Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
Great school, competitive and great teaching. A little too big. All in all great school.

Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted September 04, 2015
- a community member
Great school,very competitive and wonderful teaching. Only one thing that I have to ask/say as a parent- Why did they have to install so many Cell antennas to get funds for the programs at this school? CEll Antennas/Towers on School Properties are not Okay.


Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
We moved here from Frisco school district and were pleasantly surprised by the environment , academics and athletics. This is without a doubt one of the best high school in Texas. School was larger than Frisco a High Schools but class sizes were same and teachers were great. You get PISD's proven system and positive peer pressure. It was surprising to see how much our kids improved.

Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a student
As an Alum of this wonderful educational institution, I am ecstatic to say I am proud to be a graduate of such an amazing school. My experience was a little bumpy coming from DISD, a district with such low standards, to PISD, a district that is really as a school district should be. The school was my saving grace, as it provide myself and my graduating class the academic foundation on which to continuously build and grow. The school culture is as all of the great reviews mention-diverse and positively competitive. The competitive atmosphere was the propelling force all to do well, and, of course, the instructors played a key role in the success of the students during my time within the school. I felt fulfilled and prepared before, during and after my matriculation. I look forward with bright-eyes and an equally bright mind to a successful academic and professional future.

Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
There is a reason this school tops ranking charts. Our hats are off to PISD, school management, teachers, support staff and PTA. Best place to go to high school in DFW. In my opinion there strongest asset is a big, diverse, intellectual student body, kids learn as much from their peers as they do from their teachers and coaches. We are so glad that we didn't fall for cheaper and newer housing galore of neighboring towns and made the sacrifice to buy an older and smaller house in West Plano. We would make the same decision again if we have to. We salute PISD for providing top notch education to our children. No other school district in the area is able to meet their standards. When my child went to college tours and interviews, people already knew that PISD has great standards and their students are college ready. Bigger schools and large student body prepares kids to adjust well in college atmosphere and options to pick courses that no smaller school can offer is another big advantage. All in all, we give PWSH 5+ stars.


Plano West Senior High School 5

Posted March 09, 2013
- a student
As a student at Plano West, I have been afforded opportunities that are hard to find outside of top-tier privates. Because of its large size, PWSH can offer programs, activities, and a huge amount of clubs just not found elsewhere. It's easy to find a way to be involved after school with the large amount of student groups. There's a very strong AP program, extensive and well-kept facilities, and the school gets strong test scores, but that's really not what makes it special. I think its most valuable asset is the school's culture - the students expect each other to achieve, and there's a positive pressure to do well at whatever your interested in (music, academics, art, athletics, etc.). That's why Plano West (and Plano ISD as a whole) keep on dominating competitions of all sorts, and why the school is able to send kids to top colleges.

Plano West Senior High School 3

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Plano ISD and PWSH in particular has become a large bureaucratic organization that cares more about itself than the students they are supposed to serve. VERY easy for kids to get lost in the crowd. Try to talk to them - you will just get stonewalled. Very cold and indifferent towards parents.

Plano West Senior High School 4

Posted December 28, 2012
- a parent
Plano West Senior High School is a bureaucratic organization forgets that their business is our children.


Plano West Senior High School 4

Posted December 22, 2012
- a parent
I placed a negative comment regarding this school on this space. It was polite and did not name specific names. Yet it was still removed. So, I guess, this site feels it's okay to censor. Don't believe all the comments you read here because it's not the entire story. Some of our voices are not heard.

Plano West Senior High School 1

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
We have had a very humiliating and a harrowing experience by two dept. heads at the Plano West. My daughter who is a AP and Honor student for all her classes this year was not given help and when she asked for help she was refused and after i wen in to see her teacher, I was humiliated and yelled at by her dept. heads and they said it was my daughter's fault. I then went to see the principal and he said he could take care of it and also help my daughter. I have not heard from him yet. I just feel that how will they teach our children if their own attitude is negative and do not know how to handle situations?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plano West Senior High School
5601 West Parker Road, Plano, TX  75093
(469) 752-9600
Last modified Plano West Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 11-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Plano West Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top