Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shields Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
Mrs McGregor (K) Ms Murphy (2) Mrs Cunningham these three are clear standouts to me. Loving, compassionate, intelligent, fair and overall just awesome!

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
My son attended K-2nd grade here, and I couldn't have asked for a better school experience. Mrs McGregor (K) and Ms Murphy (2nd) are the types of teachers most only dream about getting. They made my son LOVE learning and clearly did their part in helping me shape and mold my son into a reading rock star! They made my feel confident that my son was being taken care of and getting the education he should. The school as awhile does a great good at making it feel like one big family. We are moving this summer and the hardest part about leaving is going to be leaving Sheilds Elemnetary. But I am confident in the educational foundation they built for my son.


Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
My kids school is AWESOME! The teachers and staff work really hard and are dedicated to giving the students of Shields Elementary a curriculum that fits their needs to help them grow and be successful in their schooling and understanding of what they are being taught and learning. Knowledge is definitely power and I believe 100% that the staff at Shields is doing their best to provide our kids with the knowledge they need to succeed.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Shields Elementary is a wonderful school. The teachers and other staff are great. My kids love going to school there.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
The transformative power of an effective teacher is something almost all of us have experienced and understand on a personal level. If we were particularly fortunate, we had numerous exceptional teachers who made school an exciting and interesting place. Those teachers possessed a passion for the subjects that they taught and genuine care for the students with whom they worked. They inspired us to play with ideas, think deeply about the subject matter, take on more challenging work, and even pursue careers in a particular field of study.


Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
The staff is always great about keeping the parents informed. The staff is great with the kids and they make us all feel that with one big family and teamwork we can achieve success together.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My son's school is the amazing. The staff is great and the really care about the children. My son has dyslexia and with the help he gets at Shields Elementary he is still a straight A student.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Shields is the greatest school because they have a wonderful staff of very educated teachers who have lots of experience. The principal Mrs. North is very dedicated to making all of the students very comfortable she makes sure that there zero tolerance for bullies is enforced. I just love the school very much.


Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Shields Elementary is a great school filled with caring teachers and staff. They are dedicated to helping students learn and succeed, not only academically but in all areas of life.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I feel 100% confident that teachers and staff at Shields is loooking out for the best interest in my child both academically and safety during school hours. They go above and beyond their job expections to get the best out of every student

Nearby schools

Shields Elementary School
P O Box 9000, Red Oak, TX  75154
(972) 617-4799
Last modified Shields Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top