Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dorris A Jones Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers truly care about student success and progress. They work to meet student needs in all areas, not just the academics. Great school to attend!

Dorris A Jones Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Texas from Tennessee this year and were displaced to Jones in early September. This school has a new principal and assistant principal. What ever problems there were in the past are long gone. I was impressed. The guidance counselor was instrumental in easing the girls in. The principal and vice principal are fantastic at dealing with issues approximately and with a caring heart. My daughter's, in 3rd and 5th grades, were challenged academically and loved going to school every day!


Dorris A Jones Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
So many changes this year- for the better! Great leadership both with Mrs. Twedell and Mrs. Reeves. This school will be going strong!!!!

Dorris A Jones Elementary School 1

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
I went to school there in 6th Grade. My worst Year ever. The Principals woudn't take care of anything. There were a lot of bullies during the Year, and the principals thought they were the Number 1 students. I am glad they got new principals. It might change now

Dorris A Jones Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
We are new to this school, and are very happy with it so far. The teachers aare helpful, and seem organized. My children seem happy there. I am impressed with their extra activities they offer being they are an elementary school. The only negative is their office staff. Ive been called a few times so far for various reasons and when I return the call I have encountered the same unfriendly woman answering the phone everytime. She almost makes me feel like I am bothering her. Otherwise it is a good school and they seem like they really care about the kids!


Dorris A Jones Elementary School 2

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
As a parent who has two kids who recently were moved to this school I can say that while I think the teachers are trying I do not sense the leadership can perform given the situation (unsure if they know how to at the leadership level). I do not sense the teachers receive support and the school is unorganized (especially lunch room). There seems to be a general lack of engagement at the highest levels. I sense the parents are trying (some of them) but due to the student makeup (family background and primary language) I would not recommend this school. The vast majority of what I see is kids simply being dropped off wtih the hopes of a good education but many are forced multi lingual with their parents not taking an interest in trying to instill a more common family language. Many kids (from my time being there) also share a view that this is not a great place to be and I have been told of problems out of many students (discipline issue) which do not seem to be dealt with or are only dealt with using techniques which will not solve the issue. School also seems to send home more ads (advertisements for city businesses) than they do homework.

Dorris A Jones Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
I have no complaints about Jones. I drop my kids off to get their education and so far its been a great ride...

Dorris A Jones Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
As a parent who has been at Jones for over 2 years now. I have to say that the school is doing a magnificent job! As with anything there is always room for improvement. The principal and Asst. Principal are open minded to new suggestions and ideas and take care in being apart of all the students at Jones. As for the teachers, there are all kinds of personalities and they are all so different. But they have one thing in common.. they are all there to educate our children and do a superb job!


Dorris A Jones Elementary School 3

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
As a parent I feel: New principal is unorganized, biased. The school has lost several great teachers. Contimplating moving across town to a new school.

Dorris A Jones Elementary School 3

Posted June 07, 2004
- a parent
Total mess. No organization. No leadership. Planning on moving across town to better school.

Nearby schools

Dorris A Jones Elementary School
2051 Trail Glen, Rockwall, TX  75032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (972) 772-1070
Last modified Dorris A Jones Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top