Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Rockwall

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2007

This is now our second year at HCA. We have a new headmaster who is a very Godly man and he has chosen some excellent new teachers for this year and the existing teachers that stayed are great as well. They have excellent sports programs and offer many other activities such as Art, Drama, Choir, Band. The Art teacher won teacher of the year. She is fantastic at bringing out the children's natural abilities and our football coach won coach of the year as our boys went undefeated to win state. There is great parent involvement and a real sense of family and community. We have an excellent missions program that I can not say enough about. I have and will continue to recommend HCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

School is most likely going to close down within a couple of years due to low enrollment. Football is given priority even over issues of integrity such as anti-drug enforcement. I would not recommend this school to anyone.


Posted April 4, 2006

Good teachers and facitlity. Uses saxon math which seems weak compared to the everyday math curriculum. Some friction with the board and families. Still the best option for a christian education in the Rockwall area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2006

Worth the tutition. Great school, great values.......Great students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

We have been at HCA for 4 years now. We have been pleased with the level of parent involvement. There is a real sense of family at this school. HCA is a small school with growing pains and it show in the availability of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

Heritage is a great school with spiritually guided teachers who care about the academic and spiritual growth of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Our experience with HCA spans ten years. We had a daughter in the first graduating class. My fourth child is a junior. I cannot speak highly enough about the Christian environment and the staff's love for their students. The school has an excellent track record for college admission due to the college preparatory curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed HCA. The administration, faculty and staff as well as the students reflect the Spirit of God always. The academics and learning environment are superb! HCA will have a place in our hearts always! Thanks you for your dedication to God, education and children especially my sons while they were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 31%
Black 6% 13%
Hispanic 4% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (972) 772-3770

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1408 South Goliad Street
Rockwall, TX 75087
Phone: (972) 772-3001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT