Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barksdale Elementary School 2

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Compare with other school in Plano area, this one doesn't have enough homework every week. Nor does parent know the details that student had learn from school. The Monthly newsletter doesn't provide enough details for parent to assist student academically at home. We have no clue what was taught at school daily. They are jumping back and forth around the book to teach. My daughter s teacher did not response my email more than once!!! I see no progress for my daughter over 3 years. Very Disappointed.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
We had a really good experience at Barksdale. It's an awesome institution. Our children learned a lot and enjoyed their years at Barksdale. Management is always helpful and keep things running smoothly. PTA plays a very supportive role. Its a diverse community and everyone feels welcome. We are very sad that we are closing this chapter, Barksdale was such a big part of our children's lives. They made great memories and got great education. We wish this school all the best and we'll always be grateful for strong academic foundation given to our children. Barksdale Rock!!!


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
We have had awesome experience at Barksdale. This is last year for my youngest so we'll be saying goodbye. Both my kids loved there teachers and learned a lot. Not only academics but athletics and music were excellent. Class sizes were small and student body was diverse, PTA is truly awesome. What I loved most is that you get a friendly environment to grow. PACE program was really beneficial in making kids excited about learning on a higher level and applying the knowledge towards related projects. All and all, a memorable time for both of them.

Barksdale Elementary School 1

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Compared to schools in the state is a great school compared to schools in the city of Plano it is average and nothing sets it apart like some others. It is a very large school based of the numbers of students the class sizes are always at the max # allowed and at times even over the max allowed by TX and then they have to get an ok for the school to have that many over. The Principal seems to only care about attendance and being at school on time. Ever Meeting I have been to she always drills that into the parents. When you do show up late without a dr. note she is very rude. Not a fan of hers. In the 4 years we have been there We have had 2 teachers that really cared about the progress of their students and went above and beyond the other 2 shouldn't be teaching kids this young they should be in a high school because they don't seem to care about really teaching and making sure the kids understand. The other parents are the one thing that saves this school they are great, always doing everything they can even for other students. They are true leaders

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school with fantasic teachers and students. Many extra programs and great community. My son just graduated from here and I credit this school for helping him on his road to success.


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Barksdale is an excellent elementary school. The teachers are wonderful and very experienced at dealing with a wide range of abilities and learning styles. The PE program is excellent, the kids go 4 times a week. Counseling program is great. Class sizes tend to be 19-21 children, a good balance compared to other area schools.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
Barksdale is a fantastic school and it lends itself academically to all types of children. The school does an amazing job balancing their students differences by differentiating instruction and focusing on the students abilities and strengthening their weaknesses. The teachers are very professional and really show that they care for the students. Everyone in the school seems eager to help you and answer any of your questions. This is by far one of the best schools in north Texas. Just ask teh students because their opinion is what's most important.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Barksdale Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2008
- a parent
To the parent who submitted the concern about the weak music program (8/8/06). There are new music teachers as of the beginning of the 2007-08 school year. They are super music teachers and my kids really love going to music now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barksdale Elementary School
2424 Midway Road, Plano, TX  75093
(469) 752-0100
Last modified Barksdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barksdale Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top