Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Queen City High School 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
School board members are providing services to the school which is illegal by Texas law. For information about the new parking lots and how much his company made off the school you need to talk to QCISD board member.

Queen City High School 3

Posted November 15, 2010
- a student
This school that i graduated from has little challenge in even the advanced classes. Since the introduction of "No Child Left Behind," this school district has suffered from teaching standardized tests rather than course curriculum. Notable activities in this school include Band, Ag programs, softball, and occasionally tennis. While these activities perform well (and in some cases extremely), others such as football is simply not up to par. For the most part the teachers are wonderful teachers but are hampered by their need for students to pass the TAKS test.


Queen City High School 1

Posted December 13, 2009
- a community member
I was a previous student of Queen City, and excelled according to their standards and curriculum. However, when I moved to Wisconsin in the eighth grade, my scores had an exponential decline. I was in advanced placement courses in QC, and in Wisconsin, the regular classes prove to be more challenging. The school as a whole is a phenominal place and supportive. I however would not raise my children in the setting as I know how unprepared my children would be going to college. Their band is fantastic, their sports are well rounded, but from a scholastic perspective, they are lacking.

Queen City High School 1

Posted March 09, 2009
- a community member
This school is very well in some of their activites, like band and softball. The average learning though is very low. For a 2a school they do well for themselves. They could do so much beter if the school could get more money and actually buy what they need for their students and teachers.

Queen City High School 3

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
Queen City is a great school, much better than others in the area. They have a great band (need I mention the State Championship in marching and the TMEA?) and agriculture program (also at state level). They also have great teachers that will help with any work needed help with. I consider it a privelidge to go to such a great school.


Queen City High School 1

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Queen City High School 1

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Queen City High School 4

Posted November 01, 2007
- a former student
QCHS does a good job with what they have. Personally, I was not challenged by the curriculum. I also didn't necessarily feel prepared for college when I left, but I'm not sure that a high school education in general can do that. I do know that if a student wants to succeed, there are faculty at QCHS to help him/her.


Queen City High School 2

Posted July 16, 2007
- a parent
QCHS does not prepare their students for college.They are only taught the skills needed to pass the placement exams administered. They learn no real test taking or study skills needed for college level classes. Also they encourge work programs for what they consider troubled students instead of spending extra time working with the students who lack behind in classes.

Queen City High School 2

Posted March 10, 2006
- a student
The school is very poor and can't afford all the supplies that the students need. While the principle trys to run a strict school, the classroom still doesn't have much order. Overall, it's not a very good school system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Queen City High School
P O Box 128, Queen City, TX  75572
(903) 796-8259
Last modified Queen City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Queen City High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top