There IS a bit of a problem with bullying, but believe me, that's at no fault of the teachers. Honestly, I think it's just the students who fuel it, the teachers try their hardest. There's a lot of extra curriculars, (Jazz Band, PALS, [Peer Assistance, Leadership, and Support] Whiz Quiz, Theatre, Speech Competitions, EVERYTHING.) hahaha, but seriously, this school offers everything, you WILL find something you like. :)


Carpenter Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Outstanding staff and administration. Truly a family of caring and supportive parents, teachers and support staff. Both of my boys attended Carpenter, and had an amazing academic and social experience. Superb band program.

Carpenter Middle School 3

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
I am in 7th grade now, and hoping to be an eighth grader. I am sorry to say that Carpenter is not one of the best schools. There are too many "cliques" or "groups" that just get into trouble all the time, really, and many of them swear-- when i say swear, i mean SWEAR. I get very tired of it and I want it to stop. As I being prey in the bullying situation, I really think that we need better control over the student body. Many things are very wrong with this school, but we can make it better. Other than that, Carpenter does have an awesome Fine Arts Program. The teachers are great, the Principals are even better, and I love the coaches. The sports program is very vast, and many students take interest in this. I wish I could stop the fighting! Sincerely, A concerned student.

Nearby schools

Carpenter Middle School
3905 Rainier Road, Plano, TX  75023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (469) 752-5000
Last modified Carpenter Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top