Advertisement
Advertisement

Rockwall Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

We are best known for academics and sports program.

 
 

Living in Rowlett

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Really wish I had seen the reviews before sending my child there. The gossiping is true, the text and snap chat all day during class is true, students are not treated equally, and the lack of class options are seriously limiting your childs potential. There are no electives, and the barley have enough students for sports. Total lack of communication between parents and staff, But plenty among students and staff if there is someone to talk about negatively. School might have been great in the past but not anymore. It would take a serious staff over haul to fix the problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Horrible school. Kids learn nothing. They sit and class and snapchat and text. Most teachers don't even know how to teach or what they're even teaching about. Don't send your kid here, you're wasting their potential to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Very disappointed sending my child to this school. Teachers and staff gossip amunst the student about other students. Girls are not treated as equals with the boys. You are limiting your childs potential by sending him here. No arts or music program, sports are a joke, no electives. Students are forced to take a outdated computer class and spanish, those are the only two no core classes offered. Also worst case of nepotism ive ever seen as the principals child goes there. This student runs the school, causing a lot of drama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

I am sad to see RCA will be closing after next year. I think they are throwing a good program away. I know they are still enrolling with no intent to keep the school open after next year which I find dishonest. They do however plan to become a Public Charter, so if you want your child to have a Christian education, RCA is not the place for you. The leadership of the school has decided it is to expensive so they have their hand out. A charter school may be perfect for your family, but if you want a Christian education, RCA is not the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

RCA is a good school choice if your child's gifts are athletics and the public school athletics don't offer your child a chance to succeed. They will have lots of opportunities to participate in athletics. I give RCA and average in academics because it varies so from teacher to teacher. Some of the high school teacher's are above average and prepare the students for college while some are so-so. If your child's gifts are the arts: visual art, drama, music then RCA is not the school for your child. Very limited electives and exposure to the arts. There is a lot of favor showed to students in athletics in the secondary program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

Rockwall Christian truly lives up to its mission to "educate the whole child." My children have grown strong in athletics, academics, leadership skills, and artistic pursuits. They have grown comfortable with speaking in public, leading projects, and they do very well interacting with adults in an impressively articulate manner. I feel they are truly being prepared very well success in college, business, and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I am so impressed with the care and attention that has been given to my pre-k child here. He is very happy and I never have to worry about him through the day. He was in daycare before coming here and he would cry not to go because of bullying and other issues. Since he's been coming here, he feels so much more safe and secure and his acedemic skills have greatly improved. Class time is very organized and calm. He just scribbled before RCA, but now he colors in line, writes well, knows the alphabet, knows his numbers, he's learning to read, and has even learned some Spainish. My child loves this school, he adores his teacher, and he looks forward to class every day. I am so blessed to have my precious little boy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

We have been in public school and now at a private school. This is a small school, so to compare this school to the things that a large school district has to offer would not be an equal comparision. Just like a small company and a large company would not offer the same things, a small school is not able to meet all the electives a large school can meet. Electives can't replace that this school has an incredible student/teacher relationship. My 2 children attend this school and the relationship they share with the adults at school is not replaceable. The focus is following Christ at this school. The healing that takes place in the children by being with the teachers and administration is priceless. Christ-like, servanthood is lived out before the students, priceless. The thing we are most impressed with is the excellent teacher/student relations. Thank you, RCA, from a family who will never be the same after the personal healing that has taken place in our lives, and other families we know who have gone through personal challenges and come out on the other side, healed and whole because they were surrounded by nurturing, caring, teachers and administrators. God Bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

Our child attends RCA, and this is our fourth year. We appreciate the academic rigor, but more importantly, the spiritual environment. The teachers are loving and nurturing. We can't imagine putting our child anywhere else. She is going to be an RCA graduate before we know it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My daughter has been at RCA for 3 yrs and loves it. Positive christian environment. The curriculum is good for the average student but lacks for children that need to be challanged and become bored. The school needs a G& T program so children can excell. They also need a Spanish classes offered for ALL students and not just high school level. There are some great teachers that really care about the students but other teachers are kept on staff even though it is common knowledge that they are substandard and need to be replaced. The principal is kind and loving but the parents have no influence on changes that need to take place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

Teachers are very closed minded and will not listen to suggestions or comments from students or parents. Most lack knowledge of their subject area. The athletes run the school and get away with just about anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

Congratulations, RCA, for being honored with "2010 School of the Year"! It is such a privilege to be a part of such an outstanding faculty, and we so rightfully give God all the glory for this award! As an educator who has worked in the public and private school arena for two decades, I have to say that RCA's strong sense of family and community, its commitment to academic rigor, and, more than anything, its focus on meeting the needs of every single student in each classroom is why I remain completely committed to the purpose - the vision - of this school. Thank you, fellow colleagues, for a wonderful summer of professional and personal growth. It is certain God will grant us another incredible school year partnering with families who trust us with their most precious treasures.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2010

My wife and I decided to enroll our little girl at RCA several years ago, and we are convinced we have received a great value for our investment. Her teachers remain focused on meeting the needs of each student, and our daughter is absolutely thriving! The atmosphere is great! There is a wonderful family feel at RCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

We currently have an elementary child enrolled at Rockwall Christian Academy, and our oldest daughter recently graduated from RCA. We spent so much time researching where we wanted our children to attend school. The checklist we had in our minds was long and detailed. Rockwall Christian Academy has surpassed our expectations, and we have watched our little boy grow academically and spiritually. When we drop him off every morning, we know he is in a safe, nurturing environment and is surrounded by teachers who love him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I went to RCA for four years after coming from public school. The worst thing for my education. They are VERY close minded. They change the rules so much. They stand behind the teachers even if they are wrong. They allow the teachers to treat the students however they want. The teachers so bad about public schools. When public schools are actually better. The principals go behind the students back and talk about other students. They try to get information out of the students, When they shouldn't. They don't keep it professional at all. All they care about is money, the more money your parents have the better the student gets treated! As long as your putting money into the school they let you get away with whatever. Dont send your child here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

Hi. I go to RCA and love it! The teachers are so cool and the sports are so fun. Our sports teams do really well and our academics are really cool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2006

We have 3 children enrolled at RCA, and are extremely pleased with not only the excellent standard set for academics, but also with the level of genuine love and attention that the teachers give our children. Our children are consistently challenged and encouraged in their academics. We also greatly appreciate the opportunity they have to be in an environment where the Word of God is taught, and they are led by the faculty's example in Godly leadership. We strongly recommnend RCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

We have two children enrolled at RCA; one child has been with RCA for six years. Because we have experience with public school and another private school, we're able to do a realistic comparison of RCA . Academically, RCA is forward thinking - across all subject areas. Curriculum is chosen based on much research and student results. If its obvious that change needs to occur to produce better results, administration does not adhere to the 'we've always done it this way' thinking. But more than the progressive academics, we keep our children at RCA because the student-teacher relationship factor is unmatched. While maintaining professionalism, RCA teachers seek to establish a healthy relationship with their students. RCA students, in general, are convinced their teachers care deeply for them - spiritually and academically. For this, we are most thankful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

Rockwall Christian Academy is a wonderful school. Our family has been a part of it for over 8 years. I have seen incredible investments made into the lives of my children both spiritually and academically. As a single parent, I can say that this school has been a safe place and a blessing for our whole family.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 13, 2006

When my 6 year old daughter started first grade this year she was not enthusiastic. She worried because she was a slow reader. She soon discovered as I did that the programs offered by Rockwall Christian academy greatly improved her abilities in a short amount of time. With this new found ease of learning she became more confident and found a love for learning. I will always be grateful for not only these programs that are offered but for the gentle way they were taught. My daughter never felt like anyone was disappointed in her abilities while she learned. At the beginning of her first grade year she was the slowest reader in her class. By the end of the year she was one of the fastest. She now looks forward to starting second grade. Thank you RCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Black 12% 14%
Asian 9% N/A
Hispanic 8% 47%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of the Year (2010)
  • Administrator of the Year (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jeanne Zakem
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ORUEF
Fax number
  • (972) 463-3746

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Rockwall Christian continues to remain abreast of educational developments resulting in a strong academic program. We meet the needs of individual students. RCA has a strong sense of family and community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6005 Dalrock Rd
Rowlett, TX 75088
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 412-8266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT