Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Plano, TX
Students enrolled: 550
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school with great teachers. The school has a strong reputation for higher level learning and is considered one of the top elementary schools in Plano.

Mathews Elementary School 4

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
This school used to be one of the best till the new Principal came, she is uninvolved, doesn't know all the students, very indifferent, academic progress has slowed and there is not enough motivation from her. She hardly ever visits the classrooms, and is mostly missing from the campus. Teachers on the other hand, are wonderful, highly qualified and very caring. A lot of involvement and help from parents. The rest of the staff is great. If only, there was a better manager in a good Principal like the one before her !
2 people found this helpful


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
Mathews is a fantastic school with amazing teachers! The staff really cares about the students. The parents are very involved. The students are challenged academically, and there are a number of advanced programs and afterschool activities to enhance the children's education.

Mathews Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
We love our school because of the caring and nurturing staff. The edcuation program stimulates each child to reach their individual potential.

Mathews Elementary School 4

Posted June 24, 2010
- a community member
Mathews Elementary School is a great school. Both my daughters attended and one of my daughters was diagnosed with dyslexia. Teachers were very quick to identify the problem and set forth a plan for the entire 5 years. Through this program, my daughter learned different techniques to obtain the material being taught in class and prepared her for Middle/High School.


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school...My daughter attends, the teachers are excellent, very advanced for her age...alot of credit given to this school.

Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
Mathews is a school with teachers who care about their students success. The students are appropriately challenged and the school strives to meet all of the children's needs. Thumbs up to Mathews.

Mathews Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 13, 2007
- a parent
This is an amazing school. I have had one child completly go thru it and another is in fifth grade and has been there since kindergarden. They are incredibly bright due to the Incredibly dedicated teachers. Fabulous PTA programs also. Very diverse school, all cultures represented here. TAKS scores are incredible, and the teachers care! I have a Adhd child and they have helped me tremendously with her. Same Principal and she is for real. All Teachers are A+++.


Mathews Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2004
- a parent
Great school with a great program.

Mathews Elementary School 3

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
I think Matthews is a pretty good school for mainstream learning kids. For kids who learn differently, with dyslexia in particular, I would reconsider. Unfortunately Matthews does not follow the guidelines in the district's own 'Dyslexia Handbook'. The school s method of operation is to simply drag its feet in providing adequate help to these kids. Because this is such an affluent district with highly educated parents, most families in this position, realizing that time is so critical for overcoming Dyslexia and most learning differences, refuse to waste critical months and years fighting the system and thus choose private schools. There are several districts in the surrounding area, Allen being one, who use the proven Alpha Phonics reading program with Dyslexic students. We have been disapointed that a 'Blue Ribbon School' like Matthews does not offer an 'Exemplary Education' for all students. We would have settled for adequate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mathews Elementary School
7500 Marchman Way, Plano, TX  75025
(469) 752-2300
Last modified Mathews Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mathews Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top