Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keeley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 623 students

 
 

Living in Rowlett

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2008

I have a 5 yr old in ms. owens class grade k and a 4th grader in ms. wood's 4th grade class. They are very caring and very attentive teachers. I am greatful my children were able to have a fun and educational school year. Thank you Ms. Owen and ms. wood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is our first year in a public school, as we transferred in from a private Christian school. It is too early to give appropriate feedback on academics. I can say the Moose book that you pay $5.00 is helpful for keeping track of what is going on, and for communication between parent and teacher. Since it is just past the 6 week period, I've not had Meet the Teacher to get detailed information about the classroom curriculum times, and general questions a 'new' parent may have. My daughter is a 2nd grader, and has music alternating Friday's; P.E. is twice a week, and 1-2 Friday's a month. I'm not certain about Art class. As I learn more about Keeley, and develop opinions, I'll be certain to update.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Keeley is a great school. I believe it provides above average academic programs for all children. I believe for the most part the teachers promote positive education feedback to the children. Especially with the tutororials and extra assistance they provide. I feel that the children enjoy the school and receive great benefit from attending Keeley. The level of parent involvement is good and that is great to know. I will continue to allow my child and most likely my next child to attend Keeley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

This is one of the best elementary schools in the district. The school encourages parent participation and the teachers are well respected in the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2005

OK if your child has no special needs. Too many students. It is crowded. Many teachers are on the alternative teaching plan. They have never taught, and often are inexperienced. Horrible communication. I have had 4 children, in ten years attend this school, and feel that all they care about is how they are rated in TAKS tests. They will do anything to be rated Exemplary. Very mean spirited staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

All they care about is being rated Exemplary at any cost. Special Education is terrible. There have been 4 teachers in 4 years for Special Ed. No thought is given to the children and what is good for them. High level of parental participation, almost like clicks. Very dissapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

I am shocked and disappointed at these reviews. People are fighting to get their children into this school because of the exceptional quality education it provides yet the only reviews given to this point have been negative. Keeley is wonderful with excellent teachers who do everything a parent would want for their child. I am a parent of two Keeley students as well as an educator with 12 years of teaching experience at other schools and feel extremely lucky to have my children in this school. The principal is well respected and deservedly so. Her teachers respect her and work hard to maintain a subperb educational environment. We have been fortunate enough to have 4 exceptional teachers here and I know that quality teachers are hard to find. My recommendation to those who are unhappy is move elsewhere and make room for others who want their kids in an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

While I agree with some of the other reviewers, I have some positive feedback as well. Chaotic afternoon pickup, major safety issues. We have reported to city as well as school without much feedback. Principal and administrative comments in other reviews accurate. Trying to get help for kids with problems is impossible and a nightmare. However, I have had 2 wonderful, impressive teachers so far that have really made a difference in my childs education and have taken extra efforts to stimulate him. However, discipline seems to be too rough for the small things and not enough for things that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

I feel that this school's leaders have let the 'exemplary' rating get to their heads- it's as if since they're recognized as being superior, they don't have to put forth effort to educate these children... that the reputation will set the standard, then the school will ride the coat tails of the title. With the exception of a very select few staff members, we've been extremely disappointed in what we thought would be a superior education for our children. The teachers we've had seemed more concerned with their own appearance and social status amongst themselves than with the well-being of the children that are left in their hands for 35 hours per week. The principal is a non-presence in the school, which is suprizing since she holds a Doctorate degree. Personally, I say, if you live in the area, consider another school for your children. You'll be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Having a child at Keeley Elementary was a disappointing experience for my family. Most staff members were very closed minded and lacked formal training in dealing with students from diverse backgrounds. The PTA was a clique of parents who spent more time gossiping than taking care of the needs of the school. The school's atmosphere was cold and uninviting. It's sad to say that most of the students thought that the assistant principal is the instructional leader at the school instead of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2004

This viewpoint is from a stepmom and noncustodial father. My stepdaughter has attended Keeley for two years. This school does not recognize, nor do they respect step-parents and the role they play in their step-childs life. My husband and I, for the past 2 years has continued to try and be involved in all aspects of his daughters education. The teachers my step-daughter has had have failed to contact him when the childs mother has been contacted about different issues. These two ladies only see mom as a parent I would guess. They have a 'if I didn't see it, it didn't happen' rule when dealing with bullies, therefore allowing the bullies to continue picking on fellow classmates. Neither teacher has responded to my notes, or e-mails when I have a concern. The teachers have yet to properly assist my step-daughter in areas she is having difficulites in. The teachers attitudes are lacking and negative. The school is overcrowded, the afternoon pickup is chaotic with many disrespectful parents & a lack of direction from school staff. We are currently looking for a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education80%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education83%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education88%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education67%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education44%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingual82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female89%
Male94%
Black or African American90%
Asian90%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education60%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian90%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 29%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Black 14% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 7%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Liberty Grove Road
Rowlett, TX 75089
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 412-2140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT