Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
650 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
92 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 118 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mark Catholic School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
I am so saddened to read some of the posts regarding St. Mark. I am a parent of 2 St. Mark students who have received extra support and kind and caring direction. Are they held accountable? Yes! Are they held responsible? Yes! Are they growing, maturing, learning to care for others? Yes! This is why I have been paying for them to attend a great school. St. Mark stands above the rest with their traditions, values, and strong sense of Christianity. My experience has been that the entire staff is open to communication at any time. They are open to hearing any concerns and if someone has a complaint, my advice is to visit with the person directly instead of a public posting.

St Mark Catholic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
And I've never seen so many daily questions posted about homework. If there are that many questions every day posted by parents, then something is wrong with school communication.


St Mark Catholic School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
If the students are going to survive the mistreatment at this school, then they'll have to develop these qualities.

St Mark Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Again, the staff doesn't emulate these values so how could the students learn these values from them.

St Mark Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
Again, the staff doesn't emulate these values so how could the students learn these values from them.


St Mark Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a community member
The teachers don't emulate these values so how could the students learn these values from them?

St Mark Catholic School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
We currently have 4 children at this school and could not be more pleased. Academics are top notch, teachers are caring with very open communication, and the overall feeling in the building is warm and inviting. I feel very comfortable talking to any staff member if I have a question. And fellow families are just as friendly. My kids come home all the time excited about what they did in school today, and coming from public school, that is such a welcome change! But even more important is the emphasis on their spiritual development. Even our youngest children talk and sing of God now. And when they make a sad choice at home, to hear them talk it through based on what their teachers have taught them, is just amazing. I am so grateful we are able to send our children to a wonderful school like this!

St Mark Catholic School 3

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
My three children have been attending this school from the last two years and they were coming from public school. The school meet our expectations academically but not in their treatment with the kids. My children were telling me very "unfair" and "unprofessional" comments from the teachers so I decided to star volunteer in the school weekly to observe those comments and it is really sad to say they were correct. Many teachers have been in this school for 15-20 years and should be retired and their way to keep control of the kids is screaming and " threaten" them all day long with checks or going to detention. I have seen many "unfair" and "unprofessional" in the school. You feel like you are in a Military Academy more than a Catholic School. The PE class is a joke ( you should the coaches that do nothing other than looking with a "mad face" at the kids while swinging their whistle. They never smile even to a parent when you pass by) as well as the music class . They just practice and practice the songs for the mandatory Friday Mass. They do not play any instruments or the few they have in the classroom cannot even been touched or you get a "check". Since the arrival of the new Principal the school have changed few good things but I really do not know if she is aware or can do anything regarding the "teacher treatment and behavior" issue. We are really considering dropping our kids from this school by the end of the year if we do not see a change.


St Mark Catholic School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
This school has terrific academics. There is some homework every day, but it's not overwhelming. The communication with teachers is outstanding and the integration of technology is a huge upgrade. Beside the outstanding academics, the positive environment, ethics, service to others and value system is second to none. We're so happy to have found this school for our 3 children. We wouldn't think of sending them anywhere else.

St Mark Catholic School 1

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
My poor child had to go through 6 grades. 6 grades before I finally believed the terrible things I was being told by my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mark Catholic School
1201 Alma Drive, Plano, TX  75075
(972) 578-0610
Last modified St Mark Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Mark Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 118 reviews. Top