Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Borchardt Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Stephanie Lickstein is an amazing teacher. She is so affectionate and worked with my child to better understand many difficult concepts. My daughter loves her!!

Borchardt Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
My child has been in this school from kinder and is now in 5th grade. We love Borchardt!! I see some negative reviews, and sadly bad experiences can happen anywhere. Often we take time to leave a review when we feel strongly about something. We have had wonderful experiences with the teachers, nurse, counsellor, office staff and the principal. There is personalized spontaneous care. The school is abreast with technological updates. Parents are given enough information. I have seen a lot of turnover though with experienced teachers moving to new FISD schools. Kids here are smart and competitive. It is also true that since most of the parents are well educated, there is a lot of support given at home. So the wonderful test scores are a result hard- working students, good teachers and tiger parents .


Borchardt Elementary School 1

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
There is no proper supervision during those 20 min that walkers are held back. Bmany discipline issuesvhappen during those 20 minutes and therenis no accountability from the staff. The principal is hard to reach almost impossible, even with this kind of issues.

Borchardt Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
Borchrdt is so conducive and so much fun involved learning atmosphere that I can compare with some other exemplary school in plano school district. My elder daughter went in PISD in fade-K & 1 while younger one in FISD. Younger one has learned so much academically as well as behaviorally that I rate it better than many other exemplary schools.

Borchardt Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Borchardt was a great school until this year. The principle from last year retired. We sure do miss her! She was great. She made a point to be kind and friendly to everyone. She appreciated the volunteers. She valued their time and hard work and made sure that everyone knew this. This year volunteers are feeling under appreciated . Maybe the new principle will realize the importance of volunteers when everyone stops volunteering due to her bad attitude. I will continue to volunteer for my children's classrooms but that is it. No one wants to feel like they have wasted their time and efforts when they go unnoticed and unthanked.


Borchardt Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
We have been here for several years. This school has gone down hill. This year being the worst. Most of the teachers are okay. The administrative staff/principle could use some education on manners. They are rude and make parents feel unwelcome to be there. I'm very disappointed.

Borchardt Elementary School 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
TERRIBLE. Please parents be aware. This school should be shut down forever. The worst experience my child has ever had.

Borchardt Elementary School 3

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
There is nothing this school is doing to students more than any other nearby FISD school. Its the parents that are making students achieve high scores by enrolling kids in extra education outside. Its too early to comment on new principal but what I noticed so far in my 3 visits to school - she does not greet every parent who passes her but only smile/greet few parents.


Borchardt Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
I don't agree with the negative comments I see about this school, my two kids had great experiences at this school with caring teachers and friendly staff. I'm glad my sons go to this great public school. They are in first and second grade right now.

Borchardt Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
This was a great school until a new principle came in this year. She seems to be on a mission to show everyone who is in charge and making a lot of unnecessary changes (for the worse). Last year was a wonderful year and my child loved going to school. Everyone was like family, teachers, staff, parents and kids. This year the new office staff is rude and unwelcoming as well as the principle. My child does not look forward to going to school anymore and seems so down. I don't even like stepping foot in the school anymore. I know a lot of parents feel the same as I do over the new principle and office staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Borchardt Elementary School
4300 Waskom Drive, Plano, TX  75024
(469) 633-2800
Last modified Borchardt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Borchardt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top