Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brinker Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 711 students

 
 

Living in Plano

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $338,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

My son is in the 1st grade here at Brinker, and I am extremely disappointed. We moved here in early 2013 and initially we got off to a good start. At the end of Kinder my son was reading at a above second grade level, and was above where he needed to be in math and writing. He was praised and being a good, smart kid. His Kinder teacher was wonderful! When 1st grade began, so did the problems. He immediately began having issues s with other students, and issues with his teacher..which has NEVER happened before. He had been labeled, and put into the bad student category. I agree with the previous comments regarding lack of parent-teacher communication. A decision was made to change my sons schedule with me or my husband being consulted first. Preference is given to specific children (The ones with PTA Moms, and Room Volunteers) and the remainder (the ones with working parents) of the kids are treated like throw aways. This will be our last year at Brinker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Both of my children go here, my oldest is in 2nd now and youngest in K. I don't know what other parents are talking about w/ lack of parent/teacher communication because I get emails from their teachers before school starts, during, and after school is closed! These teachers (the 4 my children have had combined) have truly been amazing! The amount of work & attention they put into their job during hours and after hours has been very impressive to me! My oldest has been struggling with dyslexia (I did not know) and these teachers figured it out! He went from making 1/10 on spelling tests to now 10/10 WITH dyslexia. My youngest has asthma and his teacher has been VERY caring in watching over him all year and emailing me with updates on how he is feeling on days his asthma flares up. In my opinion my boys have had the BEST teachers and the BEST experiences here at Brinker and it's going to be hard for any other schools or teachers to top their performance when we have to move! My boys have loved every teacher they have had here and so have I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

We are new to the school this year and my son is in 1st grade. We have only been in school for 3 weeks, but I see area of improvement already. First of all, I agree with some of the other parents that complained about parent-teacher communication or lack there of. My son has been given a lot of homework for a first grader and seems to be struggling a bit with it. If he has a hard time at home, than he must be having a hard time in class as well. So far, it has yet to be observed... But granted we have only been in session for 3 weeks. Other than that I'm pretty pleased with the school (so far). I like that they recently added classes to go for less students per class. The teacher seems very nice, and my son is adjusting well. He's always happy when he learns new things, and meets new people. My only other concern is the openings in the doors. Why did Plano need to have their schools like that with classrooms not having any doors? I hope they overturn this decision and place doors in the classrooms in the foreseeable future. And does anybody here know if they will acquire smart boards in the future as well? Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Very disappointed. Extremely poor communication between teacher and parent.After repeatedly reminding the teacher that I am not receiving emails from her the problem has still not been fixed.Preferential treatment.When my child complained of a headache the whole day was ignored by the teacher.Got a call in 15 minutes from the daycare after she reached saying she was running a high temperature.Prior to this school, my child attended CFB-ISD and the parent school communication,interaction was much higher than this place.Pity our tax dollars are getting so little return from this place for being in such an affluent neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

My son has loved this school for the last 3 years. Its a safe fun school good parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

Our family moved to the Brinker area as a corporate transfer, and we chose our area quickly. We knew Brinker was a good school, but are constantly surprised by what a great school it is. The teachers are caring and communicative, our children are challenged, and we all feel safe and welcome. The classrooms themselves are a little crowded, but class size is about the same as most public schools in the USA and I have never felt that my children have been lost in the crowd. I am looking forward to having a bit more space after their renovations in Spring 2013. For what it is worth, the lunches are certainly above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I have been at Brinker for many years off and on. I currently have 3 children in 1st, 2nd and 4th grades. I have to say I am extremely pleased with this school year. All 3 of my teachers are quite communicative and I so appreciate it. They are all open to questions and concerns. My kids are thriving and I am very happy. Our PTA is wonderful and large and we will always need more involvement. We do have a lot of kids but we're figuring it out as a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I have been at Brinker for more than 2 years now, I currently have 2 children in 1st and 4th grades. I love this school, the teachers, the principal is really open for listening. Our PTA is wonderful, off course we will always need more involvement. We do have a lot of kids but we're figuring it out as a community. I'm very pleased by the curriculum my kids are receiving in here. All places have something to be improve but for sure Brinker es a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Extremely disappointing!!!! My son started in second grade and has been there for 3 years now and the bullying started in second grade. I blame myself for the first year as I dismissed the name calling as "kids being kids" and just spoke to my son about it and informed him that he isn't the one with the issue and we should pray for the kids that don't know better. When he came home in 3rd grade with his spirit totally broken because a 5th grader had called him names, I had it. What made it worse, the school knew about it and had the kid write an apology note to my son, but did not inform me or the other parents that it had occured. Once I notified them that I was aware of it and highly upset that he was being bullied they acted concerned, told me they had a no tolerance rule and it would be handled. This was after the fact but I still had hopes that they would do something to encourage the students build each other up instead of tear each other down but when asking the counselor the plans going forward she only got defensive and thought I was accusing her of "not doing her job"...... Hmmmm. well there still is no program to encourage anti bullying, but I am sure its on her list
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

Great community feeling - dedicated staff and leadership - opportunities for parent involvement through PTA. Exemplary campus.


Posted May 30, 2012

Very disappointing. The teachers do not maintain any communication with the parents. No response to email or calls. Preferential treatments. No place to turn to for help. Truly a lost year. Since I still believe in regarding the teachers, I choose to not make a list of issues. But some very disappointing behaviours. One thing is for sure - I do not think the teachers really care. - A very sad parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

I share the frustration with the previous reviewer. I am pretty sure not every one of them are bad but my child have had a tough luck. They blame their student for their inability or indifference! Do they really intimidate you by telling you to bring your perfectly "NORMAL" kid to a doctor for anything they see as a trouble? Yes they do. They try to manage their students as they were prisoners in a correctional facilities and they don't listen to you even when you or your child has an excuse or explanation to get them. It looks like they see themselves as somebody with superpower and never agrees that they are only humans who can make mistakes. Once they file ANY report against your child, that's it. They never take it back or revise it no matter what you tell them even with a proper reasons. But listen to my advice and do not appeal - your child will begin to bring home even more "Stop and Think" reports for ANY trivial mistakes at school. Yes, I do feel they retaliate. I did file a couple of complaints to PISD so far but nothing really changed. So glad my child is done with this school and these people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

Extremely disappointed in Brinker. (cont). When we requested a more structured classroom, he was placed in a class with 18 boys. Then the teacher intimated that he should be seen by a doctor for his inability to focus!! When my sister attempted to meet with them, they were only interested in starting a process to document him as a behavior problem. We eventually moved him to a private school with more structure. They work with my sister and the discipline problems have faded away. He is an alwasys was an excellent student academically. Now, he's o with a teacher and in a school that "sees"' him and really cares. He's doing beautifully.


Posted June 7, 2011

My daughter has been at Brinker for 2 years now and she absolutely loves it. Her 3rd grade teacher was outstanding and my daughter really thrived under her direction. For me, the school is lacking in many areas. The classrooms are old and small. They are not equipped with current technology like SmartBoards and there is little computer integration into the curriculum. I would like to see better communication. There is little to no communication from the principal. In fact, my daughter didn't know Brinker had a principal for most of 2nd grade. The school events are very weak and participation is poor as a result. Finally, don't expect anything other than TAKS prep...art instruction is poor, no foreign language and no extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It is great place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

Brinker Elementary School is led by two warm and caring individuals, Barbara Richardson, Principal and Patricia Hempstead, Asst. Principal. They lead a team of professional staff members who are educators at heart and truly devoted to helping children reach their full potential. The school has a kind and welcoming energy where students and parents feel safe and at home. As a new staff member this year at Brinker, I find this school has a sense of honest humility and healthy collegial relationships. The student body is very diverse yet cohesive and we are blessed with so many amazing, involved parents Being a memeber of the Brinker family is a great gift for which I am extremely grateful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2010

My son was at Brinker for a short time. This school has had several complaints as well as students who have been removed due to lack of ability within the Special Education Department. If you have a child that may need something extra, this is not the school for you. The building is great and there are funds here. The teachers receive 'gifts' from certain parents, and they choose the teachers prior to the year's beginning. There are very specific groups of parents that have a voice, and the rest do not. The Special Education rating has gone down substantially with Brinker and one of the teachers within the department who injured a special needs child is still working at this school. It is surprising that in such an affluent area the elementary school is barely acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

Our daughter had excellent teachers throught the years. But i agree with the comment that there are various groups among parents.if you are not in it you will not get any chance to involve in any of the actvities. I also noted that PTA parents get their choice of teachers for every year. thier children actually boast about that in class that they got to choose which teacher they wanted as class teacher.I feel kids are basically good, but a group of parents feel they are privilleged and hence encourage kids act out that way. compared to Barksdale in west plano, extracurricular activites( clubs , after school programs ) are nil in this school. I will take any other west plano school over this one on academical and social environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

My son was in Ms. Snowdens class this year for Kindergarten. Ms. Snowden is a GREAT teacher and I really enjoyed having her as my sons teacher. I enjoyed our year at Brinker but was a little disappointed with the other parents. It seemed like if you were not in the same social circle, you are not included in after school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

Our daughter is a kindergartner at Brinker Elementary. We feel that she is receiving an outstanding education. She is challenged every day and is learning on a consistent basis. We are pleased by what she has learned. Her teacher has been in the field of education for 30 years and is loved and respected by the students. She provides excellent leadership for the kindergarten classes. Children attend physical education daily, art and music twice a week, and library once a week. Parent involvement at Brinker is fantastic as well. Parents are scheduled on a volunteer basis to work in the PTA sponsored 'work room' to assist classroom teachers in preparation for upcoming lessons. Kindergarten parents also have the opportunity to be reading buddies and to participate on a center committee. Various after school PTA sponsored activities are also available to the children. Some activities include: Spanish Club, Art, and chess.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

119 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education50%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American82%
Asian96%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education90%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Black or African American58%
Asian96%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students91%
Female87%
Male94%
Black or African American50%
Asian96%
Hispanic60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education86%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male86%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black or African American65%
Asian91%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education89%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black or African American65%
Asian90%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education50%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black or African American84%
Asian91%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education88%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female88%
Male97%
Black or African American70%
Asian96%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female88%
Male95%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 20% 4%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 11% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 John Clark Pkwy
Plano, TX 75093
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 752-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT