Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hughston Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 374 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2013

I have 2 children at this school and both are thriving. My son is ADHD and the teachers could not be more understanding. They are caring and nurturing and know how to bring the best out of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

My Daughter has been going to this school for 4 years. she loves the it and so do I. When she started in kindergarten she had the greatest teachers they switched classes like they do in middle school they moved between 3 teachers for different subjects well not all the kids move they have the classes set up to where the kids who need more help get it, the kids who need to move faster and need to be challenged get it and the kids that are right where they need to be are not rushed or slowed down. I think it is a great set up I was a little concerned at 1st but it has been nothing but the best my daughter wants to get up and go to school. They have taught great study habits and every year just gets better. I have yet to meet a teacher that didn't go above and beyond we have our son at another elementary school in Plano (stepson they are in the same grade) and it just does compare to Hughston while they are working on the same things at about the same time I noticed that it just works better here. The class sizes are always at the allowed or under (not the same at the other school they are at least 5 more) I could go on but I have said enough It's a great school great Teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

Not the place for young kindergarten students. My son had a very difficult time adjusting. Several incidents of inappropriate decpline occured the last semster. For example, my son wasn't following directions on some artwork and the teacher thought the appropriate displine was to tear up his art, crumple it up, and throw it away while scolding him in front of the whole class......to a 5 yr old. We voiced are concerns to the principal and she never returned our message only to hand it back off to the teacher. The after school program is also not place for young -1st grade students. The front office thought after my son was sent to the office for misbehaving was to give him in school suspension of 3 hours. The punishment was basically to sit still for 3 hours doing nothing. Really? Not appropriate at all for a 5 yr old. The front desk staff is generally unprofessional. The program is very secretive about what they do and don't give you good details about day to day activites. They also don't let you see what happens where the kids play either. Makes you wonder. Just because a school is exemplary doesn't not meen that all grades are created equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

We were fortunate to live in the neighborhood without really knowing about the school. Our daughter is autistic and we were concerned what kind of experience she would have in public school. We had tried public for preschool and were for the most part horribly dissappointed. Hughston turned out to be a huge answer to prayer. Mrs. Collins addressed our concerns and helped our daughter to have an amazing first year. Each year after has been equally wonderful. She has blossomed before our eyes and is happy and well-adjusted. The staff is superior in every way. If someone feels their child is not getting the attention they need, then speak up! Your concerns will be addressed. There are many extracurricular activities and tons of ways to be involved. Far superior educational experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

We transferred into Hughston from Christie and are glad we did. Hughston's PACE program is exceptional and my son really looks forward to it. There are so many ways to get involved including the PTA and WatchDOGS (Dads of Great Students). The faculty is always responsive to questions and the prinicipal is really on top of her game. I feel very fortunate to have been able to transferred our son into this incredible school in such a fantastic school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I have many friends all over Plano and this school is highly cometitive with all of their schools curriculum. We transferred into this school and could not be more pleased. The Pace program has a great reputation, if you can't find extra activities and after school programs, than you are not trying very hard. I have looked at other schools and could not be more pleased. I know from personal experience that Hughston does their best to help fullfill each students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

My son who pays attention and always tries does well. But that is his personality. My daughter needs a little more guidance. She is not getting it...very frustrated. I might have to move or look into private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

This is school is older and a little run down. I thought my kids would have a nicer school given the amount we just paid for a house. Academically, it seems a little slow. My sons left a highly competitive gifted program and the PACE program here seems to let anyone in that is of even slightly above average intelligent. Our boys are not challenged like at their old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I am very impressed with the structure, learning tools and the curriculum at Hughston. It is evident in my daughter and in the material she brings home that not only is she learning but being prepared for future grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

My daughter attended this school in first grade. She had a very enjoyable year. Her love of school and learning increased. They do a great job of including fun along with learning. The teachers truly cared about how my child was doing academically and they tailored her classes to meet her academic level. For instance, my daughter was excelling in math so they moved her to a more advanced math class. She started the year struggling to read and ended the year reading 58 words per minute. My only complaint was with the math class. After they moved her to the advanced math class they seemed to work on the same math sheet day after day- the same 100 addition problems in the same order. If there was any creative instruction with math, it was not visible to me. My daughter seemed to stagnate with her math ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Exemplary all the way around - principal, staff, parent involvement, academic and extracurricular programs and learning atmosphere. High academic and citizenship expectations for students of all grades and abilities, accompanied by support and encouragement from a superb staff. Excellent leadership from a dedicated, experienced principal. Our older child was lovingly and completely prepared for middle school, and our younger child loves going to school and learning every day at Hughston. As parents, we enjoy good communication with the school staff and consider ourselves blessed to have our children educated at Hughston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

My child attended Hughston Elementary for the 4th and 5th grade. I found Hughston to provide a positive environment that encouraged creativity, a sound educational foundation and provided a nurturing environment for the children to flourish in. They challenged them and provided rich opportunities for academic as well as personal growth. I believe a huge testimony to the quality of the education and environment at Hughston is the involvement and success of the Destination Imagination program. For a single elementary school to have so many teams - and teams that were so successful (3 teams last year went to the national competition!) demonstrates the quality of the environment those children are learning in. I am grateful to Ms. Collins and to the 4th and 5th grade teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Great teachers, great administration, great everything. Prepared my son well for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

75 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

75 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

70 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

70 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education91%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female90%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education64%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female93%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education80%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female85%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female96%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female97%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education80%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female95%
Male82%
Black or African American63%
Asian60%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education71%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African American50%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education100%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 29%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 Cross Bend Road
Plano, TX 75023
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 752-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT