Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roanoke Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Terrell has been the best teacher we could have asked for. She made our transition from another school district flawless.

Roanoke Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
I am the type of person who heavily researches anything and everything about my life prior to making decisions, schools are no exception. This is our first year at R.E.S. and so far we have loved it. The school is very technology driven, which is great for the day and age we are in. The classrooms have tablets that the children work with to create presentations, record what they've learned to share with the parents, etc. My daughter is in first grade and her teacher has been terrific. She's great at communicating openly with me about how well my daughter is doing, and areas where she needs a little extra work. My daughter has loved every bit of the school year so far. They have events that go on all the time. She loved performing in the Veteran's Day program. I can't wait to see the educational changes that will come our way as the year progresses. We love being a Ranger family!


Roanoke Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school! My son has been going there for two years now and he loves going to the school. The teachers are very nice, friendly and caring. The Principal, Mrs Kristi King has been wonderful!

Roanoke Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
I couldn't imagine sending my child anywhere else. This is her 4th year here and we've always had the best experience.

Roanoke Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
Love this staff and the school. Was looking for charter at the beginning but then we enrolled our son here. Now we are happy we didn't go with charter as the curriculum is on par with charter schools and the staff are professional.


Roanoke Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
We love this school. I am sure I would be frustrated if it were my child from the other parent review. TX in general is ahead of the game; esp NWISD. We have transferred to IND and my daughter schooling has gone backward I feel. My child was also in the dual language program. I had one child not. Both children were expected to complete & were driven to do homework, feel great about themselves (love roundup) promoted. THe children are ahead of the game and TX has science. You can not replace that. The staff always addressed me by name and cordial, helpful. Mrs. Merki was always out an about. We will miss her. Everyone HAPPY to see parents there and involved. Probably the biggest volunteer happy school I have ever been involved in. Enjoyed our xperiences...and miss them too.

Roanoke Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
This school focuses on family involvment.

Roanoke Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
I will be moving out of this school distric soon. My son is not reading where he should be and their only response is to hold him back. He does not qualify for other 'services' available to other children because he has been tested and does not have a learning disability. So they will not help him in any way. I pay for tutors out of my own pocket and if he ever fails a TAKS test the decision to hold him back 'will be taken out of my hands.' This school has very caring teachers but the principal and district as a whole is only interested in their TEA rating. I would not give them ANY stars.


Roanoke Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter is in the new Dual Language Program and I can't say enough about her 2 teachers, Ms. Agularia and Ms. Webber. I have a talker and they have worked with me on ways to encourage her to do better and focus on her studies. Everyone at the school seems to be on target with where they want the kids to go and do. As far as 40 kids and two teachers, you have the right to remove your kids from this type of class if you so choose. I like the fact that they have classrooms for every type of learner. I love the fact that this school is forward thinking in starting the Dual language or combine classrooms. It only betters the child. According to research my child should speak, write, & understand Spanish and English by 5th grade. WOW!!!

Roanoke Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
I am really pleased so far with Roanoke Elementary. The interaction between the PTA and the teachers that I've seen is definitely not what I expected after the school district I came from. Last week, the school received the Exemplary School Award and the celebration brought tears to my eyes. The children all received t-shirts funded by the Roanoke City Council or City Hall, can't remember which. The PTA had asked them for their help. The principal had them all close their eyes and put on the shirts as they were passed out - still keeping their eyes closed. Afterwards, the children opened their eyes and saw their shirts. The principal gave a speech to tell them how wonderful they each were and then a million balloons fell from the ceiling as the music 'Celebrate' started playing. The children were allowed to jump up and play with the balloons.

Nearby schools

Roanoke Elementary School
1401 Lancelot Drive, Roanoke, TX  76262
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (817) 215-0650
Last modified Roanoke Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top