Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Oaks Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 581 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Chandler Oaks has high expectations of their staff, as well as students. Staff work hard to comply with RRISD curriculum, IB standards and parent requests. This is not an easy task! Students feel successful and feel a sense of purpose in their community. They learn to be caring, responsible citizens, as well as scholars. Parents have been quick to bad mouth teachers and school policies, without having much background knowledge on either one. In short, Chandler Oaks offers students a unique learning experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2014

RUN RUN RUN away from this school as fast as you can! We moved into the Stone Oak area over 13 years ago & anxiously anticipated the opening of our new elementary school. Our children attended from the school's start through the 2012-2013 school year. What you should know: PLEASE do your research on IB-PYP "curriculum". They sell it like it's an advanced education that will put your kid way above those in non IB schools. The truth is your kid will spend 7 hrs a day learning NOTHING! Your kids will not be taught basic fundamentals of math like multiplication charts for instance. Can you see your 5th grader drawing little pictures to represent numbers in an equation that he is working on (60 apples then circle groups of 10). Forget teaching spelling...."it will come with time". Except by Oct./Nov. grading period your kid gets pulled into a "special group" so that he can have help with spelling. Let's not teach then single out & make kid feel stupid!! IB is all about writing. Great, unless you expect the writing to follow any rules.A kid whose had to do so much writing should have decent sentence structure & paragraph form down. not to mention spelling! RUN!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

As a former Chandler Oaks teacher & parent, I write this with great concern & caution. Here are the facts: The current principle(as of 2013 school year) was fired from her previous school in the Anderson Mill area for her lack of leadership, teacher & staff dissatisfaction which lead to multiple negative school board reviews, and teacher turnover due to problems with administration. More teachers have left Chandler Oaks since its inception in 2011 than any other school in the RRISD. Two children have been reported to have left the school property midday, walked home, & were not reported missing to the parents until hours later (I live very near by & know this to be factual). According to the RRISD school board teachers association & board reviews, more complaints have been filed on behalf of the teaching staff with regards to the lack of healthy leadership than any other elementary school in Round Rock. To cap it off, the current principle holds & practices extremely liberal views on marriage, education, & family. Please think twice before allowing this administration to shape your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My school is great. It is located in my community. We are IB. My daughter is happy attending here. Great community as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

We live so close our child could walk to COE, but it'd snow in the Sahara before we would send a kid there again. This school views involved parents as issues to handle, not as the people who care most about their kids' education. Most of the kids here started at Cactus Ranch, and already there are clear indications they tested better there. COE's mostly new teachers (50% have 5 years experience or less) are coasting off CRE's good work. What made us leave? After weeks of silence, we finally raised concerns about a poor teacher. COE admin went into overdrive to defend her and attack us! They even went on a fishing expedition via an Orwellian dream called the 'Lunch Bunch,' which puts kids the admin wants to 'help' at a lunch table with a counselor, who then leads the kids to badmouth their parents. The admin then uses this against parents who don't respond as COE admin demands. After suffering through this, we found our neighbors had removed their child from COE because of the same poor teacher AND the same bullying admin. Even the parent group is clueless, more concerned about t-shirt and Kona Ice sales than their kids' educational results. We expected better from RRISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

We love this school! From the location, the safety, office staff, principal, teachers & parent involvement. We can't say enough positive things about the school. The IB Program is fantastic, it encourages children to be inquirers to think and to ask questions. Students don't have to sit on their chair for 8 hours & be bored, they get to do fun Science Projects in the "Village", they get to do Flashlight Reading, listen to Math Rap Songs and do all kinds of fun stuff while learning the traditional Curriculum and working on their IB Units, like "Who we are in the World", or "How we co-exist"....why wouldn't you want to go to this school???!! I wish my school would have had so many fun things to do. Yes, the first year the school was open it was a pretty tough year, but everybody basically just got their feet wet. The problems were taken care of immediately and we flew through the 2nd year with a breeze. We are 3rd year Cheetah's and unfortunately we have to move due to my husbands job and won't be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

Great school and great teachers. The IB program is excellent. My girls love the school and I volunteered time to time in the Watchdog program. Definitely recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

The facilities are great. If your child has special needs, look elsewhere. Our child has Autism. The school was unwilling to take the recommendations of my wife, myself, nor our son's psychologist. My least favorite memory is when the principal said, " your child has no sense of community"...really? Our son was repeatedly punished days after inappropriate behavior occurred. He was not allowed to participate in Gym class due to behavior related to his disabilities. He was threatened with not participating on a field trip due to behavior relating to his disability even though my wife volunteered to go on it with him. I am certain there are some good teachers at Chandler Oaks but the leadership coming from the top down leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I just moved here from out of state where I was a teacher, and while in the process of getting my Texas Credential I am subbing. I have subbed at this school several times and I must say that this school has it together! The staff is amazing, the students are learning leaps and bounds and I am very impressed at the feel of community and family in the school!


Posted August 15, 2011

I am a teacher at COE and admit it was a rough first year, but to be expected since it was our opening year and administration was out on medical leave for almost half of the year. In reviewing some of the "complaints" by parents, being on the "same page" for the whole school was an issue, but is something that has been resolved after our first year. As teachers and staff, we were disappointed in the lack of flexibility from a small group of parents who wanted it their way or the highway. Requests and demands were made that were sometimes denied by administration in order to protect teachers and the learning environment. Please remember that as teachers our job is to educate, not people please. Policies can be put in place for reasons that parents are not aware of, but concern incidents that have occured and warrant a change in policy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2011

This school certainly has some wrinkles to iron out in many areas! Being that last year was the opening year some of the issues were expected. My kids (Kinder and 4th grade) liked school and liked their teachers, that means alot to me. I feel however, their teachers are all over the board from exceptional to less than average. It would be great to see the principal more interactive with the parents and be more approachable overall. Getting all the teachers and teams on the same page is a key factor that seems to be missing. I am in the field of child development myself but feel like I needed to "coach" my kindergartner"s entire team more than I should have had to. The teacher herself went above and beyond it just didn't seem like she had the support she needed from administration. I feel like the color behavior based system is a "one size fits all" method that needs lots of adjusting. The counselor is great and my sons 4th grade teacher is exceptional.Confident and hopeful for a better year this year in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

There were so many problems in both of my students grades along the same line as 1 star posters below that my children will not attend Chandler Oaks again. Kindergarten in particular was a disaster. My child knew more educational basics coming out of preschool than at this school. Parents of kindergarteners in particular were not welcome, encouraged and often treated as children themselves. My experience with 2nd grade academic expectations were really low. I taught 2nd grade concepts at home because it was lacking at school, especially in basic math facts. I flat also flat out lied to by the principal and the kindergarten teacher on several very important occasions. I don't tolerate lying from my kids let alone from people in charge of my children for the majority of the day. The PTA was the only good thing going. The nurse and the counselor were tops in my book too. But that alone doesn't make a school good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I have to start off by saying my sons 1st grade teacher was awesome. He loved her and she loved him, and that is a wonderful thing. Their is no doubt in my mind that she felt the same way about the other children in her class. She had high expectations of her students because she knew that they were able, and I loved that about her. She kept the parents up to date on all of the happenings, and while out on maternity leave we still heard from her from time to time... now that is dedication! If I were rating her alone I would give her 10 stars. I think the school itself still has things to straighten out like most new schools do. My son went to Terravista last year and the homework was craziness. However, I think Chandler Oaks was lacking in that department. To the parents of Chandler Oaks... I did meet a lot of nice people, but boy did I run into some really unfriendly and unhappy people. We are our childrens best teachers, and our children learn from us. We need to be sure that we are being the best examples that we can be for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

The teachers my children (2nd and 4th grade) had at Chandler Oaks were dedicated to student success. Academics were challenging without too much homework. Emotional needs (including a bullying situation) were addressed by teachers, counselor, and the PALS program. Leadership: We had some issues as a new school as policies set by the administration were meshed with the community in which it serves. Our principal had to leave for health reasons during the school year, and because of the uncertainty in the air before and after her absence, the principal seemed "unapproachable." The AP, counselor, and office, continue to make parents feel at home by answering questions and providing support, proving that the principal is not the only leader in a school. It was difficult for our communities to love and transition from Cactus Ranch, then Teravista and Sommer ...All of the schools have their pros and cons, and we are weaving the pros. One steady thing: PARENTS! The parent involvement is tremendous, and the school as a whole encourages parent AND student involvement inside and OUTSIDE of school through its many family-oriented activities and academics. I look forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

This school fosters an atmosphere of oversensitivity and tattletaling. Concerns brought to administration are dismissed, if a teacher is involved, communication between school/home is nonexistent. Kids are pulled into counselors office with no parental notification whatsoever. Teachers snap and yell at kids, which is also dismissed by administration. This school protects the true bullies, and makes mountains out of molehills with the regular kids. Kinder team is unfriendly and sometimes antagonistic toward parent involvement. Controling environment, my child has been yelled at and made to "change her color" for drinking water, yes drinking water. She was told "you don't need water right now, change your color". Spend much time focusing on IB principles instead of academic. My 3rd grader had to learn times tables at home, not part of curriclum. I truly could go on but mainly hit the major problems. there are some TRULY fabulous teachers who go the extra mile for their classes, but there are some really awful ones who shouldn't even be working with kids, and the principal is clueless as to the difference, like the distinction between true bullying and good natured ribbing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

There is a lack of high scademic standards. When concerns were brought up they were dismissed and blame was put on home instead of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

This school is great! The principal & her assistant are very involved with all of the students. The teachers do a great job, personally as well as academically. Also, I especially love the idea about submitting an absence online which will be making my life easier and more convenient:) My son is in the first grade and learning so much. I loved his teacher and the school counsellor.. It was my son's great experience in school that he has not asked for a better place to continue his world of learning. The PTA is very involved in school activities & fundraising. It has been a wonderful experience the entire time. I'm thankful for the caring staff and the dedication they have to their students. They make each day a great learning experience. On top of that, I were made to feel very welcome every visit I make!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

88 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female98%
Male89%
Black or African American100%
Asian91%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male85%
Black or African American40%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black or African American80%
Asian78%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education53%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
Black or African American50%
Asian86%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education47%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female83%
Male63%
Black or African American50%
Asian75%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education40%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education60%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education60%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education43%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 29%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 Stone Oak Drive
Round Rock, TX 78681
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 704-0400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT