Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joe Hubenak Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 911 students

 
 

Living in Rosenberg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

This is a great school with great management. I am very proud of the school and the positive impact on the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

This school is currently under investigation for injuries to children with disabilities. Please contact the Rosenberg Police department for public notification on these matters..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2014

We moved to Texas from out of state so my daughter transferred over to Hubenak in December. So far the transition has been wonderful. It's safe to say I'm very happy with the school. The staff and teachers have been very helpful and friendly. My daughter loves her teacher and the students seem to be so polite and well behaved. (I pick up and drop off my daughter everyday and I occasionally join my daughter for lunch, so I get to observe the students.) I couldn't ask for ask for things to turn out better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

My son is Autistic Non verbal and it was reported to me by a another parent at the school that on 1/22/2014 she observed my son being forced fed in the cafeteria, and they had him walking in the cafeteria without his shoes, I have reported it to the school, the district and the TEA, no response!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This is my daughter's first year at Hubenak and so far things are going well. The only complaint I have at this time is the attitude of the receptionist in the front office. She is not friendly. When I walked in the door and she looked at me I smiled and walked up to the counter and waited for about 1 minute before I was acknowledged and it wasn't from her...some nice lady came out of the office with the glass window and asked if I had been helped. I felt the receptionist could have atleast acknowledged my presence so I figured maybe she was having a bad day......the next 2 times I visited the school the same thing happened. I sat down and witnessed it happen to another visitor standing at the counter smiling waiting for some type of response. Again someone other than her was kind enough to ask if everbody had been helped in wbich we both said "No". I feel like she is a representitive of the staff at the school and her attitude should reflect as such but the impression she give is that she is not having a good day, don't like her job, and does not want to be bothered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2013

Principal and assistant do not listen to parents. The teachers help students with TAKS test. They made my son stay longer and go over his work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

This school is great! The principal is cruel and rude to the students, treats them like soldiers. There isn't any socializing allowed inside the building at all, not even breakfast or lunch. There aren't any skill activities allowed in the classrooms. My child is in 2nd grade and never has anything good to say about her day at school, though she gets great behavior charts and grades, she should be allowed a little excitement in her day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

This school is located in Lakes of Bella Terra, and our daughter completed Kindergarten and is now in 1st grade. We are so pleased with her progress, and attribute that to the wonderful teachers who have rallied behind her and constantly encourage her to push forward. Her test scores have been excellent, and she consistently has a can do attitude when it comes to homework assignments. She's gaining a strong academic foundation at Hubenak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

My child has completed kindergarten and first grade at Hubenak. She has had excellent teachers who have loved on her and kept her challenged. I have seen consistency in a high level of quality in her classes as well as those in upper grades as evidence by their very high test scores. Hubenak has provided fun academic programs to help get parents involved. Her music programs have been excellent and all specials classes seem to have the same high level of excellence as the academic classes. I look forward to four more years at Hubenak, watching my little husky grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

I am a parent of a fifth grader at Hubenak. While I am not happy with several things ie. school rules, admin- at this school there are a few things worth mentioning. My child performed betterbthan ever on TAKS, we have been blessed to have good teachers this year and last. But what I need to mention is a teacher that has taken the time to get to know my child as a person and I know she Ioves my kid. From what I hear, the kids love her and respect her bc she treats them as her own. Mrs. Wells has given my child the self confidence they were lacking and taught my kid that reading isn't so bad or hard after all. I have chatted with Mrs. Wells at several school functions and can tell you that you should consider yourself lucky if your child gets to be in her class. I don't wantbto focus on all the negatives I see at this school but did feel the need to praise this teacher and to mention that my child has also enjoyed science labs this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

This school is very quick to act in cases where a child qualified under a 504 (Special Needs and Disabilities Act). I'm happy with the way his main teacher, Mrs. O'Donnell, responds to his individual ways of learning. He finally is reading, loves math and RUNS to do his homework every day. Thank you AP, for taking him under your wing and recognizing the unique little person he is underneath his mental conditions. Thank you, principal, for being patient, professional and thorough, and also for recognizing that he does have unusual patterns of great potential and intelligence in areas he chooses. Thanks, Tiffany, for the love and kindess you offer to him. He needs a break sometimes from loud noises and overstimulation. Thanks Nicole, for making him giggle and distracting him when he's in "angry mode". Thanks Mynette, for working so quickly with Dr. Trani to make sure everything is in place for his 504 needs coming up very soon and for calming him down when needed. The only thing I would change is specials. Autistic kids have very different needs and cannot be forced to conform to singing in groups of sticking to the less challenging eras of art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

My son attended kindergarten here last year. He LOVED it! It is a quiet, safe, well-run school. He had an excellent teacher, Ms Pallat who gave him a very strong foundation academically. He now reads at the top level possible for his grade level and can sound out any word because of his fine knowledge of phonics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black or African American97%
Asian94%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Black or African American84%
Asian94%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female84%
Male91%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 29%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Black 23% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 21%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 11%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3911 Avenue I
Rosenberg, TX 77471
Website: Click here
Phone: (832) 223-0000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT