Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C M Rice Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1195 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, October 19, 2014

Rice is actually very mediocre except for the fact that is has an amazing low brass section


Posted September 29, 2014

Rice MS Is comprised of many very intelligent students, who attend private tutoring sessions and other academic classes outside of Rice to compensate for the lack of instruction in public schools. Rice, along with other Plano ISD schools, have nothing more than certified room monitors who pass out worksheets. The school's success is based solely on the caliber of students in attendance. My two children have attended Rice and I purposely chose this school after moving here from out of state, but unless you send your child to a private tutor or other outside academic program, your child will do no better here than any other public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2014

Rice middle school is a great school. During the week days, the teachers may give you some extra homework, but they try not to give you homework on the weekends (especially the math teachers). One thing you have to know before going to this school as a sixth grader is that you have to be organized. The teachers tell you what to organize, but it will be helpfull if you learn how to organize your binders. The teachers give you a lot of papers to keep(if you are a sixth grader)so you may want to buy one and a half inch binders for your math, social studies, and science class. Overall this has been one of the best schools I've been to so far, and I enjoyed my sixth grade year at rice middle school.


Posted April 23, 2014

Rice has a high concentration of top-caliber students. This is reflected in the school web site's long list of proud achievements. Moving these kids to any suburb in America, they would achieve the same. I've no double there are experienced and dedicated teachers at Rice. However it seems the teachers have a culture to be unreasonable harsh to the students. You could get a detention for dropping your pen or sneeze. Bathroom requests are frequently denied. If you haven't seen teachers bullying students, you may find it at Rice. Think of Snape in Harry Potter. Some students take after school programs to learn higher grade materials(math) in advance. If your kids don't do it, they are screwed for the teachers may have the students work on problems not taught in class. Forget parent-teacher conferences. If you kids are above average, you don't have a chance to make appointments with their teachers. The school has a great established system to facilitate the students to compete in any kids of competitions your kids might be interest of, arts, music, sciences,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Terrible school I went to rice myself, very unwelcoming, teachers are terrible and principal doesn't care about children's needs


Posted March 10, 2014

I'm coming to this school for 7th grade? Is it really that good? I am moving from New York, and I'm considered the smartest student at my current school. Will I be able to manage here? Everyone says that it's tough and competitive.


Posted December 30, 2013

rice is the best school ever! rice's enviroment is very friendly and well put. here they challenge you and help you. they help prepare you for the long run. no kid is left behind academically. there are very high level classes for all students. i am in 7th grade here and this is my second year. im very proud to say im a rice raven. we have many fun activities too. the teachers do not put soo much stress on you. we had our principal dress up in our charlie the raven costume one day. some people also got to pie the teachers in the face! though there is fun, the teachers strictly manage the students and are firm. they teach kids to be proactive and plan ahead. people may think rice is a very competive school for nerds, but thatd not all it is! rice is by FAR THE BEST school in the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

The person under was incredibly incorrect in my opinion because the students here at Rice are awesome and friendly. They welcome new students quite well unless the student is not a very nice person. This may not be the case for all students here, but this is the majority. All the teachers are great, although some may find a few teachers stricter than expected.


Posted October 6, 2013

I am student at rice and so far, this is the worst school I have attended :( I came in as an eighth grader and before I started everyone said "Oh, you're going to rice? That's a great school!" But. on my first day I was very disappointed. The students were very unwelcoming, (except for some of y'all who were friendly), most of the students there are kind of mean/ignorant. The teachers were really friendly though :) And I've met some 7th graders, who were all friendly. I guess, it's just that by the time you're in eighth grade, you've formed you're own clique and don't want to invite anybody else in. So, as a new student I'm having trouble fitting in. I hope jasper is better than this school.


Posted July 11, 2013

East or West RMS is the BEST I moved school districts and came to rice as an 8th grader last year! Now I'm going to jasper. Even though I only attended RMS for a year it was the most wonderful experience ever!! It's so competitive and enjoyable at the same time. The teachers are vey hospitable. I found no signs of bullying, the students are very friendly!! IT'S THE BEST MIDDLE SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted June 1, 2013

Rice Middle school is an amazing place, filled with gifted students and warm teachers. It excels in many areas, including fine arts, speech and debate, athletics, and NJHS. As a transfer student, I came to Rice feeling nervous and jumpy, but upon my arrival I was welcomed and accepted immediately. Everyone is much loved at Rice, and the teachers and staff are always happy to help. I am so glad I attend Rice Middle School!


Posted February 3, 2013

Rice is an amazing school. The teachers are excellent. The students support each other. We are so thankful that our kids attended Rice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

As a parent of a child with learning differences and neurological disorders, I was concerned about enrolling that child in a highly competitive environmen such as Rice.. I have been pleasantly surprised. Rice has allowed my child to take honors classes in areas of academic strength, and tutoring in areas of academic weakness. Teachers have gone above and beyond to help my child socially as well as academically. My child still has social and academic challenges, those issues have not magically disappeared, but the school has certainly done their part to assist my child, and communicate with me along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

Go Rice! This is undoubtedly one of the best schools in PISD. It is quite competitive; the school is constantly producing outstanding athletes, musicians and scholars. It can be a bit crowded, but the teachers do a great job of giving you individualized attention. I play violin, and I was totally impressed by the top-notch orchestra program.


Posted June 21, 2011

My two kids attended this school for 3 years after moving from other school districts and a private school, and it was by far the best experience any of us had ever had. The teachers are amazing and willing to go the extra mile to help any student with any problem. The students are nice and friendly, and my kids felt excepted from the very first day. All the programs are amazing, and I am proud to consider myself a Rice mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Rice MS is amazing. I'm an 8th grader right now at Rice, and I think the Ravens rock! We have a great NJHS that does many projects. Our Orchestra is amongst the top in the state, and so is our Band. Our school feeds into Jasper HS, which is an amazing place! We never have any discipline issues, and the teachers are great. I still have so many memories of my teachers from sixth and seventh grade. The kids here are friendly, and they are easy to get along with. Every student at Rice MS strives to be at the top of the class, and we all love learning. Everyone excels together. It's a great community, and you'll love it.


Posted August 11, 2010

Rice is a great school. I am about to start my 8th grade year and can't wait! The band program is amazing, as are the other Fine Arts programs. The teachers want to be your friend, but do an excellent job of teaching. There are many opportunities for kids that feel they need extra help or just want to get ahead. The school is very competitive and it can be very discouraging at times. With everyone getting spectacular grades, kids can start to feel that they aren't smart enough while getting straight A's! The students really push each other to do well and it's OK to be smart. There isn't much mean spirited behavior other than your run-of-the-mill gossip. The Honors and PACE (Gifted) programs are excellent and most everyone is in at least one honors class. This is a great school. Class sizes can get fairly large, but everyone excels!


Posted February 7, 2010

Rice is a very highly excelling school! We have many programs to broaden each students leadership and character..such as Fine Arts(band, choir, and orchestra) and many different clubs to join, our most famously known one, NJHS(national junior honor society). Rice challenges students daily with Honors courses and advanced placements. Its a great school overall and is sure to bring success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2010

i really enjoyed going to school here. all the teachers are wonderful and really love their job
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

I was a student just last year at Rice. This school is really awesome. The orchestra program was fun and competitive. Mrs. Fox cares about her students and wants us all to succeed. The Student Council is also quite active in the school. For eighth graders, the NJHS encourages students to participate in the community and be active in serving others. As a co-president, the other officers and myself were able to help organize the year. I participated in the Mock Trial program as well. Rice excelled the previous year in Mock Trial and her two teams met each other in the final round. We all took trophies home. The Book Club is excellent and the library is very diverse. Mrs. MacKinney is a very experienced librarian and really loves books. The tennis and theatre programs are awesome, too. Go RMS!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

384 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

384 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

384 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

383 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

380 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

378 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

378 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

378 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American78%
Asian99%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education54%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education87%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education86%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education94%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African American86%
Asian99%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education69%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American80%
Asian99%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education80%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education71%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education90%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American89%
Asian99%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education90%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female93%
Male96%
Black or African American73%
Asian98%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education56%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 60% 4%
White 29% 29%
Hispanic 6% 52%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 1%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • CHRIS GLASSCOCK
Fax number
  • (469) 752-6001

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8500 Gifford Drive
Plano, TX 75025
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 752-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT