Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
376 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heritage Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
This school has taught my son to be extremely respectful. I get complemented for my son's manners at least 2 times a week.

Heritage Christian Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a community member
This school was a lifesaver for me and my 2 children. We have gone here since 2008, and it gets better and better each year!


Heritage Christian Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Students are not often given a pass from doing the hard work, but are adequately rewarded when they are determined to be focused and diligent.

Heritage Christian Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
There are high expectations for students in this environment. As a parent, I appreciate this very much.

Heritage Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
As in any school environment, you are not just dealing with the personality of your student and his/her teacher- but personalities of all the other children/families involved… Sometimes this is differing from your now goals and values…but isn;t that real life? I say this to say, that thought compassion, caring, and empathy is a characteristic goal a school can hope to develop- these traits are most developed in the home.


Heritage Christian Academy 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
As a parent, I am grateful for the experiences my children have had while attending HCA. As a family, we have made great friends, and count our HCA family like a second church family. The teachers are invested in the students- they seek to help them grow academically as well as in character. They encourage them in their strengths, and strive to foster a love for learning. When our children have had challenges, academic or otherwise, the teachers have encouraged them to preserve, be purposeful, and to work toward a resolution in a Christian manner. There are many opportunities for students to be engaged in various ways; parental involvement is also plentiful and encouraged. The administration is easily approachable and seems to be willingly participating with the teaching staff to create the best environment possible. For us, HCA has been a true blessing.

Heritage Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
Do to no budget, they are not sent to any trainings to update their skills and teaching. Being a teacher myself, I was floored at the lack of progress and how obsolete their ideas and skills are. Many do not even hold a masters degree. The principal was an attorney, and has no business running a school...hence the reason it's so old, and yet so small.

Heritage Christian Academy 1

Posted November 29, 2015
- a community member
Before sending my children here, I was sitting in Starbucks when two women sat near me and began gossiping and saying cruel things about their kids' school and teachers. The man near me gave me a look and we both giggled because they were such busy bodies. Then they said the name of the school, and I was floored! Due to a friend really liking the school, we decided to try it. It was such a horrible experience that we pulled our kids out after a few months and pit one in counseling for the bullying received for being the new kid. The parents were SO sweat to me until I left and they literally unfriended me on Facebook and one woman has continually acted like she doesn't know me at a Bible study we both attend! The staff and administration are an entirely unskilled, high ego group of people! The principal actually sat in front of the headmaster, my husband and I and shook his finger at me like I was a child because I was telling him his staff was not helping my child against the bullying! The teachers were unwilling to help when my child was struggling with the lesson. The English teacher said, "I have a long way to drive to get here and I don't have time to wait around to help any child. They either study harder or get the grade they get!" AND THESE ARE SUPPOSED TO BE CHRISTIAN PEOPLE! Honestly, I think the people involved with this school are in their own bubble and unwilling to see the realities of their behavior. Don't waist the money! Dallas Christian Academy is much, much better!


Heritage Christian Academy 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a student
As a student at Heritage Christian Academy, I felt that I received the best education that was available. My parents sacrificed to give me a Christian, college-preparatory education and I have been grateful for it every day. There were ups and downs during my time at the school, but the teachers and staff always stuck through it with me. After graduating from HCA, I excelled and graduated from a major university, and I give a lot of the credit to how well I was prepared during my time at Heritage. This school became a second home to me, and I still have great relationships with fellow students, teachers and staff after I left. As a student that lived it, I would recommend checking it out if you are interested in private christian education.

Heritage Christian Academy 1

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is not addressed as physical and emotional bullying thrives while teachers choose to not address issues at the child's expense. A bullying prevention program is not in place and when students reach out for help their cries fall on deaf ears as their told not to "tattle." There is not enough hands on engaging activities in coordination with the abeka worksheets that are used.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Christian Academy
1408 South Goliad Street, Rockwall, TX  75087
(972) 772-3003
Last modified Heritage Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Heritage Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top