Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Lutheran School

Private | PK-12 | 125 students

Faith Lutheran School is best known for complete, Classical, Christian education
 
 

 

Living in Plano

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Faith Lutheran School does an excellent job educating our youth. This school provides them with a classical education which will serve the students well in the future.


Posted April 29, 2014

Definitely not a school I would recommend. Not only were the teachers your steriotypical "teachers" but the school simply was not well run. It is very run down and old. The way they teach about God left my children believing God was an evil man that left us here to die. They are extremely strict in their religion, if you aren't Lutheran, they will force it upon you. The amount of drama in the school is unbelievable. The teachers show great favoritism in their teaching. It is a dying school, I would not recommend going here. They could improve by hiring some new teachers and running their school in a different manner.


Posted April 27, 2014

My school is a classical Lutheran School. The best and worst things about it is the size of it. The size of the school is bad because there are not a lot of students, so sports and other things are almost impossible. The size of the school is good because it keeps everyone close together and makes the high school like a great, big family. I would recommend this school for parents who want their children to receive a great education in a positive and Christian environment.


Posted April 26, 2014

The online option allows people like me access to great teachers and curriculum. Faith Lutheran could possibly be the best academic curriculum and have the most faithful Christian teachers in the US. It sounds like an exaggeration, but it is not. The teachers subscribe to the most accurate confession of the Christian faith, and they teach it. In our classes, we don't just get little snippets of this or that work of literature, history or the Bible so that the curriculum can bend it to say what they want it to say instead of what it really says. We get to read the entire text of a book and learn the historical context. We also get to learn the books of the Bible in context from the pastor who gets the meaning from the text rather than imposes a meaning on it from current cultural trends. I am very lucky and very grateful to Mr. Merritt and Pastor Woelmer. verbum domini manet in aeternum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Faith Lutheran School is a close-knit community made up of dedicated parents, committed teachers, caring pastors, outstanding staff and amazingly talented students. The school provides complete education from preschool through grade 12. We appreciate the focus on a Christ-centered education...from weekly chapel to daily devotions, Christ is at the center of all that is done here. The school is providing a great education for our daughter, who is performing well above grade level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Good classical education with a Christian foundation. Love the small classes for more individualized attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Faith Lutheran was a great environment to grow up in. My four siblings and I all went here K-8 (before they had a high school). We loved the teachers and the education was superior. When we entered high school we were able to jump into advanced placement and international baccalaureate courses and succeed. Faith had more than prepared us. Being a small school, we were able to join every extracurricular activity that we wanted. Every sport, band, choir, and academic clubs. We had a blast on field trips and spending a week at camp. It is an amazing school!


Posted April 17, 2014

My daughter went to Faith Luther School what a blessing that was. Now my granddaughter is going there. They have a great course of study both in the basics of education and, of course, religion. I feel this kind of school is a great learning environment for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Great classical education program. My son attend Faith from pre-K to the 8th grade. Wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Faith Lutheran School provides a top-notch education in a caring, Christian environment. Weekly chapel services and daily Bible teachings set the tone in this school, which uses the Classical education model. Caring teachers work one-to-one with students to provide complete quality education in all subjects. School currently supports missionary work of an alum teaching in Rwanda, which helps current students understand the far-reaching effects of the education they are receiving and the needs of others around the world. Fun, family events like annual Treat N Feast fall festival. Outstanding community outreach like annual walk a thon to raise funds for area non-profits. Fun, educational field trips. Great academic motivation like geography bees, reading contests and more. Excellent school, outstanding staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

My kids, all 4 of them, have went to this school. There is simply no other school like it in our area! The staff shares Christ's love daily. The students are well mannered and courteous. The church and school ministers to all. This place is a treasure!! My older kids that went on to public school after 8th grade were very well prepared for Honors and AP classes. Thankfully they now offer Pre-k through 12. They follow a Classical Education model and kids are taught to seek knowledge verses just passing a test. 18 years ago I was looking for "daycare" and ended up finding a wonderful Christain school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Our oldest son attended Faith Lutheran transferred in from a less academically challenging school for one semester. The teachers cared so much about trying to help him catch up to the higher academic standard. Even providing tutoring over the summer. The new principal is caring, compassionate and reasonable. The office staff are super nice and helpful. On the flip side, my son had a hard time fitting in right away, but he did enroll in the middle of the year in 6th grade. The entire school went above and beyond to welcome him with open arms, and to include him. I think Faith does an excellent job of focusing on high level of academics, citizenship and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

As a parent of 2 Faith students, I have been very satisfied with all aspects of the school. The longevity and quality of the teachers and staff speaks for itself. I like the fact that RESPECT is integrated into the fabric of the school. Respect for God, respect for teachers, respect for each other, respect for yourself. It's refreshing to witness this when the world bombards our kids to be self centered and disrespectful. The curriculum is Classical and Christian and I really didn't understand the value of Classical education. Slowly I am getting it. My 3rd grader is reading classics, like Sarah Plain and Tall. Then I attended a first grade field trip to the Dallas Symphony. And Latin! They learn Latin. I was thinking WHY? Now I am learning Latin because my child is teaching me latin and et cetra (which is latin and means "and other things") I am amazed at how much of our english language comes from Latin. Another big thing is Parental Involvement. It's not just suggested - it's a requirement. I hear parents say they are saving for their kids college education. I figure why do you wait until then? Focus on their education BEFORE college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Faith Lutheran is a caring and nurturing school that expects excellence of all students. We are pleased with the challenging curriculum and the teachers dedicated to their students and to the Christian faith. Our children are receiving the best education available in all respects, academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Excellent prinicpal with great vision. Focus is on a solid education as well as character values. Smaller size school adds to the small community feel. Excellent staff and parents. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Black 9% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 50% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 50% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Rev. Stephen W. Kieser, headmaster
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (972) 423-9618

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • In 1971, the congregation of Faith Lutheran Church in Plano, Texas established a four-year-old preschool for children of the congregation. Since then, the school has grown and opened enrollment to others in the community on a tuition basis. Faith Lutheran School is fully accredited and currently provides classes from pre-school three-year-olds through 12th grade. Curriculum is based on the classical model of education. The school's educational program also includes both sports and fine arts.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
20
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
20

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 50%
4 year college - 50%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 E Park Blvd
Plano, TX 75074
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 423-7448

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Night School
Plano, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT