Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sachse High School

Public | 9-12 | 2772 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sachse

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2006

My child is a junior at Sachse. We have had more bad moments than good with regards to the teaching staff and principal. We would have switched after freshman year but we have not had a way for our child to get to another school. Sachse is in dire need of change in the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2006

Great School, Fantastic Principal who keeps things running well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

The school appears well organized at the front office. I would like to see opportunities for off campus P.E. for those who are athletes, in all disciplines, such as Equestrian, Swimming, and other disciplines where the school offers no support to those students who have these abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

We have been happy with the school overall. Would like to see more emphasis on learning and less on teaching to the test. Some behavioural issues exist that teachers and principal should have better control over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

This is a great school to send you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

My son is in his second year at Sachse and it has been great! The staff has been friendly and helpful. They are very professional and get the job done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

i am a student at scahse and i do not thin the school is doing there part.the kids are forced to now pay more attention to the clothen then the education.they havemore kidss out then in class but a nice school the buildin is cute but the people make it and it s not to good ther are racest people ,staff members that work ther i think u should think twice for sending ur kid there
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2004

i think sachse high school is neat. not only are we enjoying an education with 0 input or care in actual knowlage, the only thing that matters is how much busy work we complete. yay for the average graduating in the top of the class and cops direct our traffic to make it slower so we can all be late and it can all be our fault! send your children here parents. make sure they know that just cause there average doesn't mean that they won't be called perfect for failing at all knowlage and requiring tons of tutorials!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 7, 2004

i sachse high school is the best i wouldnt rather go anywhere else i have been goin to sachse for about two years now and i've loved every minuet of it the school spirit is icredible even though we dont also win and even though the dress code is strict its still the best school GO MUSTANGS! sophomore ashlee williams
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2004

I am a freshman at Sachse and I couldn't be happier at any other school. The teachers are so dedicated and are always there to help you no matter what. The football team isn't that great but the school spirit is just amazing. The decipline is wonderful and I truly feel safe no matter what goes on in the school I wouldnt change a single thing about SHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2004

I do agree that we students are treated like middle school children but the fact remains that there are the students that still act like they are in middle school. Never the less, the school is great. Senior '05
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2004

I think that sachse high school is a great place to recieve your education. Its strict on dress code, the teachers are amazing, and the extra curricular activities are starting to accumilate. I think it's rediculious that someone would ever post up a obnoxious comment saying we have kids from 'bad parts of town'. On a happier note our principle's are great and to say the least i enjoyed my last 3 years at sachse high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2004

sachse high school used to be good but now they have to many kids from bad parts of town and the staff cant control them
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2004

As a parent of a 10th grader at SHS, I am very impressed with the way the school is run. The teaching staff is always available when the students have difficulties and the administrative staff is very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

Sachse High School offers the utmost in an educational setting and will only flourish in the future. The administration of the school has set standards that are every parents dream for discipline, age appropriate activities and pride. The parental involvement is encouraged and had lead to a great learning and social environment conducive to building good responsible citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2003

im a 10th grader at Sachse.. n i think its great but they treat you like middle school students instead of Highschool! But its a nice school overall. Teachers have control over students too, which is a great thing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2003

I am a 9th grader at sachse high school and I love going there.The teachers and the princaples are very nice and understanding.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

673 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

673 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

665 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

654 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

655 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

656 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

611 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

607 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

604 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

607 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American97%
Asian93%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black or African American88%
Asian93%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American96%
Asian97%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

692 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

646 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

746 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

784 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

662 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

660 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

713 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

658 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Black or African American76%
Asian94%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education58%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asian98%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education86%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black or African American81%
Asian95%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education53%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Black or African American66%
Asian77%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education33%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students54%
Female62%
Male48%
Black or African American46%
Asian67%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education18%
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Gifted/talented84%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Black or African American76%
Asian90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education41%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students54%
Female59%
Male49%
Black or African American32%
Asian68%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education6%
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American81%
Asian96%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education66%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students88%
Female84%
Male91%
Black or African American85%
Asian98%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education52%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
Black or African American73%
Asian95%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education54%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 29%
Hispanic 35% 52%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RAY MERRILL
Fax number
  • (972) 414-7458

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3109 Miles Road
Sachse, TX 75048
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 496-3913

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Garland Aec
Garland, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT