Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hickey Elementary School 4

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
We really cherished the time that our daughter was at Hickey. The standards are high and they are well-organized. The only issue I ever had was that I would dread going up to the school if I had to pass the office first. The staff was less than friendly for sure.

Hickey Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
I give this school a couple of stars for two excellant teachers that use to teach at this school. Like all Plano schools, if your child is above average, you will do fine. But, if your child is one of those kids who learn outside-of-the-box, forget about receiving FAPE, here. They have no clue how to teach children who learn differently. Instead of providing tools for scientific researched early interventions, they allow your child to be pulled out of the mainstream classroom to be taught their curriculum that will assist your child in passing their standardized state testing. So, when you ask them why they perform so poorly on the MAP and CogAct, they skate around the facts. Terrible school for children with learning disabilities and who need to be challenged!


Hickey Elementary School 3

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
While we are pleased with the education our son is receiving at Hickey, we question if he is getting the challenge he is in need of receiving. He just completed his 1st grade year with 100% MAP reading and 95% MAP math and reading at a 5th grade level and doing math at a 4th grade level. The Plano PACE program (for gifted children) has not accepted him into the program because they don't think he is gifted enough. We wonder what would have constituted gifted enough? 7th or 8th grade levels in 1st grade? We have our thoughts on why this may be, but best to keep them private. Therefore, while we like Hickey, we are considering moving out of Plano to a town with less taxes so we can afford a private school where REAL challenges occur daily for truly gifted students. A school where less red tape occurs for hard working families paying high tax dollars who are in need of a challenge for their child.

Hickey Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
Hickey Elementary in the Stoney Hollow community is one of the best kept secrets in the Plano Neighborhoods. My daughter is in 1st grade and she's already doing 4th grade Math. The teachers encourage learning behavior and very communicative to parents on what's best for the child. Our friends in Frisco, Allen and Coppell are all envious of what Hickey has in their curriculum. The Plano-PACE program for Gifted and Talented is the best there is to offer. Unlike certain other neighborhood schools, Hickey's PACE classes are not just full of Indian and Asian kids, but from a very diverse cross-cultural mix of all the races (there are still 9 Indian/Asian kids in the PACE class of 18). A major part of this school's excellence is because of the school leadership. The Principal is constantly experimenting with better ways to do things, taking feedback from parents, and making improvements that helps the teachers and students. The Stoney Hollow community is very neighborly especially among the parents of Elementary School kids. Parents are usually working dads with part-time working or stay-at-home moms who are greatly involved with children's education.

Hickey Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a teacher
Has been a fantastic school to be a part of! The children are our first concern.


Hickey Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
My son just finished kindergarten at Hickey and he loves it. He learned so much and loves going to school. All the children seem like they are nice kids from down to earth middle class families. Mrs. Meziere has retired so we'll see how it goes next year.

Hickey Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
My child transferred to HIckey from another PISD school 3 years ago. The principal, teachers and staff are just awesome. My child has been challenged beyond her means, and it has made a huge impact on our lives. I disagree with the one comment below about segregation and intolerance. I am very involved in the school, and have never seen this.

Hickey Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic school! We transferred here from another PISD school and are very happy with our decision. The school has a very positive atmosphere, and the principal is involved and accessible to parents. Plenty of opportunities for students to get involved no matter their abilities or interests--Environmental Club, Chess Club, Choir, P.E. show, Destination Imagination, Science Fair, Student Council, etc. Much lower teacher turnover compared to our other school.


Hickey Elementary School 2

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
Super PTA! Need ways to include & involve Hispanic parents. Large ESL student population completely segregated in grades K-2. The early segregation is magnifying the language differences & resulting in intolerance betw Spanish speaking & native English speaking kids K and up. (As a parent I have witnessed this intolerance at the school numerous times & my kids have told about their experiences as well) Principal Meziere is acessible, responsive & involved. She is prompt to return emails, vmails & set up meetings. Her tone is often condescending, not collaborative. After schoolcare program doesn't provide homework help. K-5 kids are put in same big room & must complete their hwk independently. Mrs Jurgemeyer, Ms. Herbison, PE & Music teachers highly enthused, skilled & creative. Overall teaching staff is warm, caring & responsive. Formalized Enrichment/tutoring programs for students w borderline grades/skills is weak.

Hickey Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
Great Principal. She is involving with most of the activities. She is very helpful and prompt. Lots of fun extracurricular activities in this year.Parents are getting more involved in this year. The teachers are getting better each year. They are caring, helpful and involved with their student more and more. This is a great community and family oriented school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hickey Elementary School
4100 Coldwater Creek Lane, Plano, TX  75074
(469) 752-4100
Last modified Hickey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hickey Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top