Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mohawk Elementary School 4

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
We moved into the Prairie Creek Elem school district (Jan. 2013) but were overflowed to Mohawk Elem. His reading has really taken off and his math skills are great! He really likes his teacher (Miss Gaviao) and his classmates so we hesitate to try to get into Prairie Creek next year. Families are very friendly and down to earth and the PTA is great!

Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a community member
ive been at this school all my k/6 and i loved it.its the most amzing feeling u can get from that school.they help you and teach you so much!!!loved it so much and dont want to leave!!!1


Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
For the past several years ( As a dad ), one always has doubt ( in todays world ) about how a school/teachers relate to our children. In the class-room, in the halls, lunch, and recess . Do the teachers do there part in making sure all of the kids feel confident and safe? Well, no school is perfect, I understand and realize that. However I must say that from what I have both heard and witnessed, Mohawk has done an excellent job in all phasis to keep learning fun and to keep our children safe. I hope this effort continues, but have one small request. Keep up the good work and make sure no kids are excluded from any sort of activities that can boost there self-esteem (any age!!). Great job Mohawk, and thank you! So far-----I have to give you guys a thumbs up!!! Signed: A Happy Dad!!

Mohawk Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2010
- a parent
The academics are great and age appropriate. The teachers are hit and miss and the school leadership will do little to help if there is bad chemistry.

Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
Wow! I've been absolutely amazed with this school, the principle, the teachers, the environment, and above average education. Absolutely thrilled. They use positive reinforcement and self management SO well, I couldn't be happier, and my daughter is thrilled to go to school every day. She loves it! Thank You Thank You!


Mohawk Elementary School 3

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
Mohawk is a small school feel with above average parent involvement. Academics seem lacking, though that could be due to the RISD encouragement to teach solely to the TAKS. We do not currently use a math curriculum developed by a publisher or text book. RISD admin draws up worksheets that are then copied for the students. Teachers are very nice but some are short tempered. Some of our 'small school' charm seems to be fading due to the influx of transfer students. All grades K-3 are above average.

Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
My daughter just finished kindergarten here. Mohawk is leaps and bounds above other RISD schools in academics, parental involvement, teaching staff and opportunities. Great school.


Mohawk Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
We moved one mile north just to enroll our daughter at Mohawk when she began 1st grade. She is now in the fifth grade and we're more convinced than ever we made the right decision. The teachers are incredible, the communication is excellent and we never hesitate to email or pick up the phone with any concern. Heavy parental involvement. It is a small school and feels like a private school where each child is known by name and the atmosphere is positive and caring.

Mohawk Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
We recently moved to the area. Having come from an Exemplary district we were apprehensive about the transition. Thankfully, we have had no problems whatsoever. Mohawk is a wonderful neighborhood school where the parents are friendly and the teachers caring. Our child is enjoying the gifted and talented pull out program and is looking forward to 4th grade when the GT 'Reach' students are bussed to another school one day/week. The afterschool program is great. The afterschool teachers are kind and the program has both full and part time rates. Although we haven't been there long Mohawk has been a great fit for our family's needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mohawk Elementary School
1500 Mimosa Drive, Richardson, TX  75080
(469) 593-6600
Last modified Mohawk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mohawk Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.