Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plano Senior High School 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a parent
Gee - like 90% of the kids at Plano Senior go to college. They have just about every AP course that is given (and what they develop and teach is used all over the US).

Plano Senior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers care. So why do I need 15 words to say the about. This is pretty silly.


Plano Senior High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 02, 2016
- a parent
The teachers push the students.... They come out prepared for most things in life. I guess I need one more word to post this.

Plano Senior High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers that helped prepare for academic competitions spent hours and hours with us after school and on the weekends.

Plano Senior High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Some of the AP classes have hours of homework every week, but the regular classes don't have that much homework.


Plano Senior High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Many students are involved in community projects on campus and in the city and county. My science class did a school improvement project.

Plano Senior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Students are held to a high level of academic integrity. My teachers were tough graders, but they were fair.

Plano Senior High School 5

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers were extremely helpful in class and especially helpful when we were getting ready to compete in state competition.


Plano Senior High School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
My 3 kids graduated from Plano. We came from Arlington at one of its best schools. Plano system was initially a tough adjustment. Over time, my kids scored above 2200 on SAT and scored well in their AP saving us college credits. The system works if you want your kid to be academically competitive. 30+ AP courses is exceptional. It has multiple band and orchestra levels giving a child interested in music a chance to learn. Great extracurriculars and amazing teachers with the right amount of devotion to athletics. I owe a lot to Plano.

Plano Senior High School 2

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
I feel the need to let others know the things that my daughter has been exposed to in this school. She has been exposed to bullying and segregation(not racial) in this school that is "overlooked" by a couple of the teachers. They seem to ignore things that are said and done to "lower classmen' byt the seniors in some of their extra curricular activities. I understand the normal teasing by upper classmen but being trated as less than human beings is not acceptable. They do not promote "teamwork" and the response from the principal was slow and the teachers were VERY defensive when asked about this. I would not recommend the extra currricular teams at this school-excluding the sports teams. I have no idea about the sports teams are managed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plano Senior High School
2200 Independence Parkway, Plano, TX  75075
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (469) 752-9300
Last modified Plano Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 11-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top