Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
140 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Concordia High School 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
We moved to this area from St. Louis over the summer and couldn't be more blessed by our freshman daughter attending Concordia High School! The school has a freshman retreat which occurs the two days before school actually starts. This was an excellent way for my daughter to meet and get to know all her future classmates in a fun retreat setting. She says the entire school functions like a family......even the seniors are friendly and kind to the freshman and don't have a "seniority rules" attitude towards the younger students. The administration is exceptionally "with it" and is doing a marvel job of moving and growing the school forward with excellence in education. The teachers are incredibly qualified, go well above and beyond the call of duty, and work together as a team to nurture and teach the students. The cross country coach even meets us at a drop off point and drives a couple of the kids to the early morning practices because we can't get them to practice so far away. Speaking of distance, the Concordia bus that picks up and drops off at Wolf Ranch is a lifesaver for us as we don't know how we could make it work to commute to the campus with our work schedules. Our daughter is being academically challenged and we are thrilled that the school has a program in place to work with each student on their college plans and applying for scholarships. Don't let finances affect your decision on choosing Concordia; there is help available and it is worth every penny of investment for these four critical years of high school!

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
Our children attended private Christian schools for elementary and middle school, but we gave them the option of attending public high school. I am so grateful they chose to continue their private school education at Concordia Academy High School! We love the smaller class sizes and the personal attention our children receive. The teachers are outstanding (many have their master degrees and some have taught at the college level) and they challenge the students academically. Teachers, administration, and parents work together at this school to do what is best for the students. There are many extracurricular opportunities in sports, drama, choir, academic competitions - something for everyone! We are so happy that our children are in a safe, nurturing, Christian environment during their teen years and surrounded with teachers that challenge them to do their best, to try new things, and give back to their community. They will also be prepared to be successful college students. We have not had a single regret that we did not send our children to a big, impersonal, bureacratic public high school!


Concordia High School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
I can`t say enough about this school...yes academically challenging...the teachers are well educated but more than that, they are people who care and love your teen. Strong leadership and working with parents is this principals top priority.None of the drama, clicks, bullying that you would find in public schools....everyone is like family! We are so blessed to have our daughter here.

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter was an incoming freshman. We struggled with the quality of education and the lack of accountability in the public school she would be attending. After looking into several private schools in the area we selected Concordia. We were concerned about how our daughter would be treated or "singled out" as were were not coming from a private school environment or even of the Luthern faith. From the first time we visited the school we felt the family atmosphere. The teachers and administration are top notch and truly care about the kids. The amount of interaction between faculty and student body is amazing. We found it refreshing that our daughter was accepted by all students at the school whether they be freshmen or seniors. The curriculum taxes the kids and I am convinced that our daughter will be prepared for college. Of utmost importance was that she would be brought up in a school with Christian values and this is truly the center of everything that happens at Concordia. Take the time to make a visit. You will not regret it.

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
They say the best hospitals are the ones with the best teamwork (who wants a hospital where the nurse is afraid to tell the Dr. that it is the wrong leg). Schools are no different. After student teaching in AISD and then teaching high school there, I found the dynamics between the administration and the teachers undermining the learning atmosphere. It all filters down to the classroom. That is what I appreciate so much about Concordia. There is no drama!! Just wonderfully experienced teachers who are doing a really good job. The administration is supportive. The result of this is the kids get to be the focus.


Concordia High School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
We looked at a lot if private schools and Concordia is the best. Small classes with great teachers. The children have families of other students and an advisor that stay together though high school. The principal seems to be very accessible to the students and parents.

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
We reviewed a lot of private high schools after my child graduated from another K-8 private school. CHS has dedicated teachers, small classes, strong leadership and with multiple opportunities for sports activities. Any parent looking for a solid education and foundation for their children, should consider Concordia High School.

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
My daughter went to Anderson H.S. in Austin for her freshman year. She did well there, but after dealing w/ the public school ordeals, we toured Concordia. The students welcomed her like a long lost friend on day one! Anderson and Concordia were like night and day differences for her. She has better and closer friendships, she enjoys school immensely more, she is involved in many more extra-curricular activities due to the small class sizes, she has better adult mentors, and she is still challenged academically (our #1 priority). She is scoring well on her standardized tests and I believe she will be well prepared for college. I've been impressed w/ the faculty and how they challenge the students. The parents have been super and the faculty works w/ the parents to insure my daughter is getting the most out of high school. I feel we are one big team. The move to iPads is a real plus, allowing students to easily communicate w/ each other remotely on studies when questions arise. Besides cutting down on heavy textbooks, that's the feature I think is most useful (and it has the "cool" factor). My daughter and I are happy we chose CHS!


Concordia High School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter attended four years of high school at Concordia High school before going on to college. Now our Son is a Junior at Concordia. We have been extremely pleased with the Teachers and Staff as well as the classroom sizes. The Student receive great one on one mentoring and teaching in a Christian based atmosphere, which does a wonderful job preparing them for College and life after High School. The Principal and staff do a great job teaching accountability and respect and lead by example. We would highly recommend Concordia High School to anyone searching for a quality Christian based education!

Concordia High School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
Concordia has met and exceeded our expectations. Our son is thriving in his freshman year, thanks to the dedicated faculty and administrators. The small student/faculty ratio enables success and many opportunities for participation. We are so thankful for the excellence in education at Concordia.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Concordia High School
1500 Royston Ln, Round Rock, TX  78664
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (512) 248-2547
Last modified Concordia High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top