Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carlisle Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
This school has so many people that over and above that I feel as if I would be unfair to single out any one person however, Dr. Patrick has a special place for our family.

Carlisle Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
My grandchildren as challenged on a day by day basis to think, ponder and solve in all types of areas and I see positive results from the efforts put in place by their teachers.


Carlisle Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
There is enough sent home to help them learn to be responsible as an outside the school "thinking" situation, but not so much that the students do not have time to participate in after school activities.

Carlisle Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
On a day to day and student by student effort I have seen the leaders offer positive encouragement to help them learn that not every effort brings perfect success and they are helped to try again and again as needed.

Carlisle Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Carlisle was just awarded for the programs they have in place to show everyone at the school respect.


Carlisle Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are actively rewarded for their interactions with other students and they are taught to care for each other through this day by day program

Carlisle Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
There is an active program lead by the teachers and administrative staff to hold everyone accountable for the actions and interactions of the daily life at Carlisle

Carlisle Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
I have two grandchildren attending this school with one in second and one in first grade to give me first hand experience with the programs, educators, office staff, specialist, and administrative entities. In each case starting with the principal, Dr. Linda Patrick, to the office staff, Cindy and Paula, I can tell you there is an extra effort extended to one and all that is rarely seen in any working environment. I watched Dr. Patrick offer a cute but motivating reward to the student body and when they achieved the goal she was right there to show them her support. She had challenged them to meet a goal that would bring electronic into the school for their benefit and told them she would do the "chicken dance" in front of the weekly assembly if they met the challenge. They did and she did, but she did this with such a positive fun attitude and projected so much fun, that the whole student body was up with her. That takes a lot of courage as an adult to show that even the people in charge are capable of leading them into fun situations while doing a good turn for the school as well as for the student body. I have seen through my personal experience during my volunteer work this attitude is woven through out the rest of the educators involved with the students so my comment is a big thumbs up for Carlisle Elementary School in Plano, Tx.


Carlisle Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
We have been pleasantly surprised with the school. There are enrichment activities both during the school day and before/after school. My children are excited to attend, feel no test pressure and enjoy school. Both made great gains over the course of the last school year. This is very much a neighborhood school, with great involvement and engagement - without being over the top.

Carlisle Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
We love Carlisle! I have a great relationship with my son's 2nd grade teacher, the principal, and the Instructional Support Specialists! It takes an active parent to advocate for their child--parents have to be involved! As a member of the PTA, volunteering is one of the best ways I stay involved with the school. We are sad that it is time for my daughter to leave Carlisle--as she will be going on to Schimelpfenig next year--she has loved her time at Carlisle (K-5)!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlisle Elementary School
6525 Old Orchard Drive, Plano, TX  75023
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (469) 752-0600
Last modified Carlisle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top