Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Red Oak High School

Public | 9-12 | 1850 students

Red Oak High School is known for college and career pathways. AP/Dual Credit
 
 

 
 

Living in Red Oak

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2010

This school is awful. The students are rude and disrespectful. They are being taught to the test so that the school will appear to be better than it really is. There is absolutely no focus on building knowledge. Parents, please think twice about sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I have had nothing but problems with this school since my son, a sophomore, began attending the campus last year. I am fed up with the appalling behavior of some ROHS students, the unequal enforcement of disciplinary actions, and the nonchalant attitudes of staff members. The overall atmosphere at ROHS is no longer suitable for my child to receive a quality education there. I see from one of the earlier postings that I'm not the only parent who has given up on this school and will be sending a child outside of the district. At this point, just about any campus is better than having to put up with these issues for another two-and-a-half years. It is a shame that my tax dollars are funding such a problematic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Great students, great teachers, great administrators, great parents. Everything you need to be a successful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

Parents, avoid this school at all costs. The quality of education has deteriorated in recent years and continues to go downhill. Parent/teacher communication is poor. The curriculum is weak and needs to be more rigorous. This year, my daughter has been bullied by a particular 'clique' of girls. In the few weeks since school started, my child has maintained her composure in the face of frequent name-calling and insults, only to come home and cry her eyes out. My daughter shouldn't have to go through this just to get an education. I am already making plans to send her to another school in the area. This entire experience has taught me that a school with slightly higher than average standardized test scores means nothing if a child doesn't feel safe there. I would not recommend this school to any parent looking for a 'good' high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have had two students graduate from this school. Both NHS students. I am very satisfied with the administration as well as the faculty and staff. Both of my children are excelling in a private university in Texas and it is because of the excellent prep at ROHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I have found this school to be ineffective in its ability to care about the overall success of its students. I have encountered several problems with both the administration and the teaching staff. I was a very dissatisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have had 2 students graduate from this school. I have been please over all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Parents are extremely involved, there are plenty of extracurricular activities, and the counselors and teachers go beyond expectations in regard to college preparation. Upon moving to a large, respectable university, I have learned that ROHS has done far more than most other schools represented here at UT as far as college prep. Much thanks to Red Oak.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 6, 2005

This is the only school district my child has ever been in & she is a freshman now. She has always made all A's & honor roll until this year & still only a few high B's but that is because there are many pregnant teachers & many uncaring subs & not enough grades being taken out of laziness on both the teachers & subs part. They actually tell them that they were too tired or too busy or their favorite show was on & they did not have time to put together a test so just read x amount of pages & take a test rather than testing on what is & has been taught. It looks like the trench coat mob with all the black hair & clothes & lot's of teen pregnacies. Over all better than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

After researching several area districts, we moved our family into the Red Oak ISD due to the school system. As a parent of 2 ROHS students, I feel the leadership provided is the best. We have a principal who is a strong example to our students and teachers. I am greatful for the experienced teachers we have in the classrooms, and the opportunities provided to the students to participate in many activities that enrich their education outside the classroom. The staff dedicated to the safety of all children in the district makes them feel safe at school. Though the district is not without some faults, it is certainly far better than average and I am thankful for the education they provide for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

Red Oak High School a couple of years ago would have earned a 5+ rating; however, the high school principal's performance is extremely poor. His emphasis on matters that are irrelevant and his lack of interest for items of importance is reflected on a consistent basis. He also does not care about disabled students. His attitude toward disabled students is, in fact, deplorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

I think the Red Oak school district is just fine. I was in grades 6-12 at Red Oak and finished in 1982. The teachers were all excellent in the classes that they taught. Discipline was carefully watched to assure the students had good behavior. Although, I have since moved out of the Red Oak area, if I lived there still, I would be most certainly happy to send my children to this school for a good sound education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 18, 2003

I think that Red Oak is a wonderful school and that the teachers are great and perfect for the subject that they teach. I am 1 of the last 2 of my 4 brothers andsisters going through Red Oak and I couldn't imagine going any where else. I am glad that the teachers and principal are focused on the TAKS test because that is how I will graduate high school. I also feel that I safer with the police being there and I am glad that they are taking extra precautions for my saftey!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I have a student that has been in ROISD for nine years. In this time I have watched my child grow by bounds even with a learning disability. I have found the staff, teachers and administrators to be excellent and have profoundly impacted my child. For this, I am greatful and very pleased with my decision to move to Red Oak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

i think the school focuses too much on discipline and taks/tasp scores and not enough on the quality of the teachers and of educating the kids. i have spoken with several teachers and office staff and was not impressed. also, i don't think the police should be roaming the halls of our school. i think the administration is paranoid and is spending way excess energy on what the kids shouldn't be doing instead of giving them the tools to learn what they should and can do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

As a former student of Red Oak High School in 2002-2003, I found that the campus was over populated, under staffed, and that the concern for the student themselves was low. All the principal cared about was TAAS/TAKS scores. The curriculum in some classes was too easy, as many teachers weren't best for the job. If I had a child who was going to attend Red Oak High School, I would home school. This school may have an Exlempary rating, but that's only because the staff cared about that and nothing else.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

484 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

483 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

444 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

440 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

448 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

442 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
21%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education33%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education42%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students69%
Female73%
Male66%
Black or African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education18%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students52%
Female60%
Male45%
Black or African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education10%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education43%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students57%
Female62%
Male51%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education13%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education55%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black or African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education31%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students67%
Female62%
Male71%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education21%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 29%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Black 21% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Red Oak Junior High
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 40% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 35% (2011)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2011)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 12% (2011)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 8% (2011)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best School for Music Education by NAAM (2014)
  • Best School for Music Education by NAAM (2013)
  • AP Honor Roll by College Board (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Gold Council of Excellence - STUCO (2014)
  • Largest red Cross Blood Drive (2013)
  • Green Ribbon School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Step team
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Special olympics
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 4:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Doug Funk
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (972) 617-4796

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Dual Credit
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • TSTC Red Oak Campus
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Friends of Rachel
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • JROTC
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Special olympics
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Red Oak Junior High

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 40%
4 year college - 35%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 12%
Workforce - 8%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 S. State Hwy. 342
Red Oak, TX 75154
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 617-3535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

D A E P
Red Oak, TX


Life School Oak Cliff
Lancaster, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT