Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
I attended Barksdale Elementary as a child and absolutely loved it! The teaching staff was phenomenal and it was a very kind place to grow up.

Barksdale Elementary School 2

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Compare with other school in Plano area, this one doesn't have enough homework every week. Nor does parent know the details that student had learn from school. The Monthly newsletter doesn't provide enough details for parent to assist student academically at home. We have no clue what was taught at school daily. They are jumping back and forth around the book to teach. My daughter s teacher did not response my email more than once!!! I see no progress for my daughter over 3 years. Very Disappointed.


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
We had a really good experience at Barksdale. It's an awesome institution. Our children learned a lot and enjoyed their years at Barksdale. Management is always helpful and keep things running smoothly. PTA plays a very supportive role. Its a diverse community and everyone feels welcome. We are very sad that we are closing this chapter, Barksdale was such a big part of our children's lives. They made great memories and got great education. We wish this school all the best and we'll always be grateful for strong academic foundation given to our children. Barksdale Rock!!!

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
We have had awesome experience at Barksdale. This is last year for my youngest so we'll be saying goodbye. Both my kids loved there teachers and learned a lot. Not only academics but athletics and music were excellent. Class sizes were small and student body was diverse, PTA is truly awesome. What I loved most is that you get a friendly environment to grow. PACE program was really beneficial in making kids excited about learning on a higher level and applying the knowledge towards related projects. All and all, a memorable time for both of them.

Barksdale Elementary School 1

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Compared to schools in the state is a great school compared to schools in the city of Plano it is average and nothing sets it apart like some others. It is a very large school based of the numbers of students the class sizes are always at the max # allowed and at times even over the max allowed by TX and then they have to get an ok for the school to have that many over. The Principal seems to only care about attendance and being at school on time. Ever Meeting I have been to she always drills that into the parents. When you do show up late without a dr. note she is very rude. Not a fan of hers. In the 4 years we have been there We have had 2 teachers that really cared about the progress of their students and went above and beyond the other 2 shouldn't be teaching kids this young they should be in a high school because they don't seem to care about really teaching and making sure the kids understand. The other parents are the one thing that saves this school they are great, always doing everything they can even for other students. They are true leaders


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school with fantasic teachers and students. Many extra programs and great community. My son just graduated from here and I credit this school for helping him on his road to success.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Barksdale is an excellent elementary school. The teachers are wonderful and very experienced at dealing with a wide range of abilities and learning styles. The PE program is excellent, the kids go 4 times a week. Counseling program is great. Class sizes tend to be 19-21 children, a good balance compared to other area schools.

Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
Barksdale is a fantastic school and it lends itself academically to all types of children. The school does an amazing job balancing their students differences by differentiating instruction and focusing on the students abilities and strengthening their weaknesses. The teachers are very professional and really show that they care for the students. Everyone in the school seems eager to help you and answer any of your questions. This is by far one of the best schools in north Texas. Just ask teh students because their opinion is what's most important.


Barksdale Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2008
- a parent
To the parent who submitted the concern about the weak music program (8/8/06). There are new music teachers as of the beginning of the 2007-08 school year. They are super music teachers and my kids really love going to music now.

Barksdale Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2008
- a parent
I moved to Plano for their schools and eventually chose Barksdale... I was very let down. My child has ADHD and they could not and would not deal with him. It was very frustrating as a single parent getting called at work several times a week to come pick him up. I would NOT recommend this school to anyone who has a child that is a little 'different'. The school and I finally made the decision to put him in the 'alternative' school, Byrd Special Programs, they have been wonderful with teaching him appropriate behaviors and other skills he needs.

Nearby schools

Barksdale Elementary School
2424 Midway Road, Plano, TX  75093
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (469) 752-0100
Last modified Barksdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top