Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prosper High School

Public | 9-12 | 1628 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, September 27, 2014

PHS is well-known for their school spirit and Prosper Rumble, performed at the pep rallies. I think the first year we did the Rumble, the kids actually did enjoy it. But I am afraid all the publicity the principal only seems to care about being the best. What people don't realize is these kids are FORCED to learn these rumble dances. They miss class in order to practice for the pep rallies.They get real grades in real classrooms History and geography, on how well they learn the school song.The principal SCREAMS at the kids, threatens them, if they do not participate in the pep rallies. School spirit comes from WITHIN, it cannot be forced.Watching Prosper Rumble 2.0 I did not see kids filled with school spirit, I saw kids being forced to perform for ratings. I was also taken with the pep rallies when they started and was excited about the school spirit. But if this principal doesn't get a grip soon he is going to kill what he is trying to hard to create. Being the best should not be the the goal, leading the kids to legitimately care about each other and their school, should. Get a grip, Prosper, and stop blindly supporting this. School is for learning, after all, or so I thought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

Prosper has been very good for my children academically. The school has outstanding school spirit. Unfortunately, the athletic department is a country club for the rich kids or what you do for the coach. The best players do not always play. It is how connected you are to the coach and how much you kiss his behind. There are things that go on that should not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

:D My school is Awesome! No matter what all those kids and students from other schools say Prosper is a school for everyone :D I am a middle class student or more like my family is middle class. And sure people in Prosper have nice things but that shouldn't change your high school experience...that should be up to you....and how you decide to live your high school life. Let me just say the "rich gang" things we say is because we are "rich in our academics, and in our class rooms" which I know sounds kinda not for high schoolers but it really keeps us motivated. I love how our principal is motivated, and keeps us pumped up for games...last year I never even went to basketball or football games cause I thought it was just a waste of time but he's created this section for students to support our team and help get us closer as a school and I like that. I believe that the way they run things as far as punishment is fair game.if you do something wrong and you did it on purpose then that's on your kid...they made their decision, and so they pay the consequences. I love how my school supports new students who come to prosper :) If I we're to move some where Prosper is definitely the place
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2013

This school is so great, it has so much school spirit and the principle is awesome! I couldn't imagine going anywhere else! I'm a freshman and upperclassmen were so sweet and welcoming when I got here! I wouldn't trade my experience here for anything else and can't wait to finish my highschool career here, I can already tell these are gonna be some of the best years of my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2013

I'm a student here. If you are well off and have a nice house, nice cars, and a lot of money then prosper is the place for you! Prosper is all stuck up and snobby about the material things they have. You will be the most popular and well liked kid if you are so called "rich". The students even have a boastful chant they like to yell "rich gang" at football games. It really is a terrible place with no class at all. If you are a middle class kid or even lower class then you need to stay away from prosper. The other students will show off and it will make you feel terrible just because your parents don't have as much money. Not to mention are new principle that prosper got last year is way to stict and shoves school spirit down you throat and will outcast you if you don't show it. It is really counter productive. Plus the principle is extremely strict and runs this school like a prison. Even some of the teachers will complain about how bad it is. All you need to remember is if you have money and like to show off, then come to prosper! If not then stay away because that's all that's here...


Posted August 17, 2013

We are an upper middle class family that moved into the school district approximately two (2) years ago. We are pleased with the academics of the middle school and high school, but are very displeased with the athletics. The middle school and high school athletes are played based on their parents involvement with the programs and connections with the coaches. We have always told our kids to work hard and out play the other kids and you will play. NOT at this school. Hard work by the parents and money pays offs at theses schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

We moved into the Prosper School District with our oldest entering his sophomore year. It was rough for him fitting in at first, but since Mr. Wright came in, the morale of the school has changed. He is great!! Dr. Watkins helped our younger child feel welcome on his first day at Folsom as a 4th grader. I've seen his presence at many school functions with a crowd of kids around him. Not everything is perfect, but it has much more to offer than the district we came from. We can't stop telling people what a great district we have moved into. I will also add we are a middle class family and not one of the affluent ones everyone is complaining about. Most everyone we have met is always friendly and welcoming to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Very difficult to fit in. Also found out my daughter is behind in math and science, yet they passed her anyway. Socially, this school has been a horrible experience for my daughter. Academically, we have also suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

Fantastic experience at Prosper HIgh Shool.Wonderful administration.We moved here from Greenwich,CT and had high expectaions for our sons education.Prosper ISD met those expectations.We are an academically focused family and have been beyond pleased with every aspect of Prosper High School.One of the nicest HIgh Schools aesthetically that I have ever seen.State of the art facilities,beautiful building. I would stronly revommend Prosper High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Prosper High School has one of the best administration and faculty I have ever experienced. I have been an educator/administrator for almost 30 years. PHS has finally got it right with Mr. Wright and his fantastic team of administrator, teachers and staff. Whomever wrote the comment about Dr. Watkins obviously has not met and dealt with him on a continual basis. He is one of the best administrators I have every known. Prosper ISD has grown tremendously in the last 10 years. Considering all of their growing pains, they have done a great job of accommodating all of the issues that come with a growing district. There is not a perfect school anywhere... There are the good one, then there are the Great Ones...PHS is becoming one of the Great Ones. So glad Mr. Wright is leading this campus. It will only get better with him in charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

The school district is led by an amazing, committed, and extremely competent superintendent who has helped set the example for what a good school should look/act like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

If the school would be rid of Dr. Watkins it would be great. Until then, it will be in the bottom tier of Collin County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Mrs. Butler, Mr. Harpole, and Dr. Brasseaux are the utmost professionals when it comes to leadership. Dedicated, loyal, love the students, and do what is in the best interest of the students and community. Both teachers and students love and respect them. We hope they stay around for along time, because without them PHS is lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

We are a middle class family, and both of our children love the Prosper School District. The student body is friendly, welcoming, fun and respectful. The teachers are great, and help is always available. We feel that our kids are well prepared for college when graduating from Prosper High School. Both, the middle and high school principal are very competent, and we feel that Dr. Watkins is a wonderful Superintendent who truly loves and cares for the students. Yes, most of the families in the district are affluent, but everybody is very nice and friendly. We feel strongly that this is a fantastic school and recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

Most of the teachers are excellent. Leadership is lacking. The Superintendent has sold out to the high income parents and lets them dictate how the school will be run. I guess his quarter million dollar salary is enough job satisfaction. As stated by another reviewer, buyer beware!


Posted September 21, 2011

If I could describe Prosper High School with one word it would be "Wow" - with a positive connotation of course! I joined middle of sophmore year, and immediatly was welcomed with open arms by staff and students! Some reviews bitterly describe being dealt a short hand if one does not come from an affluent household, however I am squarely middle class, and fit in fine (with a little help from plato's closet). Most kids have been raised with a higher morale, and christian values, and it certainly is clear in the way we treat our peers! The teachers teach vigorious classes, and offer before and after school tutoring for those who need it. Even the counseling staff is fantastic, constantly engaged as I make my decisions about my future; helping me find scholarships, schools, and write applications. I don't know what I would do without them! I find Mrs. Butler a fantastic principal, who firmly practices her authority yet listens wholeheartedly to the students. I love my school, and would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat! GO PROSPER EAGLES!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2010

Prosper High School needs some serious prayers. A nice new building with a very weak administrative "team." It's time for a couple of leaders that have been there to move on. Great teaches and students without the support that they need.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2010

I hope this is helpful if your considering PISD. I decided to write a comment about PHS because I am reading comments about the schools I am considering sending my 2nd born to & find the comments very helpful. Prosper ISD from Middle School on is great for the jocks, preps and students who are trying to keep up with the Jones. My family is upper middle class with non athletic children and we are not it! The education my son, who is graduating this year has received is superlative. He is in all AP classes this year. He has made a great group of like minded friends, but my three younger children have not fared so well. If you are NOT pretentious, Prosper ISD may not be the place for your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

I have raised 4 kids in the Prosper ISD in the last 20 years. My youngest is in High School. Sadly, I must say that I will be taking her out and moving her to another nearby district. True Prosper is having growing pains I believe overall we have good teachers and staff. However, parents are in charge of the schools and if you do not drive a BMW or Mercedes on your sixeenth birthday then you will have no friends. Bad behaviour is rewarded and parents are in denial. So I would not recommend Prosper High Schools as a healthy learning environment or value based parenting community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I'm surprised as I read these reviews. It seems people decide it's a good school if their student does well/loves it; its a bad school if you child doesn't do well/doens't love it. I have a child who dropped out of high school. I have a other children that did amazing things academically. The school is excellent. The teachers are wonderful and caring. It's a shame that I didn't recognize that my student struggling needed something different, and I didn't find it. My child would have struggled in 99% of the schools in the US...that doesn't mean 99% of schools are bad. Prosper develops programs based on student interest. A group of students wanted to learn more about robots...so they got a teacher to sponsor a robot club. Your student can make ANY experience what they want it to be. Make your experience great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

304 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

301 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

273 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

274 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

274 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

270 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students98%
Female95%
Male99%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students98%
Female96%
Male99%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education91%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black or African American89%
Asian92%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education71%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education46%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students78%
Female84%
Male73%
Black or African American48%
Asian89%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education29%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education57%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students83%
Female89%
Male77%
Black or African American79%
Asian92%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education0%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education67%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American81%
Asian83%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education50%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 29%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Black 8% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 1%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Eagle Drive
Prosper, TX 75078
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 219-2180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT