Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Joseph Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 363 students

Academics and Community Involvement

 
 

Living in Richardson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

All my children have attended this school, and I cannot sing its praises loudly enough. My children are growing, excelling academically, spiritually, and socially. The academic program is outstanding, both for students who thrive on challenge and always want to jump ahead, as well as those who learn at a steady pace. My children are testing above the national and state averages and their teachers are great about supporting their desire to reach beyond the required course work. There is something for everyone when it comes to athletics, extracurricular activities and competitions. The beauty of St. Joseph Catholic School is that the Christian values that we teach at home are found here too! This school is an extension of our family I couldn t ask for a better learning environment. It is in a beautiful facility full of dedicated and compassionate teachers, friendly staff and an amazing principal who knows and cares about every child in the school. Visit this school and see for yourself why it is the best Catholic school in Dallas. There isn t enough room on this page to brag about how great St. Joseph is!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

My family has been at St.Joseph for at least 13 years. Our school was in a bad situation before Mrs.Antes came. She came to our school when we had a lot of problems. Before she came, even I wanted to take my kids to a different school, but when Mrs.Antes came, I decided to give St.Joseph another try. This 2013-14 school year will be better because our faculty and staff has gotten better. We love our teachers. My children enjoy class more. Everyone here is very friendly. The classes are small, but that's good because the teachers can pay more attention to your children. The academics department has good teachers and high standards. I've watched my children blossom in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

We attended St. Joseph's since early learning through 6th grade, a total of 8 years. St. Joseph's was our family! Our principal Mr. Riley left to St. Monica's and Mrs. Antes came to our school for our 6th grade year 2012 - present . She has a very negative approach if she does communicate with you or she does not acknowledge you or your child at all. This is not a Christian, loving atmosphere she makes you feel very unwelcome. The 6th grade math and english teacher, our two core classes were a great disappointment and they teach the 6-8 grade. We had to really search our hearts and pray we were making the right decision and we truly felt if we kept our son at St. Joseph's school we would be doing more harm then good for his education. It is a shame that our family as well as several other families that have been apart of the St. Joseph's school all these years have left during mid and end year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

We love St. Joseph! Our children have been at this school since Kindergarten, and we have seen them flourish. The school is small enough for the faculty and staff to know each student by know name, yet part of a large diocese that provides a world class education. Being a Catholic school, as much emphasis is placed on religious and moral values as it is on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

My son has attended St. Joseph Catholic School for the past eight years and my daughter for the past six years. We are thrilled with the education that they have received. The parent involvement is tremendous. It is a wonderful community. My children have learned respect for others and have grown spiritually over the years. I would highly recommend St. Joseph Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

My child attended St. Joseph for 5 years (4th-8th grade) and received an excellent education that fully prepared him for Catholic School. He succeeded academically and grew spiritually through his Catholic education there. The teachers were caring and involved, and the administration always kind and helpful. We had such respect and admiration for the principal, and he was readily available when we needed anything. It is a relatively small school with a strong sense of community and great parish involvement. I would suggest that you look at St. Joseph and see for yourself what a special place it is. Although I am a parishioner at St. Joseph, I truly miss being a part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

This is the worst school I have ever sent my kids to. I deeply regret even looking at this school, not to mention sending my children here. If you are looking at this school, DON'T GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS THE WORST SCHOOL EVER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

We have been an active family in this parish and school for some time. While the facilities are new and are well cared for that doesn't help balance out the lack of leadership, vision and willingness to accept honest and well thought out ideas brought forth by parents. This school, especially with the addition of Father Alfonse has the potential to excel, however with the current leadership the school is failing. Many of the most respected and active families have chosen to leave for all the reasons mentioned above. Our family also struggles with this decision. I strongly reccomend deeply investigating before you send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

There are many great teachers, and the parish priest (Alfonse) is among the best ever seen. There is an involved parish and active parents, a great sense of community and shared values. Your elementary students will get a fabulous education. Where the school has begun to falter is in leadership. The current administration (a change in personnel since the '08/9 comments below) is not receptive to outside ideas or being held accountable. There is little vision and less inspiration to take this young school (8 years old or so) to the next level. His replacement of many teachers has not been without controversy, and the new teachers methods are concerning many, especially in teh middle school. Do your homework. Its a very good school, but there are many core families leaving and others strongly considering it if there is not a leadership change or at least a change in the attitude and culture exhibited by the administration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

This school now has 400 plus students and has added the 8th grade in 2008. I have had my daughters at another christian school prior to enrolling them at st. Joseph and there is no comparison. The quality of education and openess to parent involvement is superb. The teachers are excellent and I couldn't expect any more as far as character development. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

My two children started in the St. Joseph's Early Learning Program and are now elementary students at the school. The school facility is first rate, only recently constructed in the last few years. There is a strong emphasis on this being first and foremost a catholic school where the teachings of the faith are stressed. I have been pleased with the rigors of the academics. Reflecting its location in east Richardson, the population of the student body is very diverse in both nationality and socio-economic backgrounds-a selling point for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 37%
Asian 25% N/A
Hispanic 15% 47%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Black 4% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Diocesan Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
120

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 S Jupiter Rd
Richardson, TX 75081
Phone: (972) 234-4679

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT